Humans logo

My Crush's Sister Didn't like Me?

I stopped talking to him.

By hpth.nxrwhal :)Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Rasel Ahmed

During my freshman year of high school, I met this guy who we'll call Joseph. He was a really nice person who I was able to befriend because we had mutual friends. Before I knew it, I began to have a crush on him. We hung out during lunch and played the PC version of Smash Bros together.

He was in band and I wasn't. I had transferred schools a week into the first semester and had no intention of joining band again but I ended up signing up for the next semester once I realized that he was in band. I excitedly went to tell him that I was joining band on the last day before we got out of school for winter break. I didn't see him again until the break was over.

I wasn't aware of the fact that we would be stand partners. It turns out that we actually played the same instrument and the only seat that was available was next to him. As you can imagine, I was overjoyed about how lucky I had been.

A few weeks later he was absent and he had not come to school for a few days. I had heard from a friend of his that he had been in the hospital and that he had not been feeling very well. I decided to check if he was okay so I called him but he wasn't the one who answered his phone. His older sister answered.

She asked me, "Who is this?"

So I answered "Darcy."

I could then hear her yelling "WHO'S DARCY?" at her brother. She hung up on me and I didn't call back because I could tell that she was upset. A few minutes later I received a text that had been sent from his phone but he was not the one who sent it.

It was his sister who sent it. It said something along the lines of "Hi, this is Joseph's sister. I don't like you texting or calling my brother so please don't do it. If you want to talk to him you can talk to him at school and that's it." I was surprised and somewhat upset but I didn't respond to her text. My best friend had been sitting next to me and she read the text as well. She told me to talk to Joseph about what happened with his sister when he came back to school but I didn't because I didn't want to cause any problems between him and his sister.

However, I was only fourteen at the time and his sister appeared to be somewhere between her late twenties or early thirties. The text that she sent me seemed to be pretty rude and harsh because it's not like I was doing something wrong.

I talked to one of Joseph's friends and he told me that his sister and his mother were very overprotective of him and that it was nothing that I did. He told me that his mother and sister had a habit of spying on him whenever he had friends go over to their house.

I continued to talk to Joseph once he returned to school but I gradually stopped talking to him. About a month after what happened with his sister, I stopped hanging out with him and I ran into his sister at Target. I just walked in the other direction when I saw her because I didn't want to be confronted by her.

Joseph actually moved away and transferred sometime this year so I haven't really spoken to him since that incident with his sister happened. However, I saw him walking the other day when my dad was taking me to work. I do wish I could have stopped to say "Hi."

Thank you for reading. :)

single
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.