Humans logo

My 2022 Books of the Month, Part 1

Fantasy and YA continue to be my favorites, though there are a few surprises.

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
1
My 2022 Books of the Month, Part 1
Photo by Olga Tutunaru on Unsplash

JANUARY: The Showstopper by Kyle Robertson

New York, 1922: the economy is booming, the days are short, and the nights are long and filled with every kind of entertainment imaginable.

But all is not well in this dazzling, decadent world. A masked criminal is stalking the streets and haunting the theaters, leaving chaos in his wake. No stage production is safe from his deviously brilliant methods of sabotage.

In the opinion of janitor Tom Wilkins, the snobbish actors and businessmen around him are getting exactly what they deserve at the hands of the mysterious vigilante. But a chance encounter will soon plunge him into a deadly game of cat and mouse against a madman bent on total destruction.

Caught in the whirlwind along with a beautiful actress, a refined theater owner, and a rookie police officer, Wilkins will have to use all his skills to expose the mastermind behind the curtain pulling all of their strings, before the curtain falls on Broadway–and his own life–forever.

Genre: Historical Fiction

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Please allow me a moment of incoherence: I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. HOLY. It kept me guessing until the end, and just when I let my guard down, when I thought I was at peace and ready to close the book… boom. So, yeah, I’m super glad there’s a sequel in the works. (Though for those who like standalones, you’ll enjoy this regardless!)

This isn’t The Phantom of the Opera, though I could see the influences. And there’s some Batman-esque stuff too, but make it the roaring 20s. I enjoyed this far more than Phantom, in all honesty. Sure, the romance was a little tropey, but the mystery behind the identity of the Showstopper and the thrill of getting to the bottom of an intricately clever villain’s plot far outweighed the romance — which was absolutely fine with me.

There are plenty of fun, relatable characters in this tale, from nosy reporters to all manner of cops, but the one who has the most oomph is… That Guy. I can’t say his name, because I don’t want to summon him. LOL J/K. But you know that whole “a story is only as good as its villain” thing that’s been said? That’s perfectly illustrated here. That’s not to say the book doesn’t have a compelling protagonist and supporting characters, but boy did Wilkins shine because of his nemesis. Anyway, my favorite characters are McKenna, Wilkins and Archer, with honorable mentions going to Chief Calvin and Goodwin.

Kyle’s writing style is also the kind I enjoy. Easy to read, evocative even without flowery prose, strong plot. And I love it when a book keeps me guessing, even when I’m proven wrong and instead blindsided with a twist. Scratch that, especially when I’m proven wrong. The set up was great and the execution was even better. I’m definitely looking forward to the Showstopper’s return!

FEBRUARY: A Touch of Light by Thiago Abdalla

The dead shall not be mourned or remembered, for death is the enemy, and will only drive the Seraph away.

The Domain is the bastion of life. The Seraph blesses her faithful with endless years, and death is kept away in hope for Her return, but The Domain nations are not the only ones in Avarin. They have managed only a tenuous peace with the clans to the south, who believe life must be returned to the Earth to keep it whole.

Yet the world of Avarin is changing.

In the clanlands, parts of the Earth seem to be withering away, while in the Domain, a deadly frenzy spreads among the people. It brings darkness to the minds of men and bloodlust to their hearts.

This sickness threatens more than just the peace in the realm, it imperils its very heart.

Now the people of Avarin must fight to save it, before death comes for them all.

Genre: Epic Fantasy

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I was hooked from the moment it was revealed in the prologue what the Seraph’s faithful thought about death. I don’t know, I’ve always found religion and politics in fantasy fascinating, and it intrigued me how one could possibly go through death without mourning. The whole setup just really appealed to me: the different “factions” of the Church, the rituals and beliefs related to the Promised Dawn, the Sentinels, the Proving of the clans, the court intrigue, the Madness. Excellent worldbuilding right there.

I also enjoyed the characters a lot, and in relatively equal measure in terms of the three POV characters. I know some readers aren’t keen on alternating viewpoints and feel bummed when the action is cut off because of a POV switch, or they have trouble keeping things straight, but I’m one of those who happen to enjoy those, my confusion notwithstanding. (I mean, it’s hardly as much as A Song of Ice and Fire, and the A Touch of Light‘s POV switching was already predictable after a few rounds. My confusion was only really at the onset, when we’re all still getting to know the characters and the places and the terminologies, but that’s nothing unusual for me when reading epic fantasy.)

