Humans logo

Mind If I Join?

Dream Date.

By Sarah SebastionPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Mind If I Join?
Photo by Kym Ellis on Unsplash

Sitting in a dark corner of the restaurant, reading the book she had brought with her, checking the time on her wrist watch. 8:15pm her blind date should have been here 15 minutes ago. There was no excuse for his tardiness until he shows up. Heaving a sigh picking up her purse, straightening her slim figure hugging black dress over her thighs, she takes her book off the table leaving a tip for the time the waiter spent waiting on her. Leaving empty handed she thought to herself " Why am I not good enough for one of these blind dates to show up?"

Rushing out of the door into the down pour of rain that was expected to start without an umbrella pushing her sopping wet curls out of her face. Her usually long blonde hair now a deep brunett color. Not being able to see more than a few feet in front of her due to the heavy rain, she falls backwards after stepping into the street almost being hit by a taxi she had hailed while walking. Falling backwards into something hard, and strong. Glancing up she catches a glimpse of beautiful sea green eyes, noticing a ginger beard, and short crew cut hair.

" I- I-I- I- I'm sorry." She finally stammers out, her heart racing clear through her chest she swore the man she fell into could hear it without a stethoscope.

" You are in an awful fast hurry for going somewhere in this rain. My name is Ethan might I have the pleasure of knowing yours?" Replied the tall muscular gentleman who still had his hands on her waist.

" Elizabeth... I'm truly sorry, I was just waiting on someone. They never showed so I was on my way home." She stated while removing his hands from her body.

" Any man who would stand you up, must not have the time or the right mind. You are absolutely stunning." Ethan grinned at her while trying to coax her back inside the restaurant she had just exited.

" I really have to get home please, I have work in the morning." Elizabeth muttered trying to turn away.

" I sincerely apologize, but I came here tonight under the pretense of a blind date. I do intend on taking someone to dinner even if they aren't my date tonight. With all due respect I think the lady will understand seeing as she tried running out on me." Ethan smirked.

" I- I-I-, So you were the one I was waiting on for fifteen extra minutes who didn't bother to let anyone know what was going on?!" Elizabeth exclaimed!

" I do apologize again ma'am its just seeing you sitting inside in that back corner, all dolled up, It made a man get nervous about approaching you in old cowboy jeans and a button down." Ethan smiled showing a row of pearly white teeth, just as straight as an arrow.

Giggling Elizabeth took his hand agreeing to finally join him for dinner. Now that he had shown up she was happy to finally see that it was just nervousness that had gotten the better of her date. Following Ethan back to the corner table she had dashed out of not even ten minutes earlier sitting back down in drenched clothing.

" I believe I should apologize for you dashing out and ruining your stunning outfit." Ethan stated offering her his jacket after sliding her chair in for her.

The same waiter who had been waiting on Elizabeth prior to her dashing out came back around asking for orders winking when he spotted Elizabeth again. Rushing back over to the table.

" What may I get you tonight?" Asked the waiter wearing a black and white suit.

" A bottle of your finest Merlot, and 2 steak dinners please." Ethan ordered for both of them.

" Anything extra for the lady?" Asked the waiter.

" No, That's fine thank you." Elizabeth responded.

During Dinner the conversation naturally turned to what they both did for a living, if they had seen themselves being married or even just in a committed relationship. Laughing and having fun with each other. Once their plates had arrived they ate in silence, finishing dinner getting up and leaving after paying the bill and tipping generously again.

Walking out to the nearest park through the rain the conversation kept going only for Ethan to find out that Elizabeth was a single mother of two, who had just gotten out of a long marriage and had no time for dating in between being a mom and work. Sitting outside under the stars watching the night sky twinkle like diamonds in a coal mine.

" Would you ever give someone a chance like me?" Ethan asked.

" I have never met anyone like you, so that answer is a hard one to give." Elizabeth stated truthfully. She had never met someone so hard working, family oriented and down right willing to accept another mans children even though she couldn't give him children of his own.

" I guess I'll just have to find out how much of one you are willing to give. I honestly hope I stand some chance with you." Ethan remarked.

" I guess so." Elizabeth stated " For a first date this has been extremely pleasant. The wine and steak were exquisite, but you didn't need to impress me."

" Really now?" Ethan asked.

" Really, I'm just like you a small town person who is down to earth. Just the wine and the night sky would have made my night, the steak was extra. You have been wonderful company. I honestly hope we see each other again." Elizabeth stated before getting up and walking away towards her apartment.

Thinking back over the night she really was impressed, the steak, the bottle of Merlot that was poured glass by glass. Her enjoying the company, conversation and the night sky. It really truly was her dream first date. She couldn't have asked for anything more except maybe a kiss goodnight, but that was too much to ask for on a first date, maybe next time she would get that kiss. For now the night had to end under the twinkling diamonds high above her head.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.