Humans logo

Making New Memories

Making New Memories

By Beast SaiPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Making New Memories
Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

We had an enormous family. It was me, two younger brothers, my older sisters, my mother, my father, and my father's parents within the same house. Momma was the youngest of 4 , but her parents gave up the ghost two years ago on an equivalent day, separated by two minutes. So i could not believe it when he told me.

"Paul, are you able to come here for a moment , son?"

I went down the hall. My father was sitting in his chair as was common , but his face was still sort of a stone. T.V is additionally turned off.

"It's been a nasty day for your mother."

My heart raced. "Watcha 'said Dad?"

"Your aunt Jenny just called and said their Dad is gone."

Then the phone rang again. My father answered, and that i heard Aunt Jenny's voice are available the opposite direction. He sounded funny. It's better than usual. I didn't do much, but my father's eyes widened as he listened intently until he finally found the proper three words.

Aunt Jenny sighed deeply. "And my mother is gone."

When my momma walked within the door, there have been no tears, just a surprise on her face.

"They died separated for 2 minutes, Tim."

Then he hugged us and promised both folks .

He kissed me on the forehead. “Paul, i really like you forever. My first boyfriend. ”

"And Tim, once you leave, I agree 'just after ya'!"

Then he shouted and laughed as he climbed the steps to ascertain my brothers and sisters. Such was the case with my mother, who always saw the daylight within the dark and didn't stand back from anything. He has been like that since "before you were born," he wont to say. When he said that to me and my father, i do not think he ever thought that losing one among us was a true possibility, and neither did I.

“All right, everyone! We're out! ”My father shouted and returned to the house.

My mother always said that my father and that i had much in common. Habits, the way we talk, and our attitude toward life generally . None folks were very critical because we frequently made decisions supported our gut. "That's how I got your momma!" he always said so. Momma just smiled and nodded in agreement. We both responded and quickly became angry. it's always able to fight. My older sister brought a boy home who rubbed his momma, and that i came to him faster than my father. I never saw him again then . We were a violent and unstable family, but we were both very strong. I checked out my father. He was 6’4 years old, about 250, with shoulders as wide as Texas. i'm 6'0 years old on my longest day, about 210, and he always jogged my memory .

He would touch me on the chest and say. “You still have a girlfriend’! ”

I grew up eager to be like my father. Tomorrow was my 18th birthday, and he wanted to spend the day, just me and him.

“Well, where are we going?”

“We went for a ride son. Some things one should know which will only be done by another man. "

"Like what?"

“Just get within the truck and ride. Lot tells you. Here's the important thing! ”

So, not knowing where we were going and not knowing what i used to be getting to learn from her, we got into that four-door truck and rolled over. However, before we entered the highway, my father held out his hand and lovingly held me by the rear of my neck.

"You know, son, I'm pleased with the person you're keen on '."

“Really?”

“Yes! you will not get to where you bought to, but you only take it to a different level, Paul. ”

I smiled. "I wouldn't roll in the hay without a father such as you ."

"Yer damn right." he announced, just laughing.

Having fun with my dad was always an honest time. He took me to a bar once I was 16 and allowed me to urge a bourbon gun. I burned my throat up, though. He took me to a field about 10 miles [10 km] from the house once and depart some shootin targets. it had been my first time with a gun and therefore the first time I fired. i used to be nine years old. Sometimes we might just do the standard things, like learning a couple of groceries or buying shoes.

The thing I always thought was different from my dad was his love of shoes. Jordan 1 was his favorite. that they had of these strange words and wonky colors, but i used to be not in the least into it, regardless of how hard you tried to convince me. i used to be right with an easy black metal boot.

"Man, where's your style?" he always said so.

I just smiled and looked away. That was my father. Big burly, emotions, love of shoes, tot-gun SOB, and there was nothing you'll do to vary him. So once we left the house that day, i assumed we were getting to town to select up a replacement pair of shoes, or even i might find yourself getting to a line club. I ended up making a mistake on both accounts.

“So, where are we going at this time?” I asked.

He looked around and smiled. “Just accompany me son. Notin must worry about ‘speed.’

"All right."

I lowered the seat back until it had been almost flat. Whenever I rode anyone, I did so for a few reason. nobody ever asked that. tons of times, people give me a wierd look, but that was tons farther than it ever was. Even once I was walking with him, I leaned back in my back seat and turned on the music. My father loved music of all types . once you see his room, no nook or cranny could find the record.

Today's featured artist: Prince.

To this day, I never understood that this great southern boy, who would be considered a red neck by many, loved sneakers and listened to Prince. I mean, aren't getting me wrong, i do not have a drag in the least , i used to be always wondering where to urge it.

“So your 18th birthday coincides. How does one feel? ”

I took a flash to believe it because thus far , I had never thought of it.

I sighed. “I feel normal. I don’t skills I need to feel. ”

That was God's faithful truth. This birthday was just another day on behalf of me . I had nothing planned, so again, I don’t believe it much.

“That's good, son. meaning you've got found some humility in yourself. which will take you far during this life. ”

I didn't raise my chair back, but I turned my head to seem intently at the old man as he spoke, looking straight ahead. I never noticed

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.