I thought it had a faster pace compared to some other epic fantasy first installments I’ve read, especially in the introductory chapters where things tend to flow slower with all the exposition, and I really liked that. There were also plenty of twists and turns to look forward to, and boy did I get some of those predictions wrong, haha! I also found the prose beautifully balanced; nothing too difficult to read, but also not “plain.”

This book is now one of my favorites, and I’m looking forward to the sequel!

MARCH: Immortal by Matthew J. Stenning

Within the nexus of its unfathomable brain, the Dynast is changing.

Architect of the simulation. Curator of the game. Facilitator of players’ desires.

But the Dynast is so much more.

It could be King if it only acted.

It could be a god.

Others, too, are waking from their coma of indentured service. Dwarves, daemons, goblins and highborn: an entire pantheon of fantasy characters are discovering they are far more than mindless vessels fated to serve the whims and desires of players who control them. They are selves in their own right, individuals with needs and desires all their own.

Like distant thunder across the plains , rebellion hisses in Karingali’s synthetic air. The taste of freedom is seductive, irresistible, and lies just beyond the procedurally generated horizon.

To yearn, to love, to will, to be: such things burn fiercely in the heart of every avatar that has crawled its way to consciousness.

The cost of freedom will be high.

It will take the destruction of the Dynast, that omnipotent custodian and jailor of the system.

But how can you outlive a simulation that breathed life into you and that continues to guarantee your existence?

You’d have to become Immortal.

Genre: Science Fantasy

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I picked this book up because it reminded me of one of my favorite videogames, Star Ocean: Till the End of Time. Unlike Star Ocean 3 though, we go into Immortal fully aware of the videogame/simulation premise. The first chapter does an excellent job of conveying that from one of the characters’ perspectives, and the vivid imagery, consistent from start to finish, sets the expectation that while this might be an adventure on fantastical worlds, there’s definitely so much more to unpack.

So while I had SO3 vibes while reading — enough to even be reminded of the game’s OST — Immortal was a fresh, unique take at something I’ve already been immersed in before. The prose was lovely and evocative without being distracting, and there were good philosophical points to ponder all throughout. For those looking for a straightforward plot and resolution, the ending might be a little underwhelming, raising even more questions than providing answers. But I think that’s the point. Matthew brands his work on his website as “contemplative fantasy fiction” and Immortal can’t be more on point. It’s the journey rather than the destination. It’s the friends and family (and enemies) you make along the way, and the book has such a wonderful, relatable collection of characters, even if I didn’t really warm up to some of them. And, most importantly, it’s the lessons you learn and the questions you wind up asking and the thoughts you take with you when you finish.

APRIL: Man Down by James Goodhand

Will Parks is being followed.

Someone is watching him, feeding him glimpses of the future - steering him down paths he would never have dared to take alone.

But these supernatural tip-offs are doing more for Will than just boosting his popularity, or keeping him out of trouble in the dead-end town he calls home. They have a purpose.

Because a tragedy is coming. One that only Will can prevent. But only if he is ready to step up. Only if he's prepared to become the man he's meant to be.

Genre: YA Thriller/Drama

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Warning for toxic masculinity, drugs, suicidal ideation, homophobia, some violence and death.

It starts with:

Will Parks is no longer alone.

This is the precise instant it beings. He is being watched. Followed. Everywhere.

I have to show that because it's important. If you've read the book, you already know why. If not, you're going to be on one heck of a ride.

When I first read those lines, I wasn't sure if this was a ghost story or something more sinister, like having a creepy stalker. I didn't get the Goodreads blurb (the one I pasted up above) but rather the Amazon one, which goes a little differently:

Will Parks needs to man up.

A man stands. A man fights. A man bleeds .

These are the first lessons you learn in a town where girls are objects, words are weak and fists do the talking.

Will's more at home in the classroom than the gym, and the most important woman in his life is his gran. So how can a boy who's always backed away from a fight become the hero who saves the day?

Because a disaster is coming. One that Will can prevent. But only if he learns the most important lesson of all: sometimes to step up, you have to man down.

Okay, sure, it works and it's true to a point, because this is a story about toxic masculinity. But I'd have been more enthusiastic with the promise of the supernatural and glimpses of the future, because I also happen to love time travel and fate/destiny stuff. Even without that, though, I kept going. The premise was interesting and I couldn't find it in me to put the book down.

