Humans logo

MoneyTalks

Literally

By Leah HayesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Speaking as a large sum of money.

You struggling for money? Well, money is struggling for you. If money could talk:

"I'm literally all over the place, I am having trouble understanding who I am. I've got so many different names, sizes, shapes, and labels. I have branched out from coin to crypto and material to immaterial. I'm now tons of things: investments, trades, bought and sold. I try to make life easier, but I feel trapted. I am not just the largest sum of money. I am every piece of money that has ever existed. I stay quite torn for being both hated and loved.

People find me all the time on the ground. I end up in pockets, lost, stolen, gambled, saved, bartered, burned, you name it. I promise you I've been there, done that. I am owned by each maker and each individual handler. I need to invest in germ-x sometimes. Oh the places I go and oh the places I've been. Life stays pretty busy for me. I am not happy though. I'm struggling with everything revolving around me. I've heard people say you need money to make money, and money is the root of all evil. People hate on me all the time. I'm use to it.

News flash. In God We Trust is still engraved and tattooed on me. I heard that was a big deal somewhere. I didn't get a say in any of my designs. I just had to go with it. I've come a long way in life. My personal owner likes to keep tabs on me in his little black book, he is super organized because I have alot of family tied up in accounts, stocks, bonds, business-residential, and online real estate. I sleep when I can and I get alot of praise for growing. I do what I can to make everyone happy.

Everyone has made me this hot commodity. Wars have been faught over me. I wish I was free. I'd give myself away if that was the case, but if I was free then no one would want me I guess. Banks and all the financial institutes make me into a huge deal and even live and breathe different aspects of me. It's flattering, but I personally don't want to be a big deal. I try to be humble.

Dictatorship was never the intention. I do apologize for being controlling; I was created for the give and take purposes of life. I don't think its my fault I am the way I am. Maybe I'm in denial. But I have accepted that I'm not really taught in school, most people learn about me through the Monopoly game. I have my good days and bad days. Like money laundering, it might sound like I am taking a white bubbly warm bath and getting clean but I promise you it's a bad day for me. Now, when I'm given to charity, or feeding a hungry family, it's a good day. Bank robbery, bad day. You get the picture.

Society has given me the power to free and enslave. I don't destroyed marriages, people destroy their own marriages and blame me. I'm getting sick of it. Just like economies, maybe if people knew how to use me and I was taught as a necessity of life and not as a math problem people would have it easier. I have given everything I've got to this job and it never feels good enough for anyone. People are always fighting over me, or taking me for granted, and have you ever been caught up in a bribe? I'm the main event. I am the biggest thought and afterthought, besides time.

It's exhausting trying to pay for people's sins. I'm extremely tolerant. I'm not racist in the least. I am super welcoming and accepting of all. Look at me being such a tool. What don't people need me for? The world has made me unlimited. I will never be a God because I am man-made, but people's value in me makes me one of the ultimate keys to life. Reality, my existence is almost omnipresent, because almost everything has value and can be sold. I was made to be necessary. I am holding value based on someone elses need of me."

satire
Like

About the Creator

Leah Hayes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.