Humans logo

My BFF

Lucky in love.

By Amber NelsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Days of '47 Rodeo

Jed,

I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for making our lives together so perfect. You have given me and our kids a charmed life and me staying home and raising them has been incredibly hard but it has also been a gift and something that I wouldn't change for the world. You are my best friend, the one that knows everything about me and the person that I trust with my life. I never expected when I met you at work as a teenager that my world would be forever changed. You were the fun guy, the guy that could make anybody laugh and the one that everyone wanted to hang out with, nothing about that has changed. You were known as the eternal bachelor, and then you got a crazy idea and married me! You are charming and chivalry is not dead with you, you have been opening doors for me and offering me the last bite of cheesecake since the day we met. And it's not just me, but you treat all women with that level of respect and I admire that about you. It has been a pleasure to not only be your wife for the last almost 20 years, but also your plus one at some of the best concerts that I never would have gone to on my own.

Trampled by Turtles concert

From a new puppy to new babies you have always been by my side, despite the busiest travel schedule that anyone could imagine. You were there to pick me up from that crumpled heap on the ground when I was diagnosed with MS and you have been my biggest cheerleader when it comes to continuing to live my life to the fullest. From hiking, to fishing, to family road trips and couple's trips sleeping under the stars in the back of your truck, it has all been so fun. My favorite these past few years has been flying by myself to Texas to meet you for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We have spent so many years apart for this personal holiday, but I am loving this new spin on our relationship now that the kids are all old enough to be left for a few days with the grandparents. And you know that we were the funnest couple (or so I thought) on the plane playing Rummy all the way back to SLC.

On the way home from DFW Texas

You have been gracious enough to let me accompany you on many an adventure despite my limitations, and for that kindness I can never repay you. Our road trips are some of my fondest memories and being comfortable with the silence or listening to a good Clive Cussler book have become the best part of hanging out with you as a friend. I love that you're still willing to hike with me! I know that sounds silly but I am so darn slow and then I get hot and that makes me dizzy and my leg stops working which is stupid and annoying but you push me to go further than I thought I could and I know I would be quick to give up if I were on my own.

Summer fishing trip

Do you remember this summer when you let me row your boat on the river?? Yikes! If that doesn't show trust, I don't know what does! You are a blast to hang out with and your fearlessness scares me to death at the same time. My life would be incredibly boring without you and I could not have picked a better person to be quarantined with this year. The card games and puzzles, throwing darts, binge watching Alone and Yellowstone, shooting BB guns with the kids, backyard sleep outs, backyard camp fires and potato chip taste offs all made the craziness of 2020 seem like a walk in the park. I would repeat it, all of it, because it was incredibly enjoyable to get to have you all to myself for a few months...and you sir, are a good time.

marriage
3

About the Creator

Amber Nelson

Wife to my one and only, mother of 4, lunch lady, home chef extraordinaire, gardener, lover of the outdoors, writing for fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.