Humans logo

Love is Forever

Chapter 3

By Kasandra HozempaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 3

Sometimes memories are the worst form of torture. I guess I’m not hurting that bad because I can still see all my loved ones.. they’re hurting because they can’t see me. I still hurt though. I can talk to them, but they can’t hear me. But it’s been a week and it seems like everyone is starting to get over it. I guess that’s good.

Everyone’s starting to get back to their lives. My mom went back to work. She still cries from time to time. I know she’ll have to live the rest of her life alone. Which hurts me more than anything. I was all she had left after my dad died.

As for Kylee, she’s already getting back into the dating world. Which I guess isn’t new because when we’d call it off for a little bit she’d start talking to guys. I mean I don’t blame her. I’m dead. There’s no getting back with me and she’s gotta get on with her life. She’s not getting serious with anyone but kinda looking. Just talking and seeing if she finds someone she likes. She doesn’t cry anymore and she still can’t look at pictures of me.

Today she’s meeting up with a guy she met online. His name is Brody. I guess she likes him because they made plans on going out for lunch. They considered a movie but they figured they wouldn’t be able to get to know each other that way and decided to save it for a later date if things worked out. I peeked onto her phone to see what was being said.

B: cant wait to meet u beautiful

K: ill see u tomorrow Bro

B: cmon dont call me bro, that sounds weird lol

K: well it’s an abbreviation of your name haha

B: but I’m trynna date you not be bros

K: lol ill see u tomorrow

Brody found her sitting at a table in the corner in a summer dress with a pink floral pattern. She wore that dress on our first date. I remember the way she had her hair and everything. She had her hair half up, half down, curled with her white sandals on. She was beautiful. Seeing her in that dress for someone else, breaks my heart a little. Does she even realize it?

Brody is a 20-year-old man who is a trainer at a gym downtown. Kylee is a 17-year-old girl still in high school. I don’t approve but what voice do I have in the whole situation? I don’t think this whole protecting her thing is gonna work out. I don’t have any influence in anything she does. All I can do is hope she makes the right choices.

“Sooo are we gonna see each other again?” He asked her while walking her to her car.

“Oh yeah! Definitely!” She nervously bit her lip and looked to the ground. But with courage she said “I really like you, Brody.”

“Oh really? Well can I kiss you?”

“I think we should save that for later.” She winked at him and got into her car. He smiled as she drove off.

~

Kylee talked to him every day. It made me a little jealous to see her falling for someone else. But I mean, what am I gonna do? Keep her from being happy? And oh man, is she happy… as much as I don’t approve of this new relationship, he makes her really happy. Something that I can’t do anymore. Her mom sat with her in the living room as she talked on the phone with him. Hearing her daughter laugh was rare since I passed. She smiled, and savoured the moment.

“Man, I wish I could kiss you.”

“I wish I could kiss me too.” Kylee joked back. Brody laughed.

~

A month passed and it’s almost as if Kylee’s forgotten about me. But one early morning, I caught a glimpse of her crying in her room. I walked in to see what was going on. She was talking to herself. Well.. actually.. she was talking to me.

“Lucus.. this is hard. I’m trying to move on but you were the love of my life. Missing you isn’t the problem.. it’s knowing you’re never coming back that’s killing me.. I like Brody but I don’t know if I’ll ever love him like I loved you.” The only thing going through my mind is that there’s still hope. I thought I was a thing in the past for her but she hasn’t forgot. She’s just pushing the thought of me away. I can’t let her give up on Brody though. He’s doing what I can’t anymore. He made her laugh when all she could do was break down. She continued talking, “He really does make me so happy though. I’m definitely falling for him.” I smiled. At least she can admit that.

“Hey gorgeous.” Brody said as Kylee answered the door.

“Hey.” Kylee said in a flirtatious way.

“You ready to go?”

“Yeah just give me a sec” Kylee walked back inside to grab her backpack. Brody was taking her to school this morning. She walked out with her backpack on her shoulder, shouted bye to her mom and shut the front door.

She climbed into the passenger seat of Brody’s 2016 Ford F-150. Once she buckled her seat belt they drove off. “Uh, you passed my school.” Kylee said, confused.

“I know. I’m not taking you to school. We’re going on a date.” Kylee heard the word date, and it didn’t even cross her mind that this was a bad idea. How could this guy not care that he’s basically helping a 17-year-old girl skip school?

“Oh a date huh? Where are you taking me?”

“You’ll see.” He winked at her. They kept going, even passed the sign that said they were leaving the city limits. I’m suddenly not so sure this guy is a good influence on her. “You might wanna tell your mom you’ll be home late.” Kylee texted her mom and told her she was going out with some friends after school. Brody pulled into a rest stop along the highway.

“A rest stop? Why?”

“This is a rest stop nobody stops at because there’s a better one 5 miles ahead. So we’ll get some privacy.” They hopped out of his truck and walked to the back. “Check this out.” He opened the tailgate and in the bed of the truck was a bunch of pillows and blankets.

“Wow. I’ve only ever seen this on Facebook.” She climbed in and sat towards the back. “Oh man. Who knew the back of a truck could be so comfortable..”

“I bought one of those memory foam paddings.” He climbed in next to her.

~

After hours of talking and laughing, when the stars were already out and the wind was a little chilly, she did the simplest thing in the world. She leaned over and kissed him. And the world cracked open. He kissed her back. And kissing soon turned to making out.

Okay this is getting a little too intimate for me, so I’m gonna check out. I’ll be back when this is all over.

Kylee stopped kissing him for just a second, looked him in his beautiful, cinnamon brown eyes and said “You are my new favorite feeling..” Hearing that forced a smile on his face. He reached up and grabbed her face and pulled her back into the kiss. Suddenly, she knew it was time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings.

He leaned into her with his hand on her thigh. He started kissing her neck. She didn’t fight it. She waited so long to do this with somebody and it felt good. Having their bodies pinned together so close was a new feeling to her. And she didn’t want it to end.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.