Humans logo

My Dearest Love,

A letter sent to a forgotten lover

By Grace AndersonPublished 3 years ago β€’ 3 min read
1

π•΅π–†π–“π–šπ–†π–—π–ž πŸπŸπŸ—πŸ—

𝕬 π–‘π–Šπ–™π–™π–Šπ–— 𝖋𝖗𝖔𝖒 π–™π–π–Š π–›π–Žπ–‘π–‘π–†π–Œπ–Š

β €β €β €β €

β €β €β €β €β €β €β €

β €β €β €β €β €β €β €β €β €β €

January 8th

Written and sent from Nottingham, England

To my dearest love, Guy of Gisborne, I Thea Blight, in health and sincere affection.

I don’t know when you will read this. Nor if you will ever. It’s been about a year.

Edward, your steward, has made the announcement for me of your assumed death. But I do not believe it. I know you are out there somewhere. You had to have left for a reason. But I can not bring myself to stay in the manor without you. Edward keeps it up in your name. In your honor I guess. But I miss you. I miss you more than anything. I can still feel the thousands of kisses on my skin that you gifted me. I miss your arms wrapped around me, pulling me into you. Your breath against my neck as you sleep, curled against my back. I miss your fingers playing with my hair as I lay my head in your lap, listening to you as you read to me.

Nothing feels right anymore. I am desperately clinging to the hope you are still out there..that you will come back. You left in the early morning. I felt your kiss against my forehead while I slept but woke up to birds at the window but no one by my side. Worry had set in but I had simply assumed you had gone to the village or gone to the sheriff. I assumed you would return to my side, warming the cold bed next to me.

One of the ladies in the village whispered as I walked past that you had run away with a maiden to France. A bit of a stab to the gut but reality tells me you would never do that to me. You were always strong. Loyal. Sweet. Passionate. You were everything I ever wanted. Everything I ever needed. I still do. That will never change. You are the love of my life, Guy. I am not giving up on you. I can’t. I don’t think I can live without you. I am sending this letter..with someone who is an excellent tracker. He trained my brother before the sheriff killed him and I trust him with my life. And with yours.

I know you might be upset if/when you find out I sent someone after you but I should have done it sooner. I haven’t heard from you. You can not blame me for my worry.

A year passes and I have no idea where you are. I was worried long before but I always trusted in your return. Even on long journeys. Although you rarely did those. But now...not so much.

You and I were destined to be together...I know it. It seems fleeting but this can not be it. I can’t lose you, Guy. This can’t be all that is left of our story.

There was so much left for us to explore in our adventure. I still have so much love to give to you. My biggest fear now..is I might never see you again. Feel your hand against my cheek while you whisper my name and tell me how much you missed me as I missed you. I know you have told me before. That I don’t really need you. That, if I didn’t have you then I would be okay. That I would survive and I would remain the strongest woman you had ever known. But I don’t feel strong without you, Guy. I feel empty. This is not right and I know it. I know something is wrong.

Please come back to me. I love you, Guy of Gisborne. Return to me. There is so much I have not said..that I need to say.

Till we see each other again, I wish this letter finds you safe and does not return to my own hand. With all my love,

Thea Glen Blight

love
1

About the Creator

Grace Anderson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.