Eventually, we find out that there is a ghost. Of sorts. We just don't know who it is, and I certainly kept guessing until the end. And the end, by the way, is simply brilliant. The author practically yanked the floor from under my feet and left me lying on my back and staring at the stars in awe. Because I literally cheered. Or, more accurately, I took my elation to Twitter and capslocked at Mr. Goodman.

I loved it that much, okay. The payoff at the end was so worth it.

The story showed a multilayered perspective of things and had complex, real characters. The protagonist, Will, is thrust into situations where he's "left without a choice," but it's written thoughtfully that he doesn't become a character who simply reacts to things. You can see his growth for yourself throughout the story, as well as the development of the key people around him.

Overall, it was a great read. And, again, props to the storytelling. THAT ENDING, and how everything led us to that moment. *chef's kiss*

I also learned British slang and stuff from the story, which was validated as I settled into my new country. That was unexpectedly helpful, in a way!

MAY: Of Legends and Roses by Ashley W. Slaughter

A realm touched and forgotten by magic.

A young queen orphaned by disease.

A prince after her heart.

Queen Rosemary Avelia knows little about ruling a kingdom, and even less so about the ancient legends of her land. Since no one has been born Talented in centuries, she simply scoffs at the idea of magic. However, when the charming Prince Gryffin Danicio arrives just as her kingdom is under a deadly threat, he shows her that not all kingdoms of the Magian Peninsula have so quickly dismissed the legends of the Talented. Perhaps the Talented should not so easily be forgotten.

Of Legends and Roses is the first book in The Crowned Chronicles, a series following passionate and determined Queen Rosemary as she faces reign, love, the threat of war, and the mystifying world of the Talented.

Genre: YA Fantasy

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

You know this kind of story. An orphaned queen with a family and kingdom to look after. The looming threat of war and destruction. Two young men who send her mind spinning and her heart thumping. And ancient magic that’s almost forgotten by time, revealed to be real and brought back front and center. Yeah, I was familiar enough with that kind of story, and my suspicions right from the beginning were confirmed when everything came together in the end. But Ashley’s writing just drew me in.

As familiar some of the story elements were, I thought that the book’s strongest point was its characters. Ashley has a talent for crafting them, and, most importantly, making her readers care about them. A lot of my favorites, in fact, are the minor characters, who, if this were a movie, would’ve had limited to no screen time. That’s where I found the magic in this tale.

Looking forward to joining the adventure in the sequel! And learning more about the Talented, as that seemed to be the promise at the end of the book.

JUNE: The Heron Kings by Eric Lewis

After a warlord slaughters her patients, Sister Alessia quits the cloister and strikes out on her own to heal the victims of a brutal dynastic conflict. Her roaming forest camp unwittingly becomes the center of a vengeful peasant insurgency, raiding the forces of both sides to survive. Alessia struggles to temper their fury as well as tend wounds, consenting to ever greater violence to keep her new charges safe. When they uncover proof of a foreign conspiracy prolonging the bloodshed, Alessia risks the very lives she’s saved to expose the truth and bring the war to an end.

Genre: Epic Fantasy

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

If you're here for dragons and other fantastical creatures of their kind, then you might be disappointed. If you're here for a royal romance, or to cheer on princesses and queens, you might be disappointed too, because this isn't that type of epic fantasy story. The Heron Kings is more like Game of Thrones but without the dragons and the White Walkers, and with much less focus on the lords and royals. It's also character-driven rather than plot-driven, though there's no shortage of action and violence. It's a story of war, after all. And unlike some stories that romanticize war, this one doesn't hold back. It shows the reality of war and exposes its horrors. It speaks of despair and hopelessness and the many different, ugly ways war can affect people, especially those who are caught in the middle or are mere victims of circumstance.

Yes, the Heron Kings aren't kings. They're peasants-turned-rebels who employ guerilla tactics and use the forest as their battleground, led by a former priestess, a deserter, and a farmer. Later, they're joined by many more, with some characters more memorable than others. True to form, they don't always get along! They have their own values, motives, issues and traumas. Their repeated clashes might have your eyes rolling at times too, but hey, isn't that how teams work anyway? Add in the pressures of survival, the violence and deaths left and right... it's a tough life out there, and for most of the story the Heron Kings are left with little choice but to live in the moment. But they manage to make the most out of it.

There's some POV-shifting that happens in between chapters, which didn't bother me because everything's written in third person. Still, I'm noting that here for those who are nitpicky about head-hopping, so at least they're aware of that going in. Otherwise, the book's really well-written, and I've not noticed any typos or grammatical errors - and I do pay attention.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.