Humans logo

Miss Lyla Moon

Glass Of Merlot And A New Love

By Jasper WolfPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I can't believe it's her. I look at her still and don't understand what she sees in me. Her beautiful green eyes have looked my way many times, but I never knew she wasn't looking at me. She was looking into my heart.

I still struggle to form the words. She was the popular pretty girl who roamed the school halls. I was the dork with the weird hair. I never thought I'd stand a chance with Miss Lyla Moon. Like the moon, Lyla will light up your darkness. I could say it's her smile, her eyes, or even her caring heart. But Lyla Moon is magical in all her features. Her glow comes from deep within. Lyla must be mine.

I put on my best jeans and a casual button-down shirt. I bought a new pair of dress shoes and bought a dozen roses. I looked in the mirror at myself and felt a cold sweat come over me. This is it.

I jumped in my car and headed for her home in the country. As I pulled into the driveway, the gravel crunched beneath my tires. I got out and stood in the driveway. I straightened my shirt and grabbed the roses. I used my window as a mirror and fixed my hair. I buckled down and headed for her front door.

I took the two steps up and before knocking, I reached the roses behind my back. I knocked with my right hand. Lyla opened the door in a breathtaking red dress and high heels. Her blonde hair was long and beautiful as it always had been. Her make-up complimented her beauty, but she didn't need it.

I reached for her hand and kissed it gently. I brought the roses to her attention and she gasped. She took in a deep breath of the scent and laughed as the petal tickled her nose. I grabbed her and helped her off the porch. As I opened her passenger door, she thanked me with a kiss on the cheek.

I had a reservation at a small Italian place I knew was her favorite. I opened the door for her and asked the host for a table, for two.

I couldn't take my eyes off of her while reading the menu. She was my menu. She looked at me and her face turned red as she blushed. We both ordered pasta. The waiter brought the breadsticks and salad as we waited.

Lyla excused herself to run to the powder room. I took this chance to do something gallant. I called over our young waiter and asked for a bottle of Merlot. He obliged and filled our glasses.

Lyla returned to a glass of Merlot. She raised her glass and I raised mine. She said, "To us." I clinked my glass to her's and said, "To us." Our pasta followed shortly after. We laughed and carried on like a couple of school kids. Made me wonder why it took me this long to ask her on a first date.

We finished our meals and left back to her place. We pulled into the gravel driveway. She waited as I rushed to her side and helped her out of the car. I walked her to her door. We stood under the porch light, and I thanked her for joining me that night. She humored me with a smile and giggle.

After a short silence, she said good night. I looked down and shuffled my shoes and said, "Good night Lyla". I walked toward the steps and I heard, "Hey." I turned around and looked at this beautiful angel. She took a step and leaned in. Her soft warm lips pressed against mine. She pulled away and said, "Good night."

She left me on the porch frozen like an ice sculpture. I turned around and started walking to my car. I got to my door and looked at her house and shook my head with a smile. I opened my car door and blew a kiss to my love. Then left for home.

As I sat on my back porch and look into the night sky. Rocking in my chair, I look at the moon hoping that Miss Lyla Moon is looking as well.

love
1

About the Creator

Jasper Wolf

Founder/Owner of Howling Wolf Freelance Writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.