Humans logo

Love your resume(3)

LovThe aftermath of lovee your resume

By Ivan A JaramilloPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

(4)

My head was spinning after a long phone conversation with her, and when ALL the sweet talk was done, the emptiness and boredom of ambush awaited me.

My joy swelled for a few days and then subsided. I began to feel at a loss for what to do, and the solitude of the house encouraged my feelings of loss.

I lit a cigarette and smoked slowly, the smoke dancing in front of me in a messy dance. They are incongruous, diverging and twisting. I tapped the table with my index finger, and a faint sound came out. What TV brings to me is noise, like water falling from a high place.

My love for her stayed with me for a few years, until I had her and was dismayed to find that it was gone. Countless missing nights in my consciousness of a layer of illusory film, through the film I vaguely see some dark shadows, they sway to and fro. I had no idea what they were doing, and the unreality gave me a sense of desolation.

I picked up my glass to drink when there was a knock on the door. "Is that her?" With a shake of my hand, I accidentally poured water into my nostrils. I wiped and felt glad that no one had seen my mess.

The door clanged again. I opened the door and there she was, walking into my house, jumping about. I smiled mechanically.

"Happy?" She asked.

"Happy." I said weakly.

"I'll cook for you." She cheerfully searched for materials, only to find my house empty. She was not disappointed, still full of joy said: "I go to buy vegetables."

I gave her her purse and said, "Don't skimp on a good meal."

She came back with plenty of materials and little money. I admire her ability.

She has a pattern to wash rice to cut vegetables, and I lay lazily on the bed, leisurely reading, her busy figure reflected in my eyes.

I ticked off how long it had been since I had a home-cooked meal. The last time I ate mom's cooking seems like I was a kid.

She played it expertly, tinkling in my ears. I closed my eyes and listened comfortably. My intoxication is like enjoying beautiful music.

She brought out a dish of fruit, waiting for me to taste, my eyes lit up, all the scenery became precise, within reach.

(5)

Shopping with her again, I lost the last interest is full; His eyes were blurred, wandering absent-mindedly among rows of tall buildings. She was in high spirits, holding my hand, a smile on her face. I answered her questions carelessly. She didn't seem to notice anything strange about me. She probably thought I was clumsy in love, and I tried my best to put on a good show to hide my impatience.

After a while, she slipped out her hand, and her laughter was wiped out. She stopped, but I walked on leisurely. When I turned to look at her after a few steps, she said, "After all this walking, you never even looked at me."

As I scrambled to defend myself, she interrupted me and said, "I know you've been giving me the cold shoulder. I tried to get used to you, but it suddenly dawned on me that your love for me had vanished."

I let out a sigh of relief and said, "I'm sorry."

"You have acted twice before me, once in school, because you loved me; One was just now, and you're putting me off. You were inferior both times, but I can just as well understand what you are trying to say." Her face was white as paper, but her voice was calm.

I stood stunned, like an abandoned, bewildered puppy.

Her eyes looked at me unblinkingly, then blurred and tears welled up like wild horses.

Ashamed of myself, I bowed my head and searched for words of consolation, but those words, like those fleeing the plague, had gone far away.

Her body shook, just as it had when I met her.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.