Humans logo

Love in the time of COVID

Inspired by a true story

By Natalia Perez WahlbergPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Love in the time of COVID
Photo by Saffu on Unsplash

June 2020

PAUL

I woke up this morning believing today was a day just like any other I’ve had this past few months. I wasn’t expecting anything much to happen. Little did I suspect that it was the day that would end up with a date a few days later.

It’s Wednesday, but I’m not working. I have taken a few weeks off from work to just enjoy the summer as constricted as circumstances currently are. I like getting up relatively early, do some reading, have a coffee on the balcony while watching the sun lazily wake up, embraced by pale shades of purple, pink, and, later, fully enveloped in a magnetic display of oranges and yellows. I have a great eastern view from my apartment that allows me to enjoy this daily morning ritual that the sun displays with the sky and, on certain days, also the clouds that appear to greet it. I know, I sound like a romantic, what can I say? There are certain things that just bring out the cheeseball in me. I’ve always been a morning person, so I find this to be a great way to start my day, especially in the summer as the days arrive earlier. I sit there, black coffee in hand (sometimes with a bagel or some toast), and just take in the morning breeze and the dance of colors that I sometimes have the feeling is a private performance just for me. Nature is splendid!

I sat in the dining area of my balcony for a while (I happen to have a large balcony that allows me to decorate it and have enough furniture that makes for a great gathering place and perfect for summer dining or eating outside). I was enthralled in one of Stephen King’s novels and had forgotten about my toast, which had gone quite cold by the time I decided to take a bite, when I decided to take a break and look over the city. I knew nothing much was going on in the streets, being on lockdown and all, but there’s always something to see on people’s balconies or rooftops. That’s when I saw her. She was on the rooftop across my building, dancing as if nobody could see her. She was obviously listening to something on her phone or iPod, she was really into it. She had moves too. I sat there, quietly, placing the book distractedly on the table and just marveling about how gracefully this woman moved. I guessed she must have some training. I wondered how it was possible that I had never noticed her before. I watched as her hips moved effortlessly with rhythm and ease, her curly hair bouncing with each move, her long legs and perfectly toned arms moving in perfect coordination. I was mesmerized. I had to know who this woman was!

Knowing that I might never get a chance again, I decided to get my drone (which I use for my aerial photography) and sent it over with a note.

KERRY

I couldn’t believe I had actually made it out of bed before eight this morning. I have never been a morning person, but I just couldn’t sleep last night and when I finally did, it seemed like I had just closed my eyes when I was suddenly awake again. Three hours had passed, but I just couldn’t sleep. It’s as if the Universe was nudging me to get out of bed because something was awaiting me on that day.

I decided to go up to the rooftop, which I had only seen when I first visited this building a month ago as a possible place for me to move into. I admit, the apartment wasn’t that big, but the rooftop sold me. The view from up there was gorgeous. I had only been in this apartment a couple of weeks, but I still had boxes full of books that needed unpacking. I have always hated moving, all the packing and unpacking just drives me crazy. I knew I had to get to it eventually, but today was not the day. Today I needed to check out the space up there to see if it was equipped for dancing. Since the school had closed due to the pandemic, I had to figure out other ways to teach dance, and I had created a YouTube channel that had proved quite successful. I thought that perhaps the rooftop could prove to be a great spot to do my videos and motivate my followers to keep moving during lockdown in whatever way they could manage. I was excited to dance outdoors when most people would be getting ready for work or working already.

When I exited onto the rooftop, morning had already arrived. The sun was greeting me with a magnificent smile, but a fresh morning breeze that reminded me that spring was on its way out, removed some of its powerful heat.

When I dance I barely think of what I’m doing. I follow the beats of the music, I let it pass through me. There’s no room for thought in dance, just feeling. I don’t worry about what part of my body is moving, I know it’s in harmony with what I’m hearing. When I work on a choreography, I follow each beat, each note, and then let it wash over me and take over. I remember what movements work with each part of the song and start building a choreography. I remember when I was a child I would be fascinated by watching Michael Jackson dance like he was one with the music. My parents were huge fans, so I grew up watching his music videos and performances on DVD. Today, thanks to the technology we have available, there’s an endless source of inspiration… I love how it allows people the opportunity to nurture their creativity.

After I was done dancing, I sat down on one of the chairs and had some water, and enjoyed the fresh air and the sunshine. It was a good day to be alive. I couldn’t help but smile.

As I was lost in my thoughts, I heard a buzzing noise approaching. It was very low, but perceptible nonetheless. When I looked up, I noticed a drone coming towards me. I was surprised. Maybe someone was checking out the neighborhood and had lost sight of where they were going. However, when it got to me, it stopped at my feet. I looked around, and on a balcony across from my building, there was a young man waving at me. I waved back. He gestured towards the drone as if meaning for me to explore it. Strapped to the machine was an iPhone and a note. On it was written: “I watched you dancing. You are amazing. I hope I don’t come off as a creep, but I had to say hi and tell you that your dancing brought joy to my day. You are very talented. I’d love to get to know you better. If you are game and you are not otherwise already in a relationship (or creeped out), leave your number on my phone. I’ve unlocked it. You can check my photo albums to see if you are interested ;-) ;-) PS: My name is Paul.”

‘Cute’, I thought, ‘and original’. I’ve always been very outgoing and it didn’t strike me as creepy. I did check out the pictures and I liked his face and eyes. I thought to myself that, if nothing else, I can make a new friend today. I left him my number, put the phone back on the drone, and watched it as it flew back to its owner.

When it had disappeared into his balcony, I waved at him and waited, curious to see what would happen next.

PAUL

She left me her number. Her name was Kerry. I decided to ask her if she’d like to do a “long-distance” date, as the lockdown is too strict to allow for meeting with new acquaintances. I am aware some people are still doing it, but I have always been on the cautious side. It’ll be fun… and different. Who would’ve thought I’d be meeting someone this way.

KERRY

He sent me a text message not long after the drone landed: “Dinner this Friday? You think of a meal, I’ll bring the Merlot. We can each have a glass. I’d love to make it in person, but for now, across the street from each other? My balcony, your rooftop? I know it’s unconventional, but we can Skype or video-call before then so we get to know each other a bit more.”

I smiled. I would’ve never thought these things actually happened in life. It was fun and exciting!

PAUL

She was in. I feel like a teenage boy who is about to get his first kiss or be able to get to third-base finally. I know, it’s absolutely silly, but it’s been a while since I’ve met someone that really intrigued me. I’ve been with many women, but the connection was always lacking. I’m looking forward to this. It feels ‘right’. If we hit it off, then we might eventually be able to go on a ‘real’ date. I spent the rest of the day reading, catching up with emails, and watching something. I was too distracted to pay attention, so don’t ask me what I watched. What a day! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me tomorrow.

KERRY

It was settled. We are on for Friday. In the evening, I checked my cupboards and fridge to see if I had any Merlot and went on Pinterest looking for a fun new recipe to try and send him tomorrow. I found a couple of bottles, plus one Pinot Grigio. I decided to have a glass of Merlot this evening to celebrate an amazing day that brought me a new connection and inspiration. Looking forward to Skyping with Paul tomorrow and sharing the recipe. He sounds interesting. Let’s see what he comes up with for Friday.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Natalia Perez Wahlberg

Illustrator, entrepreneur and writer since I can remember.

Love a good book and can talk endlessly about books and literature.

Creator, artist, motion graphics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.