Humans logo

My Covid Quarantine Story

Day 1&2/14

By Ember JoyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
My Covid Quarantine Story
Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

My family has tested positive for Covid-19. This is a small collection of stories that will be happening over the next two weeks of quarantine. All names shall be fake and there will be no physical descriptions.

Cast: Auntie D (Family friend), Ember (Me), Austin (Brother), Mom (My Mom), Grandmom (My Grandmother)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 01:

OH NO! My auntie D tested positive for Covid. Batten down the hatches! Grab the disinfectant. Bleach the hand-towels. My family goes into survival mode! Like a zombie apocalypse (Which I like to Prepare for). First thing I did: shower with a lot of soap. Tests have been scheduled for a few days, and the family just brace ourselves for the worst.

We have to give Auntie D her own private toilet so my mom will have to lug her new hip (Given to her on Thanksgiving in 2020 - Possible Story) up the stairs to my auntie D can have a sh*t in peace. I must suffer through helping her shower and just staring at the black scabs on her wound is just gross. Mom is not happy and now we're stuck in this place for multiple days.

Austin on the other hand just doesn't care. When he learned of the possible exposure; in the most uninterested and monotoned voice, he said 'Wow. That's unfortunate," Grrr... His callous nature angers me. Then he ran his fingers through his douche knot. (Manbun but he calls it that). However, he has the subtle urge to beat auntie D. (Their relationship is sarcastic and playful hate).

I am actually a little nervous about getting the test; not because I got it but because my mother had eight tests due to recent hospitalization and she says it goes so deep it feels like it enters her brain.

However; the positive side: our amazon packages should be here soon. I got an incense burner and incense cones with holes in the bottom. The smoke will make it like a koi pond in the bottom shell with two glass koi fish-shaped as those their swimming. Beautifully crafted; best $14 I've spent. I need this in my life. I really do. Mom got rose oil for herself and frog food. She loves roses. I hate the frog.

Another thing we have to deal with is the pets we have. Our dog is a Chiweenie, a mix between a wiener dog and a chihuahua. He's in such need of a long walk around the neighborhood to wear him out, lose weight and get some energy out.

The cats, three out of four, are outdoor cats that come in for lovings and food but inside, they either bother other cats to the point of annoyance, bother us, cause fights, or destroy property. Couches are full of scratch marks, they start biting and attacking our feet and hands, and needs catnip just to calm them down. Yes, we get our cats stoned to leave us alone.

Our cats don't meow, but the noises they make are thumping from tall furniture and running across the floor at rocket speed

One of my younger cats always antagonizes our senior cat; who was hit by a car years ago; to the point where she needs a human to slowly coax and protect her out of the bathroom. She can't even take a sh*t in peace which takes anywhere from five minutes to an hour. Tonight, it was about twenty-five minutes.

Poor baby.

And on top of all of this, I have a sinus infection. For over a month, I've been hacking up crap and now I get a scare like this? Not good for my health. So that's a kick to the nads. Not fun. My mom gets mad whenever I hack up my morning phlegm and even asked if I wait just to do it for her.

I do. Lol.

It's fun seeing her squirm.

However, I have to brave a call to the doctor for some antibiotics or find some natural remedies that can help with the pressure, pain, phlegm coughing.

My grandmother plans to go out and get some stuff for us: vitamin D, face shields, whatever snacks we want, and maybe even buy us dinner. For now, we will eat what we can in the fridge (Tonight is a 'fend for yourself' night).

What I plan to do: play video games; my Batman Arkham series collection is my one source of game entertainment other than the sims. Then I'll wash my hands more, write my novels, and stay inside unless I head towards the mailbox.

For my novel (Yes, some advertisement), I plan on finishing my character outlines then continue to work on the outline and do more historical research on the Tang Dynasty. I will need a lot of time and dedication but I plan on finishing this novel. These posts over the next few days will help me stay focused on my writing.

Covid is dangerous and we're taking every possible step to keep everyone safe. Please join me on this journey to surviving the disease.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 02:

Another day has passed and I'm still alive. Good start. The family has banded together. Now time for the updates:

The canceled Date:

Today at 4:30 PM, I was supposed to meet a man I'm interested in. We met on a dating site and have been chatting for months before he asked me out three weeks ago. Why is it three weeks ago?

The first time it was such last minute that I pushed it to the next week at a proper time and location. I was really happy but it was so last minute that I didn't have anyone to drive me.

The second time, it was way too cold for man or beast to be outside. My mother had to cancel it because she didn't feel safe driving and because I didn't want to freeze to death on our first date.

Then I get this Covid Scare that made me cancel for the third time due to our required two-week quarantine, that I'm posting about now. He says he understands but I feel bad, maybe I'll bring him a gift when we meet; maybe a pair of earbuds? Or possibly baked goods.

Writing my Novel:

I have done a lot of updates on my novel. Finalizing details in the character outlines. My 50 part, two-page character outline with a picture of the live-action actors and actresses.

I was able to complete three chapters in the outline, adding the final details to get more bulk in the novel, edit the flow, and add little notes for me to remember in the future.

While doing this, I play my video game. My game has story clips where I have no actions to do so whenever the clips come up, I change my controller for a laptop, adding details that come to me. I know it sounds impossible, but I'm able to do it.

This is something I've been able to do since high school, listening to my mp3 player while the lecture is going on and even take notes; still getting A's and B's in class.

Mother and Brothers Cooking:

Tonight was not a 'fend for yourself night'. My mother and brother worked together to create country fried chicken. My brother egged, flowered, and breaded the chicken breast while my mother cooked it in scalding oil. This is actually how they bond.

I loved seeing how they worked together to make enough for not only all four of us but for us to have multiple meals out of it. The resourcefulness and teamwork make me so happy at how close our family is.

My mother and I don't really bond with cooking, we bond with criminal shows such as Dateline, Criminal Minds, Special Victims Unit, and our current favorite: NCIS. We bond by sitting our asses on the couch for hours watching nothing but crime while she orders me to get her random shit.

Auntie D's Knitting:

My Auntie D has been working intensely on her knitting. She's the type of person who would want to go out despite being positive so we have to remind her to stay inside. She's been working on a sweater for her little granddaughter in yarn so bright pink it's near blinding.

When the granddaughter saw it through video call, she screamed, gasped, and laughed so hard the entire room busted out laughing. Anyway, my auntie D hasn't felt the symptoms yet so that's a good start.

Package Waiting:

I hoped and prayed for it to come today because tomorrow is Sunday and the mail doesn't come on Sundays.

However, it didn't come.

So now I have to wait till Monday for any hope of seeing my new incense burner.

WWWWWWHYYYYYYYYYYA! (Dramatic scream)

That's it on the update. Now I have to move on to the next day. Wish me luck.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.