Humans logo

Love

The day we all dread

By Anthony TerryPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
Love
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

Some people love Valentine's day and have spectacular acts of love planned out for months in advance and they count the days until they can go crazy for their loved ones. Yet there are others that dread the day and cannot wait until the celebrations of love are over. Why is it that people have such a different reaction to this day? Why are some people so filled with a passion that they must fulfill and want to express themselves to others while some people just want to get through the day without being noticed? Neither person is better than the other and we all see life through a different pair of eyes. Try to put yourself into the other person's shoes before you judge them on how they see this holiday. There are scars that begin to hurt when people see others continually falling in love with another human. They wish that it could be them falling in love but they once again spend a valentines day alone. We are all unique and in a special place in our own life. I think we all view Valentine's day in the wrong way. It has become a commercial holiday of Love. But do we really celebrate true love or just are fantasies of what we really want love to be.

Companies continue to grow rich off of card sales, chocolate sales, and other small gifts that are advertised to get you to purchase for your loved ones. These companies say cheesy things to grab your attention and entice you to show your love by buying a gift from them for your significant other. Yes, some people's love language is gifting or receiving gifts but is that all love has become? Buying someone a gift in hope of fulfilling your inner desires to make love with them. When did true love lose its meaning? The continued lure to impress people with objects grows every year in our society. We want to stand out by buying the grandest new gift or by wearing the newest, best-looking clothing. Everything begins to be a competition and is this really what we want love to be? A meaningless race to see who can win over the girl or guy first. What about a deeper more permanent connection between two humans that cannot be separated by whether or not they were gifted the best candy.

As I grow older the whole idea of Valentine's Day seems sillier and sillier. Why do we need this special day to show people we love them? Shouldn't everyday be Valentine's Day? Maybe I am not the best person to give opinions on this as I am single. However, what I would want in a relationship is something much deeper than a day of love and gift buying. I want a life to live. I want someone to pour myself into mentally, emotionally, and physically. Not just an object but a caring, growing human being who can see where I am weak and make me stronger. I want an adventure buddy on this crazy thing we all call life. Maybe I am old fashioned and I think that is okay. Somethings are better when left alone and I think love is one of those things.

Guys, we should respect women and show them what true love is. Learn to avoid this new commercial love that is not fulfilling in the end. We need to not have such short attention spans. I would love to see more people stop seeing love as a quick fix or a one-night stand thing. I would love love to be made into a lifelong commitment to enjoy and build each other up. I truly believe more people would feel fulfilled in their relationship if they put the needs of their spouse before their own. These are just my thoughts on what I think love should be and what I hope to find someday. I want to encourage you who read this whole post to take the time to make someone feel special every day of the year and not just on Valentine's Day. Do you think you can do that this year?

love
2

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    I love the way you describe love

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.