Humans logo

Lovely Bliss

She's a Beauty

By Tiffanie MaasPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

I first heard of Patricia on day one of staff training for a new and innovative school where I was to be the atelier, or art teacher. I was very nervous but also completely thrilled to be taking this new journey with a room full of like minded individuals. We had all applied to teach at this school because it promised to be different, to be a place for growth and exploration for students and staff. As is often the case during staff orientation, we engaged in activities designed to help us get to know one another a bit. I learned very quickly that though I was the art teacher, I was certainly not the only creative person in the room. During a particular ice breaker activity we were partnered in pairs and after five minutes of sharing with our partner we went around the room, each one of us introducing our partners to the others. It was inspiring to hear of so many interesting accomplishments from the collective, but there was one that especially caught my attention. I heard the introduction from across the room but I couldn't quite see who was speaking. The woman being introduced had just written her first children's book.

I didn't meet Patricia that day but her accomplishment stayed on my radar. Once school began and we were all back together I made a point to get to know the other teachers hoping to meet the writer of the children’s book but the subject of the children's book never came up. I met Jean whose grandson was going through some difficult times and Maria who looked much younger than she was. I met Karen who had formerly operated her own school for homeschoolers and Olivia who loved the sea and tried to surf. I met Kim who's mom was recovering from a heart attack, and Katy who was told she would never have children, but did, she had three in fact. I met Jerry who was working on his degree and Sue who was happy to be working close to home. I met Darcy who was very talented but a bit mean. I met Lola, she was from New York. I met Sasha who was a new teacher and extremely well organized and Mary who had a love for theater. I met Donna who didn't have a clue and I also met Patricia who always had a smile.

Patricia and I were neighbors in the school. My art studio was in the center of the school and had an open concept that was clever as a concept but not so clever as a functioning space for teaching. The first door on the right was Patricia's classroom. She was a kindergarten teacher. Her students were very sweet and always polite and attentive. It was clear that they were in good hands in Patricia's class.

My role as the atelier was to design art projects that were an extension of classroom learning in order to deepen students’ understanding of core subject content. At this school, however, not every teacher within a grade level was teaching the same content. Within a grade level classrooms were each learning about different interests in the same week. Every week I made my rounds talking with each teacher to get an understanding of what their students were learning about so that I could design their weekly art lesson and prepare their materials for their arrival to the art studio. Some teachers did a better job than others at encouraging and guiding their students interests. For example, when I would ask the second grade teachers what they were learning it seemed that for weeks the only answer I got back was simply “Native Americans”.

When I would go into Patricia’s classroom, each week her students were exploring new concepts, deep concepts and fascinating curiosities like the human eye, rainbows and beauty. “What do you mean, they are learning about beauty?” I asked. “What does beauty mean, what does it look like, what makes something beautiful.” is what Patricia said. Now that’s all fine and good but how does this turn into an art project, I wondered. Patricia told me “I want my students to understand that they are beautiful.” I got to work designing a really cool project. I cut tag board into the shape of hand held mirrors and I cut drawing paper into oval shapes that fit inside the mirrors. I set out paints and glitter, sequins and gems. When Patricia’s students arrived they began their lesson by drawing self portraits on the oval pieces of drawing paper. Some students drew from memory, others from their imagination and many of them went to the large mirror in the hall to study themselves. Next, Patricia’s students painted their tag board mirrors and adorned them with all the shiny things they could fit and finally they glued into place their self portraits where their reflections would be were the mirrors actual mirrors.

When Patricia came to collect her students from the studio they delighted in sharing their works of art with her. Patricia complimented each child and told them how beautiful their self portraits were. That’s when she said to me, “I’m so excited to read my book to them today.” “Your book?” I asked. “Yes, I wrote a children’s book and had it published and I finally got a copy to share with my class!” she said. It had been Patricia who I had wanted to meet all those months ago. Patricia had written a book called The Beauty Within and she was teaching her kindergarten students how to love and appreciate themselves. I was in awe.

I invited Patricia to my art studio, to attend my Friday Night paint class and have a glass of wine to celebrate. We invited a few other ladies from school to make it a proper party. We had a wonderful time being together and sharing in the joy of Patricia’s accomplishment. When the night came to a close Patricia asked me if I would mind sharing her business cards with my customers. She handed me a card that said “Lovely Bliss.” Patricia was not only a teacher and an author she was also an entrepreneur. Her business, like her teaching and her writing, is focused on making others feel beautiful. Lovely Bliss Shop offers self care skin products with holistic herbs and body butters. Let me be the first to say that there is no shortage of skin care products on the market, however, I am certain, beyond a doubt, that there is no one better suited for creating them than Patricia because she is lovely and beautiful inside and out.

friendship
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.