Humans logo

My always

A mother’s love and everlasting friendship

By Mariah FPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

It seems so long ago that I was sitting with 2 girls and we became thick as thieves. We never said good bye, we said Until Tomorrow. We were there for each other, never letting one feel alone. Always being there for one another. So I said to my two friends why not get it tattooed on my skin. I want this to be something really special that even if we move apart I’ll always see this and think of the fun we had and the memories we shared.

Coincidentally it wasn’t long after I had gotten the always did I end up getting some devastating news. I sat with my mother at a doctors office waiting for her to be seen. I sat in a chair and waited patiently for her to be done. She came out an hour later and red eyes and we left. Mind you I’m an adult and I still call her momma on rare occasions. This occasion called for it. I said “so momma do you have a twin I don’t know about” I tried to make a light off hand joke to ease the tension. She said I have cancer. In my ovaries (or there abouts I checked out when the big C was said) I need to have surgery and chemo or radiation soon.

I was in shock I sat there confused. After she dropped me off at my place I sat outside and looked up to the sky and just asked one simple question. “Why her?” Why couldn’t it have been me or some bad person. I needed to know if everything was going to be ok, or was I going to still have my mother. I closed my eyes and held back my tears and when I felt something land on my wrist where my always was tattooed. A feather landed and I somehow knew that everything was going to be ok. She went for chemo and after about a year or so of uncertainty we received news. I sat there again nervously waiting for the answers. The doctor smiled and said she’s cancer free. She smiled I laughed and smiled. Knowing that, that feather meant someone was watching over her. 7 years later and she’s still cancer free. That’s my story, this is my life I have 17 more stories on this body but these two are one story that will always mean the most.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.