Humans logo

MAKE OR BREAK

A relationship during COVID 19

By Joan MarshPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Prior to the Corona virus, I casually dated. Meaning, I was kind of sort of dealing with someone for a few months, ended it in December, and kind of sort of rekindled it in February. However, during this time, I had met someone in September, but didn't encourage it due to the fact that I was seeing someone else.

The person I met in September never gave up. We spoke on the phone frequently. He understood my position, and said he would wait. Of course I didn't believe it, because as we know, a man will tell you what he feels you want to here, and I just wasn't really into him. He was cute and sweet, but my heart and focus was on someone else.

Anyway, I thought he gave up as he disappeared in December, only to reappear in February. I still didn't pay him any mind. But, once COVID 19 hit, it was a different story. For the whole month of April, I refused to have anyone around me. Like everyone else I hope, I was nervous about contracting the virus from persons outside of my home. I live alone, and being on furlough from work, places me in a position to not be around folks. Since this whole virus thing hit, the only outing I had been on at this point, was my father's funeral, and even there, we practised social distancing and safety measures.

But like everyone else, I got lonely. This man, never gave up. He called constantly to check up on me, and one day, drove over an hour, to do a drive by visit. He stayed outside, and I spoke to him from my balcony. I was touched. He came back a few more times after that, until one day, I said just come in.

He did, and the rest is history. He comes over at least three times a week now. We have dinner, drinks, and banter. Over the last two months, he has grown on me, to the point where I am actually seeing him for who he is. A good man, who has been captivated by me. I don't play with people's feelings, and I'm not a user. This man can easily provide for me, and I know that I would not want for anything but, his money doesn't entice me, as I have my own, and hustle 24/7 to build.

My sister, step mum, and mother Yvonne, all like this guy. Not only did the drive by's do it for me, but also, one day my sister said, "It's not who you want, it's who God chooses for you." This man was always there, but I didn't see him. He's totally opposite from my type. I wasn't being true to myself, as I always embrace change, and think outside of the box.

I think my problem was fear. I didn't want to hear, "let's settle down, buy a house in Kent, and live life." I just couldn't see it. But, having nothing but time on my hands now to really enjoy someone's company, has opened up my heart to this man. If it not were for the Corona virus, I would not be saying this about this man.

His name is Peter, and I'm kind of sort of digging him. I'm not ready to call him my boyfriend yet, but he's the first and last person, I see and talk to every day. Who knows what the upcoming months may bring. I only know that my Corona relationship is looking like a winner.

Update: September 4th, 2020. Five months later.

Well, the relationship has lasted. It has actually became stronger, and I truly can't imagine not having this man in my life. Everyone knows Peter is my guy. When a man puts on a dress to promote his woman's business, then what else is there to think about.

Case and point, this Corona Virus relationship has lasted, it has blossomed, and the ride continues.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.