Humans logo

Love unbounded

Sudden destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

was rushing home to see my mother for Mother’s Day and now they just announced that my flight was cancelled because of the weather. There was still time to make it there by tomorrow only the new flight they had changed me to wasn’t leaving for another until tomorrow morning.

I called my mom and she and dad were understanding and told me not to worry as long as I made it there.

While wait g to get my confirmation of my hotel I decided to charge my lab top. I sat down on a seat and put connected my charger. He had his back to me and I noticed he was well dress in slacks and a pale yellow long sleeve shirt.

He seem to be quarreling with someone in the phone. Apparently that person the other end was upset because his flight had been cancelled also.

I pretended that I didn’t hear anything when he turned around. He was incredibly handsome and when he smiled at me I smiled back.

When got off his cell phone.

He just began talking to me about how difficult relationships are. He is meeting her family for the first time and his girlfriend is blaming him for the cancellation. She said he probably wished it would happen and it did.

I didn’t want to say too much but I just listened.The airline attendant called me over to the desk so I sad good bye to him and he gave an apology for putting his problems on me.

I told him it was no problem and glad I was there to help if at all.

On the way to the hotel I kept seeing his face and said to myself I would be so much more appreciative especially because he was really so handsome.

After I got in my room I went downstairs to get some coffee in the hotel’s cafe.

I was about to pay for my coffee and the gentleman from the airport was behind me He insisted he pay for my coffee, so I finally allowed him to. Then he asked if he could join me.

Sure, I said glad to have some company.

We talked about everything and found out we had many things in common and seem to see the world though the same glasses. I was having such a good time as we laughed and talked then

it was announced that a tornado was heading in the direction of this hotel and everyone was told to take shelter on the first floor Lobby. He took my hand and we went to the lobby where a crowd of people looked as scare as we did.

Then a blast of wind hit the hotel and we heard glass breaking as the windows on top began to fall to the ground. There was a roaring sound and I felt my ears were going to pop . He and I sat down on the floor and he put his arms around me and some how I couldn’t help think how good it felt to be in his arms.

It seemed like an eternity but it was only a few minutes and it was all over. We found out that the tornadoes had missed us but the hotel got the outskirts of it.

I think that calls for a drink he said and we went over to the bar where everything was on the house.

Sipping our drinks we sat in silence.

We both looked intensely in each other’s eyes. I think we both realized that we could have died together in each other arms but we didn’t.

They put up emergency beds for everyone and we choose to share one together. I slept so peacefully in his arms and when I woke up he was gone. He left a note on the pillow.

Thanks for spending my almost last night on earth with me! I laughed yet was sorry we didn’t exchange numbers.

My mother and dad were so glad I made it in time for the family dinner.

The food was delicious and it was wonderful being home again with family.

Then the my cell phone ring just as we were stating in the family room about to have dessert.

Hello the voice on the other end said snd I instantly recognized it was him.

Hello- how did you get my number.

Now you didn’t think I was going let you slip out of my life that easy- there are no coincidence and for some reason we met and well- I would like to find out why.

I couldn’t help but laugh. Did you make it to your girlfriend’s -

Well he interrupted I didn’t go- after being with you - I knew she could never compete. So what I’m asking is - do you think we could see each other again.

Well I said- sitting down as I spoke- I think that can be arranged.

We met the following week finding out we lived in the same town at the local coffee shop.

Six months later he asked me to marry him at a skating ring. He whirled me around and we both fell laughing then he pulled a ring out of his pocket and put it on my finger. I looked it and back at him - yes I screamed. We kissed and laughed.

Our wedding was at the top floor of an hotel ball room where you could watch all the airplanes land. At the reception In the center of the ballroom was a white piano where smoothing music flowed from the performers.

I wore a long satin straight gown with white flowers in my hair and he in a dashing black tuxedo passionately held me close to him as we watch the fluffy clouds float in the blue sky between the flying planes.

We kissed and I knew I had by accident or by fate had found the very person I knew I couldn’ never ever want to live without!

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.