Humans logo

Memory Bank: Rooted In History

Our minds have been so closed for so long due to beliefs with no apparent basis being passed on from generation to generation.

By J A E ♡Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Mysterious red package being delivered anonymously by a drone.

A drone anonymously delivered a mysterious red package to my doorstep as I was pulling into my driveway. “Do not open!” it read. The message on the side of the box said: “If you get this box, it is meant to bring happiness into your life. But, if you open it, you will be sad forever.”

Unsure what to do, I left the package at the front door and hoped someone would just come take it. I sat down at the dining table to consider my options. What would I have ordered? Should I tell anyone about the box just in case something goes wrong? Is it a joke? Who sent it? Am I the only one to receive a package like this?

Before deciding if I would open the package or not, I did a Google search about mysterious packages being delivered the day before Christmas. I found a subreddit where they were discussing these types of anonymous packages around this time of year. As far as I can tell, it’s been happening for a while, since 2001. Every year, they seem to be sending these packages to more and more people.

This year it was already sent to many, many other people from what I read online. Some people mention it being fake and poking fun at people acting apprehensive to just open up a silly box addressed to them. Others said they just threw it away wanting nothing to do with it. While some gave it away just to see what would happen to others, however there were a few recipients who posted on the thread that they opened the mysterious box upon arrival.

They said there was a valuable gift inside but did not say much else. They said nothing bad ever happened to them. But how am I supposed to believe that? What if they are not around to update anyone anymore? Or maybe they are embarrassed to share their unfortunate series of events. What if more people actually opened it but if they would have shared the true story only worse will continue to happen? I am not sure but really could use a few more Christmas presents for my niece and nephew.

My package was heavy though, could there really be something valuable inside? What harm could it really do to just check? After all, it was sent specifically to me. Why would someone address a box to me and deliver it using a drone just for me to not open it? It’s Christmas time, they probably just wanted to send it anonymously as a surprise.

I had already spent too much time going back and forth on whether I should open it or not. I decided just to throw it in the closet and figure it out later. I told my brother about the box. He said just open it, things are already bad enough. Later, I talked to my grandma about the box. She too agreed I should open it and at least see what was inside. By then, my brother had told my niece about it and she called me begging me to please not open the box!

I found it odd that the box was heavy and they said they found a valuable gift inside. What type of joke is this? I came home to this package and now it has consumed my every thought. I began looking for signs all over the place as to whether I should open it or just leave it go. At this point, I just decided I was just ready to open it because I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one that has been closed by belief.

I couldn't believe my eyes. Wow! Inside was a gold bar surrounded by cash, which is why it was so heavy! The company logo inside read “Delight Inc.” I quickly looked it up online and read about their mission. Their company mission is to quietly open the minds of humankind. Our minds have been so closed for so long due to beliefs with no apparent basis being passed on from generation to generation.

So, just how people once thought the world was flat, the world is full of so much more wonder than our ancestors could have ever imagined. Do not allow yourself to be afraid of baseless ideas and stories told to control your mind. Hold on to our ancestors' love of life as we create a bright, meaningful future for ourselves. This mysterious package taught me to live life fully aware that this journey is ever-evolving!

I placed the gold bar in my dresser drawer as a reminder to not be closed minded, every time I open it. I didn’t even use the money for Christmas to go to waste this year as I normally would have. Instead, I used it to invest in my family’s future!

culturehumanity
Like

About the Creator

J A E ♡

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.