Humans logo

Mr.Avalon

The dreamy nights, lies, and divine Merlot

By Anya BrittoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

I met a mysterious, tall, dark, gorgeous man purely by chance. One night out on the town with my gal pal, a man caught my friends eye sitting in a classic 1987 black Carrera Porsche. He stared at me, rolled down his window, then my friend yelled out, “Hi!” He replied “Hey” then she said to me, “ask for his number,” I drunkenly yelled out, “what’s your number?” After a few flirtatious texts for a couple of weeks, we decided to meet up at the iconic fountain at Central Park. He approached me with such grace and two coffees in his hands as well as a small black notebook sticking out of his back pocket. “I normally don’t ask for random guys numbers that I didn’t even truly meet, let alone not step out of the car, by the way. Although, I don’t regret it,” I said. Then he said, “Don’t worry, you wont regret meeting me.”

Before he sat on the edge of the fountain, he took out the notebook and placed it beside him on his side out of my vision. He had such a mysterious aura about him. Alluring, warm energy, and you can tell he’s been through hell, which made me want to be with him more to bring him some happiness and lightness into his life. We talked for hours and walked all around the park. The sky was clear and bright, almost a sign of hope that this guy could be the one for me. We waved goodbye, which I’m glad because technically this was our first meeting, not a first date, which showed he respected me not wanting to hug or kiss right away, and then I noticed he left his notebook on the bench where we sat to take a break from our long walk. There was a red paper sticking out, so naturally my curious mind (in the back of my mind says “curiosity kills the cat”. Then my brain became mush and began to spin with wonder. I immediately opened the notebook and saw nothing written in it, just a blood, red envelope. I opened the envelope which was a little heavy due to the gold antique key inside. Nothing else. Just that key. On Monday back at the office, my work buddy turns her chair to face me, “so… how was the date?” She says with an exciting high pitch tone. I hesitated telling her anything because I know she’s a gossip queen. “I had a really nice time, there’s something different about him,” I said quietly. “You’re totally marrying this guy, when are you going to see him again?” I roll my eyes and continue typing emails away to my clients to ignore her own curiosity as well.

Later that evening, he texted me, “when I’m going to see your gorgeous smile again?” I reply back, hoping it’s witty enough, “there you go, here’s a cropped photo of me smiling.” He replied, “haha very funny, come on seriously, I had a great time with you. How about some Italian food with red wine, let’s say Thursday night?” I typed in my notes, so he wouldn’t see my typing bubbles, “I never turn down Italian food and absolutely adore red wine!” I wait to copy and paste my text for ten minutes to keep him on his toes. Then hit send. It was a real date this time. I suddenly had butterflies stabbing my stomach with excitement.

That week at the office, I couldn’t stop imagining our future perfect evening, soft candle lighting our faces and low mandolin playing in the background. We’d laugh, banter, and look in each others eyes, but not for too long, so it wouldn’t be awkward. He’d be in a smashing suit and I’d look gorgeous in my black, wrap DVF dress. I skipped dinner every night, so I’d look a tad slimmer.

Thursday finally arrived, I was pretending to read emails, when I could think about was our date. The day flashed by my eyes and hopped on the train home to get ready. My work buddy yelled out in the hallway, “have fun tonight!”

After our meal and three glasses of their finest Merlot, he offered to take me back to his place to serve me some espresso on his new machine he received last week. When we stepped inside his buildings elevator, my jaw dropped when he pressed the penthouse floor button on the elevator. He’s well off. I still don’t know what he does… His penthouse was immaculate with superb minimal taste with lots of well-known pantings hanging everywhere. The neatest man, I’ve ever met. I didn’t see a maid anywhere, so I believe it was decorated and all cleaned by himself. We talked on his couch till 2am, we didn’t need the television. Maybe it was the espresso that kept us up or we just really liked talking to each other. I kept thinking this is exactly the type of man I want to be with. He’s open, honest, sincere, handsome, and clearly has his shit together, financially wise. He told me he was born into a wealthy family and was appointed by his dad to keep the family business in exports going. He dabbled in trade and also wrote some excellent novels about personal financial success and gains, which everyday people can do. I was fascinated hearing him speak. All I could think about was the terrible financial crisis I created myself with $20,000 of credit card debt. Tomorrow during my lunch break, I’ll go to a bookstore and pick up one of his financial books, I thought. Eventually, we had a ritual every Friday or Saturday night, we’d meet up for drinks, dinner, or go to his place for some wine. Finally, a healthy, steady relationship is what I have.

One random Friday night, stepping out of the cab in front of this gorgeous impeccable upper east side bar, I had no business being in, I say hello to the doorman as the automatic doors open sideways, he immediately pulls my arm and says, Mr. Avalon is not here, but he said to give this to you. He handed me a shiny black leather briefcase. In shock, I felt my cheeks grow red with humiliation. Does this briefcase contain a letter or huge notebook stating he no longer wants to see me? My mind blanks as my eyes blink to make sure i’m seeing everything clearly, I guess I’ll go back home. I decide to walk home to think about the possible outcomes this briefcase has in store. Almost dragging it block by block, I switch arms. This is a heavy briefcase… When I stepped inside my small Harlem studio, I flung the briefcase onto my bed. I opened it and found a red envelope on top of thousands of dollar bills. The envelope had another key and letter inside, reading: These past few nights with you have been amazing. You’re truly an incredible woman. Here’s $20,000 to cover your debt. I’ve hidden a lot of from you. I am not who you think I truly am, but I am leaving the country for awhile, hope we can bump into each other again. The keys you have are for my apartment and safe, please move in and make yourself comfortable. Don’t worry, you’ll be safe and I’ll have my guards look after you. What we started was special, but I have a family and need to keep them safe as well.

Please forgive me,

XOXO

Jay Avalon

dating
1

About the Creator

Anya Britto

Living in NYC, trying to make my dreams come true one day at a time.

Instagram: Anyabritto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.