Humans logo

Love of My Life

My Story

By Kyla LeePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As cheesy as it is, home is where your heart is. For me, home is my boyfriend (Isaiah). We've been through a lot in the past couple of years. It almost feels like we've been through everything.

When we met I wasn't in the best place of my life. However, everyone has been through something. Isaiah is (and was) the handsomest guy I've ever seen. If you don't know him well enough, it's hard to tell his emotions. So, it was hard to tell if he liked me or not. (Which he did, obviously.)

When we met for the first time, I felt butterflies in my stomach. I swear the first time he looked at me, my face turned bright red. I didn’t know it yet, but that was love. I loved him at first sight. I knew I did about two weeks later. However, I didn’t say anything to him until a week after that. Even then I wasn’t the first one to say anything. It upset me so much, but I’ve had plenty of ‘I love you’s in those many weeks after.

Isaiah and I clicked, but we’re almost complete opposites. We have a few things in common. However, I’m a super emotional person and Isaiah can talk things out without shedding a tear. I’d get so sad that I couldn’t talk. I have a hard time talking things out. Isaiah could talk anything out. Our personalities are different. Everything I didn’t have, Isaiah did. Being opposites made us a whole, with nothing we didn’t have if we were together.

Sadly, I had to leave with no choice of if I could stay or not. Isaiah and I kept contact while I was away. We texted everyday and occasionally video chatted. Then I had to stay nine hours away from Isaiah. I had no choice in it, but I eventually got what I wanted.

Having to get on a phone to talk about my problems was hard. I had to get used to the sound of Isaiah’s voice to calm my nerves. When you need internet, that is hard to get in the middle of nowhere. Sometimes calling my boyfriend is all I had. That doesn’t do great things for your mood. I was upset, but I had hope. All I had was my future to look forward to. Hope and my boyfriend was all I had.

After a year of only being able to see my boyfriend on holidays, I finally got my freedom. I was able to move in with my incredibly tolerant boyfriend. He’s been there through everything and was the rock I needed. He supported me while I was nine hours away, every step of the way. He made sure I was okay, and I finally got to go live with him.

I went from calling him every night to being able to wake up and see his face. I finally got to hug him and physically be there for him. He’s my world. Not being there for him, killed me. Then I finally was able to be there. It was like my mood did a whole 180. I was so extremely happy.

Now, I can do all the things I dreamed I could do for Isaiah. I still haven’t made up to Isaiah for all his support. Even during rough times he’ll put me before himself. He’s so selfless and I Just really want to make it up to him. He says I already have. I appreciate it more than everything. Isaiah changed my whole mindset. I went 'from nothing to live for,' to 'I wouldn’t trade my life for the world.'

love
Like

About the Creator

Kyla Lee

A girl who doesn't know what she wants her career to be, and talks too much about her dog and boyfriend.

Instagram: finest._.photography.jpg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.