Humans logo

Making The Most of Your Time

What is time?

By Ben ShelleyPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
Making The Most of Your Time
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

What is time really but an offering of a chance to us humans? The opportunity to craft a life which is based on no facts or figures.

Some of us have the chance to live for a hundred years whilst others receive a hundred days at most. It is sad to consider this as we all feel as though we are owed the chance when really the world owes us nothing.

We owe it to ourselves to make the most of the time that is provided to us. To block out the background noise and enable positive change which will push our life forward and enable us to tick off as many of those boxes as possible. If that is through becoming a famous singer, YouTube star or by becoming the world’s greatest author.

The final picture matters not but it is the chance to create a canvas of our choosing which is most enticing. To be able to enter the world with a blank slate and know that from day one our clock is ticking and encouraging us as we have no idea when the ground will be pulled away from us.

When I say start again here I am saying it to be respectful as some believe that when you pass you begin a new life as a spirit, whilst others believe in little more than blackness. I myself fall into the latter category as whilst it would be nice, I simply cannot comprehend a space in which the entirety of humanity is waiting for their loved ones to return.

I mean the practicalities alone would be enormous to comprehend. To have a wife who dies thirty years after her husband. The husband has then seen the wife move on and marry again...would you be happy to see your spouse in this case?

  • Would they welcome with open arms or would anger reign supreme?
  • I have no idea but then if you add children and the consideration that they liked their new father more, would heaven work?

This is also not to consider the space requires for this mass of humanity. I mean billions and billions of souls all on top of each other and then the belief ends for me.

Do you believe that this is a practical solution to the afterlife or would things be easier to believe if we all stood back and accepted the deep dark abyss of blackness?

Now I am not advocating for having no beliefs as that would be cruel but realistically you have to consider what is practical versus what keeps you from screaming into the dark at night.

For me personally, I have tried to imagine darkness and nothing around but I cannot, as people say it is like falling asleep and that doesn’t sound so bad but to consider nothing beyond that sounds terrifying.

To end up in a situation where there is no more you and there is only darkness around is scary. It is a thought that feels me with dread but not so much as the consideration of believing in heaven and then arriving at the end only to be disappointed. Granted, with my beliefs I do not believe I will be conscious of the enormity to kick in but I can’t imagine no thought.

Time offers us the chance of life with the knowledge that at some point it will be taken away from us all. We will be whipped away from our mortal coils and pulled into the abyss.

Something that I say away from all emotions and with the understanding that everything has its time and everything dies. I do not want it to but I also know that boredom can kick in.

Imagine living on your own for a thousand years after everyone that you knew and loved has died off.

When you have worked most things out and there is nothing left? Imagine that level of apathy to the point in which you cannot get out of bed as you have too much life…this is also assuming that you are fit and healthy and that you are not bedridden.

It is one thing to live a long life but to do so against ill health simply seems like a nightmare and something that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. To potentially be contained to a bed for hundreds of years, with only your thoughts to keep you company sounds annoying and insanity driving. I believe that over this I would choose death.

Death is but a natural part of life and one that we all must come up against. As much as we would wish for life to go on forever, it is not possible and all we can do is make the most of what we have been provided with.

I am grateful for everything I have. I can head to bed safe in the knowledge that I have an amazing wife and a beautiful future ahead of me and that is something that I cherish.

I love each day that I am given, as I know that there may be fewer ahead than behind me as I get older. I know that this is only temporary and we are all living on borrowed time but that is how life is.

We cannot control the path that we are on and at a certain point, the off switch will be pressed. We can only attempt to make the most of the time that we are provided with in order to walk away happy and not take our days for granted.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.