Humans logo

Music Man

A voice that taught me alot.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Music Man
Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

There was a voice that I love in love with when I first hear it. I need to know who and what this sounds was. It was a man with a beautiful voice. Yes, he was a gay man. This man voice was golden and still is golden to me.

This man would start a new job at our church as chorus director. I do believe he was put in our church for a reason. To give us his talent and show us what our voices could be if they were trained the right way.

He would casted his musical spell on us. He taught us that we had voices to be hear. Yes we were his students who needed to drink his talents of music in.

He dare us to do a our best and we did. Our sounds turned in golden voices just like his. He was showing us the right way to do music.

Easter and Christmas was our special time with him. He would bring out the best in us at this time. Showing us the true meanings of these holidays.

He recorded CD's for us and said I want you to sound like we were the people singing on the CD. Hours and hours we would practice our songs to nobody but him.

It was like we were his therapy for his pain. We did not care that he was a gay man. We just wanted to sing and sing we did.

He could sing any part that was put in front of him. That is how much talent he had inside and still does.

He would stay up at tonight to improve our voices after practice was over and we were singing all the way to our cars some night.

I know that we must have wore out our CD in our cars, CD players also.

Easter and Christmastime show we would bring the house down. We would travel to other places to showcase our talents to the people who would listen and we would bring the house where we went.

For me he brought out the best out of my voice. One day I texted him that I had no voice to sing. He told me it will be ok with some hot tea and honey and cough drop. But come to practice because you will have a voice by time.

Drinking his recipe all day. A little tiny voice but when I sang I could. I think he knew what I needed was a friend who cared and TLC with the tea.

He stayed with us for a few year. Over the year we got better and better. He recorded us once. Guess what it was like we were the CD singers. He was like a gardener and we were the plants to needed to be taken care of for year.

Well, 6 years ago I moved to a new state and left my favorite friend behind. When I feel sad. I YouTube him and I am taken back to time that was very special in my life.

I was a time that I need someone who would not judge me with all my faults. He listen to my problems when I had them. During the time he was with us. I surgeries on my ankles and he would make me smile.

I hope that he is doing what he loves his singing with special friend now his dog. I know that dog must must love to hear his voice. I know that I did.

To my sweet music man who showed me so much with the time we had with group of singer. I will always love you for that.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.