Humans logo

Merlot Helped Me To Win My SoulMate

By: Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Merlot Helped Me To Win My  SoulMate
Photo by Crew on Unsplash

First I wasn't looking for romance, I was comfortable with my life and used to being the "Alpha Female", you know the strong, independent and free willed woman. I was used to relying on myself and taking care of myself. I guess as being let down so many times in the past, I just liked it that way. I bought myself my own flowers, treats, food and clothes. I had never let a man do things for me, it's just me. I was comfortable being alone, supporting myself and I was content with it. That is until I met him....to keep him secret let's call him "Jake".

Let me tell you about meeting Jake, the first time that I had met him my eyes had locked onto his. My gut sank, the butterflies filled my chest and let me tell you after close to ten years this was not a feeling that I was used to. I instantly put up the guard that every independent woman does, as a form of protection. As I took a stepback I didn't think this was a good choice, I told myself to relax and allow whatever to unfold with Jake naturally. Allow nature to evolve into what seemed destined to happen, I talked with Jake and offered my number as I was curious as to what this connection was about.

After a few weeks of talking with Jake my anxiety had lessened, things were going great between the two of us. The conversations flowed easily, my heart jumped every time that my phone went off. Thinking that it was Jake, waiting for our next talk or we would see each other again. Then it happened Jake magically asked me what my plans were for the weekend. The butterflies started up in my stomach again, they felt like they were in my chest. I kept breathing as I felt the anxiety, I had told him casually after catching my breath that I didn't have any plans.

Jake being the sweetheart that he asked me out on a date, he explained that he really enjoyed talking to me and he wanted to start dating. Of course I was excited. So excited I just told him only okay sounds good and that I would see him this weekend. I was so excited I didn't even make plans. I texted him back and he told me it did seem weird I didn't ask him about the plans. I was so nervous I didn't know if I could handle being around Jake, I felt like I would totally blow this and make a huge mess out of the date. Jake was wonderful; he laughed it off and made plans for the date. I thought what did I do to deserve a wonderful guy like this ???

Jake explained that on our date we would be going to a nice Italian restaurant he said because I loved pasta so much. To wear whatever made me feel good about myself, I told him a casual style dress and he agreed to wearing casual style clothing. Jake told me how forward he was looking forward to this as I made him feel amazing. I couldn't believe this was actually happening, the sweetest and nicest guy was into going onto a date with me. The whole week up to the date seemed to fly by, but this time I had felt calmer as it approached rather than being nervous about seeing Jake.

As it hit Friday night I started getting ready for my date with Jake, I pulled out a perfect casual dress all black that would show off my figure. A perfect pair of black pumps and a gold set of earrings and necklace from my father last Christmas. I sprayed on my favorite perfume and headed out the door. I noticed that I felt confident and not nervous, I drove across the city to the river to meet Jake at the Italian Restaurant. He looked happy as I walked up to the restaurant and I could see a light in his eyes as I had walked up. It felt like a scene out of a movie.

The date went perfect, as Jake took me to the table in the restaurant he had a bottle of Merlot waiting for us. He was a gentleman. He pulled my chair out for me to sit down and even brought me a single rose. He poured me a glass of Merlot and we cheered on our first date. I noticed the change in Jake. He looked nervous now, instead of me. He seemed to calm down after the second glass of Merlot however, funny how alcohol helps with nerves. The conversation flowed like always throughout dinner. He insisted we order a 3 course meal. I don't know which dish I liked the best or if it was Jake who made the whole thing better.

As we sat together and finished the bottle of Merlot together he lifted my hand to kiss it. He had asked if it would be possible to do this again, that he had a lot of feelings for me. I agreed and told Jake how nervous I was. He laughed and said he was nervous too. We then left the restaurant together and went for a walk down the river. Under the moonlight he grabbed my hand, and took my face and gave me a soft kiss on my lips. I don't know if it was the Merlot but both me and Jake pulled away out of breath. He both walked back to our cars, hugged and kissed again our goodbyes for the night.

Today Jake and I celebrated our 1st year Anniversary at the same Italian Restaurant, I am grateful for that bottle of Merlot and still ask for it everytime that we go there. I am also grateful for Jake, my person and my soulmate.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.