Humans logo

My Childhood Friend

My Bestie

By Knightros Published 12 months ago 2 min read
Like
My Childhood Friend
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

When I think of my childhood, the memories of joy, laughter, and adventures with my friends come flooding back. One friend, in particular, stands out from the rest. Her name is Sarah, and she was my closest companion from the time we met until we grew apart in our teenage years. Reflecting on our childhood together, I realize how much Sarah shaped who I am today.

I met Sarah in first grade when we were both six years old. I remember her being the new girl in our class, and although we didn’t speak much at first, I was drawn to her kindness and her shy smile. It wasn’t long before we were inseparable, spending countless hours both inside and outside of school together.

Sarah was the kind of friend who always knew how to make me laugh, and we shared a love of silly jokes and imaginative play. Our days were filled with dance parties in my living room, building forts out of blankets and pillows, and playing games like “restaurant” where we would take turns pretending to be waitresses and chefs.

As we got older, our interests began to diverge. Sarah became interested in dance and began taking lessons, while I pursued other hobbies. However, we remained close, and I always admired her passion and dedication to dance. I remember going to her recitals and being in awe of her grace and talent.

As we entered middle school, our interests continued to change, and we began making new friends. We still hung out occasionally, but it wasn’t the same as before. High school brought even more significant changes, and we lost touch almost entirely. It’s been years since we’ve spoken, but the memories of our childhood together are still close to my heart.

Reflecting on our friendship, I realize that Sarah had a profound impact on my life. She taught me the value of kindness, laughter, and acceptance. I remember being self-conscious about certain things as a child, but Sarah never made me feel anything less than loved and accepted for who I was. She taught me that it was okay to be silly, to be myself, and to be comfortable in my own skin.

Beyond the fun and laughter, Sarah also helped me find solace during some of the hardest moments of my childhood. I remember going through a tough time when my parents were struggling with their marriage, and Sarah was there for me every step of the way. She listened, offered comfort, and helped me realize that I wasn’t alone.

Although our friendship eventually faded, I will always be grateful for the years we spent together. Even today, I find myself thinking of her kindness and the joy she brought into my life. It’s amazing to think about how much a childhood friend can shape who we become as adults.

In many ways, Sarah represents the innocence and wonder of childhood. As we grow older, life becomes more complex, and we often lose that childlike sense of joy and curiosity. However, I believe that the memories we make with childhood friends can serve as a reminder of that simpler time. They remind us of the laughter, the silliness, and the deep bonds we once shared.

Although I may never speak to Sarah again, I will always cherish the memories of our time together. She taught me so much about what it means to be a good friend, to be kind, and to find joy in the simple things. For that, I will always be grateful.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Knightros

Start Hello and welcome to my page! My name is Knightros and I am a passionate writer and content creator. I am thrilled to share my knowledge and insights with all of you and I truly believe that my content can benefit anyone who reads it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.