Humans logo

Margot...

The first truly sad story

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Margot...
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

When I look back at being in middle school, I tend to look at them as if it's a franchise in a movie like they're sequels. 7th grade was the best year since it started everything, and it felt like things had shifted gears a little bit in the middle of the year, but it ended up with the best results from an unexpected move. 8th grade was by far the worst. It was filled with nothing but drama, then, 9th grade came and magic, sadness, and a bunch of other stuff happened because we went to high school after that.

There was a special kind of magic during 9th grade because I was hanging out with my friends a lot in my classes. Sadly, one of my good friends had moved to Florida after his mom died, so it was tough finding my footing with people. I ended up hanging out with two friends of mine, Jett and Shane, that I shared the same lunchtime with or they'd have a class near me. I'd catch them in passing in the hallway while I was either on the way to class or going to lunch. Then, there was another friend of mine, Cliff, who I hung out with a lot during the classes we had together. Anyways, I met a gal in a class I had with Cliff since he met her, and I ended up introducing myself to her, Margot.

Margot was the new girl at school and she was beautiful. Dark brown hair, nice body, pleasant personality, and a pretty smile even when she had braces when I first met her. Over time, we got to talking and getting to know each other a little more so I ended up asking her to be my girlfriend at some point, which didn't work out, but that's okay. We ended up being good friends as time went on even when I still had feelings for her, especially when I wanted to ask her out during the 9th-grade field trip when we were in Seattle.

After 9th grade, we ended up in high school together, but Cliff had to go to a different school. Margot and I ended up drifting apart a little. However, we did the best we could to stay connected. I even got her number as well. She dated a few people as well, some people I also knew, my heart was always reserved for her though. She was one of the three gals that I was pining after at the time, I learned a lot out of it and we still managed to stay friends.

When we reached senior year, we ended up having advisory (or homeroom, whichever you call it wherever you are) together, and we'd talk more there. It was a little hard to hang out with Margot because there was always another gal who was also Margot's friend that just couldn't stand me. I just knew but I didn't care about them; I was there for Margot and all of those times I spent talking to her. I caught feelings for her again and I was so ready to tell her about them. I would've asked her to be my girlfriend but she told me she was with someone who wasn't going to school with us. About a few weeks later, I noticed that her stomach was getting bigger. I put two and two together, and I realized that she was pregnant. That was a one-two punch that hurt pretty bad, but it wasn't enough to prepare me for what happened after we graduated.

About 3 or 4 years later, she had her baby and we weren't talking all that much anymore. While I was listening to Childish Gambino's Flight of the Navigator, it made me weep a little because I was thinking about the times I had with her. They were all good; there wasn't anything terrible. It also made me wonder how things would be if we ended up dating each other like I remembered looking up at the sky one day while I was going home from school. I saw memories of us along with how things would've looked if we dated. It wasn't like the clouds were moving, though, it was like I saw them as movies that were all playing at once to me.

I talked to her again about a few months later to see how she's been, and she was in full mother mode, it wasn't a bad thing. It just meant that she changed, and I did, too. We were both on a different path. I ended up seeing her again in 2017 when I was going to Safeway one night, and she was with her son, I haven't seen her since that night. If I'm honest with myself, I still miss her. Margot was terrific, and I'm proud of the type of gal she became, I just hope she stays on that path even though I'm not in her life anymore.

Quick side note: If you like this story, give it a heart if you want to, and please don't be afraid to send a tip and check out my other stories on my profile.

breakups
2

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.