Humans logo

Members Only

Creating What People Really Need

By Kristy LoewenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Members Only
Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

The first twenty years of my life were dramatically easier than my second twenty. As I near my 40th birthday, I am forced to reflect on how my life has gone so far. To many, it may look like a scattered mess. To a fellow ENFP (as in the personality type), I am right on track. I follow my gut and my heart to creative endeavors that line up with my personal beliefs. I have owned and operated my own business since I was 25 years old and have done many different educational courses to keep my skills current, and my advice on point.

Let me give you a brief background. I grew up wanting to be a pharmacist. When my mom would go grocery shopping, I was allowed to “assist” the pharmacist behind the desk (something I realize, could never happen now). It sparked something in my science loving brain that carried me through to my second year of university. When I ended up not getting accepted, I was forced to move on and either repeat courses to get a better grade or find something else. Long story short, one that included me making a life changing decision because my kitten fell asleep on me, I went into Human Nutritional Sciences and never looked back.

This career made sense to me. I had always been interested in the world of health and wellness. I was always working out and loved to make and create new healthy meals. Early on in that university choice, I decided that I would also become a fitness instructor. Now THAT was an amazing career choice for me. One that I have enjoyed ever since, even though it came with quite a few injuries along the way.

I started doing nutrition counseling when I was 25 and out of university, as well as teaching up to 30 fitness classes a week. I loved the career I had created for myself but I found myself wanting more. I wanted to be able to help people even more, and in ways that I was not currently able to. While I was on maternity leave with my second baby, I took a very intense eight-month course on eating psychology. This was it! This is what I have been missing out on all these years. Giving my clients an ideal program was not ideal if they could not follow it. That brings me to right now. Winning this challenge would mean that I would be able to pay for part of my master’s degree in counseling. That means that I could work with people even deeper in their health goals. So much of our mental health coping is wrapped up in food and how we eat. Until we figure out how to deal with what is going on inside, our outsides will not be able to reflect our goals.

As someone who has been through many, MANY trials, both in the mental and physical realm, I wish I had someone like who I want to be during those times. As someone who had always been fit, it is devastating to get injured and get put out of the game. It is downright depressing. It leads to all sorts of terrible thought patterns. As someone who has survived a sexual assault, I am acutely aware how gaining weight is a form of protection. I am also aware of the healing that needs to happen on the inside before you can get back to your “normal” self. As someone who has suffered from severe depression, I know how sugar can help you actually feel better…and then become addicted to it even after the depression goes away. I have a following of many people over the years and I want to be able to offer them even more.

My passion will change lives for the better; not by offering a great workout plan or eating regiment, but by working with people on a deeper level. Creating a membership that will support you through the hardest parts of your life is priceless.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kristy Loewen

I have my degree in Human Nutritional Sciences with a focus on Eating Psychology. That is were the strength of my writing lies as well. I am just starting to dabble in fiction as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.