Humans logo

Love or infatuation?

How do you find love in this generation?

By Jonathan JacksonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Love: Websters dictionary- attraction based on sexual desire : affection and tenderness felt by lovers

Infatuation: Websters dictionary- a feeling of foolish or obsessively strong love for, admiration for, or interest in someone or something : strong and unreasoning attachment

Where do I begin?

I often find myself wanting to live in mid evil times, minus the bad hygiene and disease, it was a simpler time. Which by extension made loving someone simpler. Technology today, and me being apart of the instant gratification generation, makes it so easy to fall in and out of "love" or to chat someone up you don't know. Suffice it to say, simple gestures like flowers or moderately expensive jewelry often get overlooked. Granted the person has to be into you, but if someone is receiving multiple gifts from multiple suitors, it diminishes the sincerity of your specific gesture.

During my normal years I often found myself talking to older people. It's true that they can impart a lot of knowledge if you listen well. One of the many things taken from those conversations is how they communicated. Maybe not as far back as mid evil times I guess. Maybe go back to the 60s or 70s. Minus racism since i'm black. A well written letter sealed with a kiss or flavored with perfume/cologne, phone calls were more of a commodity, going to a diner and talking weighed so much more. Today You can find someone new and "slide in their DM" and be in a situationship the next day.

Personally, I have been a victim of not necessarily cat-fishing, but more like what our generation calls gas lighting. People these days, in most cases women, are attention seekers. They love all the attention the men give. I bet if you search a beautiful womans messages you'd find over a hundred men courting her. It's bonkers. Makes getting the pretty girl that much harder and makes real love and intimacy seldom. What I am trying to say is I wish I could easily go on social media and "snatch" .pretty girl on there, but it's not that easy. I think my situation my be factor in why finding love is hard. Or maybe I do and because of it it seems...fake. Idk, check out my other blog for that.

At the end of the day I am a simple man and I want a simple love. I want to be so wrapped up in her and vice versa that the rest of the world doesn't matter. I have had my fair share of close range relationships and because of my college years I have sorta grown accustom to a long distance vibe. They all seem to be wishy washy or based on lies and greed. My latest .... whatever; tdb. I hate this era because it makes it easy to be fooled and falling in love is hard. At the end of the day that all a brotha wants!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Jackson

I am here to give my educated opinion on whatever topic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.