Humans logo

May I Have a Pain Halo Please

Not a Pill for Pain relief

By Mark Stigers Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
May I Have a Pain Halo Please
Photo by Egor Myznik on Unsplash

There are several types of electronic circuits. There are computers, cell phones, radios, TVs, and various recording devices. However, there is another group of electronics that I keep track of in my mind.

I call them “Do nothing circuits.” These are circuits that are very easy to build but have potential as a device for production. I have several devices. One of the simplest is a device researched and made at the University of Arizona for the relief of pain.

Rats were tortured to confirm the theory. Tests were run on humans, confirming that fibromyalgia patients found that the device was so effective they did not want to give up the devices they used for the test. Yet, little is done with this device.

There are no opiates to get hooked on. It is inexpensive, does not need to have a license to use or dispense. What is this wonder device? A green LED.

How do you get from, I’m in pain, to use green light for pain relief? From what I know, this is the story.

There is a professor at the U of A who gets headaches. He finds that if he goes outside, his headaches go away. He looks to see what is different about the outside versus the inside. He decides it is outside. He is surrounded by green trees, bushes, and grass. He comes up with a way to quantify the pain he is causing rats. On one group of rats, he puts a set of contacts that filter out green light. Another group of rats was kept under green light. When subjected to pain, the rats that had green light were found to tolerate more pain than the rats with contacts that got no green light.

This brings up several questions in my mind. Least of which is why I say it was a green light. For all I knew, it could have been clean air outside versus nasty air inside. That sounds better to me than it’s the light. Anyway, he proves that statistically, the green light correlates to pain reduction and wins a fibromyalgia grant to study pain relief.

Fibromyalgia pain is not effectively managed with current therapeutics. Previously, in a preclinical rat study, we demonstrated that exposure to green light-emitting diodes (GLED) for 8 hours/day for 5 days resulted in the blockage of pain and reduction of thermal and mechanical sensitivity to pain.

Out of all my do-nothing circuits, of my company Stigers Electronics Exploits or SEE, this one is the most unbelievable from minds that see. I have tried to convince people that a green LED shined in your eyes will block pain. It has been proven by torturing rats. I must admit that if someone had come to me and said we had quantified rat pain, I would have thrown them out of my office. I would have never involved my research lab in expressing the pain that they caused at X level. I am not sure, but I don’t think that I would want to be known for relieving pain in rats even more if I was causing the pain to begin with to them.

Now, I have taken a multicolor LED light. I put it in a fixture and shined the green light in my eyes for weeks. It works. That being said, the setup to shine the LEDs in your eyes is cumbersome. I have a design where a ring is put on the head with the batteries are mounted on the ring. There is a switch to turn it on and off. Plus, there are two LEDs fixed to shine in the eyes. Cost less than a buck—effectiveness, proven by science. A Pain Halo has no drug addiction, is cheap, lasts a long time, and needs no doctor to prescribe. The mass cost produces the Pain Halo without batteries, $0.10 or so. People in pain are willing to pay anything for relief one hell of a lot—the percentage of those people who would accept that this would work, none. The problem, I want a pill, a good one, please, to relieve pain. Anything else is not what I’m looking for to cure my problem. Hence this is a do-nothing circuit.

I want to make a company that will be viable for a long time by making electronics for cheap and selling them at a huge mark up to a specialty niches that are extremely pleased at such a solution. My electronic whistle is of a superior design. Has no plastic case. Takes no space in your hand to sound it. Moreover, it sounds like a real whistle. Cost to make about $ 10.00. What would a professional referee pay? Particularly, for a neat new gadget.

I liked the handheld stop sign that would take pictures of license plates of people who violate the school zone. Maybe just a device to hold your phone on the stick with a trigger to trip the camera.

I have a lot of do-nothing circuits, but I’m old. Come and see before I’m gone. From a mind that SEEs.

literature
1

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.