Humans logo

My Great White Buffalo

The story of how my great white buffalo got away, only for me to find him to come back.

By Shawna Williamson Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Have you ever heard the term "Great White Buffalo"? Maybe you heard of it while watching "Hot Tub Time Machine"? The Buffalo are revered as guardians of the earth and we are reincarnated into them to protect mother nature. Now let me tell you that a great white buffalo is born every one in a million, a rare treat to see one. So when you find that special someone, the one that no one compares to and you will forever hold a torch for, that is your great white buffalo. But some also say that it's the person that got away. That's where my story begins. When I met him.

It was the late nineties, I was 15 and I was a heart breaker. Until one boy gave me a piece of my own medicane and broke my heart and I didn't know how to handle it. To make me feel better one of my best friends invited me over to a sleep over, that's when I met him. He was tall dark and handsome, with that "I'm tough but I just want someone to love me" look. Reminded me of Christian Slater in "Heathers". He was my friends big brother which made him even more attractive. Four years older than me, he wasn't like the other boys who were still going through puberty, hissing comments about my chest with a cracked voice. This was a man, he towered over me with a deep sexy voice that made my knees quiver. We all spent the whole night just watching movies and playing video games like I wasn't there. Even through dinner he never acknowledged me or our friend who was also staying the night. Then after everyone went to sleep, he asked me if I wanted to watch a movie with him and his friend. I agreed and then noticed his friend was asleep on his couch. That's when he kissed me. This beautiful man had the nerve to kiss me, it was the greatest day of my teenage life. It got better because the next day he offered to pick me up from school the week after. I of course said yes.

But I noticed that I wasn't the only girl who thought so highly of him. Apparently there was quite a waiting list to be his girlfriend and he was too oblivious to know. He just sat there with his buddies playing video games with a fan base waiting for him to talk to them. Somehow I caught his eye. But I do not like the spotlight and sadly after a couple days I put an end to our relationship before anything could begin. Little did I know I was letting my great white buffalo walk right out of my life.

Years went by, I married, got divorced, got a serious boyfriend, later on had a baby.. Then after I left my baby daddy I was talking to some friends and I found out that they live in the same apartment complex as my buffalo. I couldn't help but blush and ask how he was. They saw the twinkle in my eye, my cheeks blush. They knew. So I told them my story. They turned around and told him about me and talked me into hanging out with them just the four of us. The air was so thick, I was so nervous I couldn't look him in the eye. But when I did I couldn't talk. It was like seeing each other all over again. The next week I told him who I was and asked him if he remembered me and we started dating. We've been together for over two years now and loved each other for over twenty. I can't explain the feeling I get when I'm around him, or what I see when I see him. But I can tell you how nice it is to have found my one and only, my great white buffalo. That's how my great white buffalo came back to me.

I hope you enjoyed this TRUE story about finding your true love. If you liked reading it as much ass I liked writing it please tip or subscribe.

love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.