Humans logo

Magic Bullet - Diversity in thought with a dash of self-awareness

What we all need is a dash of self-love because there is a self in all of us.

By Anu SundaramPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in We Have a Dream Challenge
4
Unity in Diversity is better then Unity in Similarties

I do not belong anywhere. As a child, we moved around a lot, so different people's cultures are the only way I know how to live. And as I grew up, I realised that we are all different but one at the same time—unity in Diversity.

We may have different skin colours, features, hair type, language, but at the end of the day - each one of us gets angry; we cry; we laugh; our blood is red; we breathe in Oxygen and breathe out Carbon-di-oxide. The list is endless. If we could feel that trees are our lungs, we wouldn't devastate the planet and mother nature as much. If we could relate to each other at a deeper level and know that we are all one world would be a better place.

It bothered me a lot when I first realised that there is separation, an artificial boundary. And then came the realisation that change starts from within. First, I have to embody what I want to see in the world, even with baby steps. And I have been on this journey since 2008 consciously. Over the years, my vision also solidified - 'To be a better version of myself every day and inspire others to do the same.' This is my true north.

How do I plan to live this in 2022?

I am going to meditate twice a day. I have a daily 1-hour practice and want to establish a daily 2-hour practice. Meditation works at the deeper level of how I see things and enables me to see reality as it is. If I get upset at my husband for not turning on the dryer - it helps me see that he had a long day at work. This muscle brings in humility to realise that I am wrong most of the time when I believe my thoughts.

I am going to immerse myself in Byron Katie's work. Every year I choose a spiritual author and immerse myself in their teachings. The last two years have been an absolute joy in the company of Eckhart Tolle, and this year, I have started with Byron Katie. Byron Katie's work is straightforward. Every time you have a thought that causes you suffering - you write those thoughts down and ask these four questions - a) Is it really true? b)Can you absolutely know it is true? c) How do you react? What happens when you believe that thought? d) Who would you be without that thought?

These two activities will help me work on myself to be a better version of myself.

It all starts from within

I work in a corporate company. Historically, big companies are known to focus on profit and kindness/diversity and inclusion are the secondary focus. It is beginning to change but not at the rate we want to save the world. I lead a team of 60 or so people, which is my sphere of influence. My goal this year is to create a listening ecosystem through coffee chats, connect sessions, 1-1 to ensure that everybody's voice is heard. In my experience so far, I have realised that each thinks differently, and there is no right or wrong. It's just different. For example - I am good at quick thinking, my peer might like to process things slowly. I am organised and have a plan. My peer might approach it more cluttered. And at work, there is a stereotype of a successful person - which marginalises those who do not fit. But, it in no way means that they are any less than the stereotype - in fact, some may even exceed our expectations if only we open our minds.

Diversity of thought. This is what I am going to encourage this year at work. Because as Einstein said, We cannot solve a problem by being at the same level of consciousness. We need to think differently if we want to take a shot at changing our history. If an alien came to planet earth and looked at our history filled with wars violence - they would peg us as fools who make the same mistake again and again because the human race hasn't changed fundamentally.

There is more than one way to look at something

One of the ways to bring about the fundamental shift which we all need urgently is to be self-aware and encourage Diversity in thought. How are you going to incorporate it into your life?

love
4

About the Creator

Anu Sundaram

My vision in life is to be a Better Version Of Myself Every Day. And my purpose in life is ‘Learn, Grow, Inspire and Contribute’.

Everything that I do ties into this vision - including my writing. Check out anumorris.com for more info!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.