Humans logo

LOVE in Indiana(7)

Self-report of female college students

By Ivan A JaramilloPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

(8)

Someone else in the group posted a picture of the dam. The snow is heavier on the other side of the dam, and there is a photo with a very low Angle, which makes the dam very tall, with colors and lines, and very abstract atmosphere of Monterian. There is no trace of that crude image in this photograph.

The people at the dam became abstract. I didn't recognize Richard, Geraldine, James.

Although I was ready to make a phone call, I still put off looking at the photos and sent Richard another wechat message, saying that I would not be there and I would see you later. I stood with my back against the wall for a while, and when he didn't answer me, I dug up Constance's number and called her.

"Where is it? Constance asked, in a languid voice, who hadn't slept in, like, ten hours.

"Outside."

"At work?"

"Not yet."

"Sick leave? How nice, I have a meeting in the evening."

"Is it so good to call in sick?

"Oh, no. I don't want to be sick for more than a few days. Busy to die. Haven't you been coughing lately?"

"No," he said."Get plenty of rest."

I heard his tone is to hang up the phone, asked him: "Last time said not to come over?"

"But you can't?"

"Not very well."

"Today, then?"

"Not so good today, either."

"I can't today either. I'll have a meeting later."

I walked to the window, looked out at the swaying bamboo leaves, and turned my head as I had done when we lay together. "Not to tell you that. I went to the studio this afternoon, and there was a man in the room. '

"What man? How did you get in?"

"I don't know. I went to change and a friend came in the afternoon and saw a man inside."

"Is there anything missing?

"No."

"That's good."

"The point is that the man's appearance was particularly frightening..." I said, the cold cold fingers suddenly appeared in the armpit. I grew restless again at the thought that they would be there for a long time, and that I had no means of eliminating them.

"What's the matter? You say ah. A man or a woman?"

"A man.""How old are you?"

"I can't tell. 40, 50? It may not be forty."

"He didn't hit you, did he?

"That's not true. Well, I might as well have. Then I was confused for a while..." I can't go on.

He was silent for a moment. "It won't be early after the meeting today. I have to go out and talk about something tomorrow. I have an appointment. Why don't I come the day after tomorrow?"

He DOES SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY INFORMATION BELOW SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY BUREAU, INDEPENDENT BUSINESS UNIT, ABOVE DO NOT allocate money, have ONESELF TO earn, WORK OVERTIME every DAY, BASICALLY DID NOT HAVE TWO WEEKENDS. I am single at the moment. For a while he said she wanted to see me to see if I was really good to him, but then he dropped it. And I don't really want to get married. At first I thought I was still thinking about Mo, my ex-boyfriend, but then I started to think I wasn't made to get along with anyone.

After another pause, Constance asked, "Did you call the police?"

I could not tell whether he meant I should or should not, and said "yes".

"What did they say?

I felt as if something like a robotic arm had been pushed to my eyes by hinges, or as if an island had sprung up out of the dark, endless water. Go up, say it quickly, I urged myself, this time do not say, also wait for what time? But cold fingers, DNA, four surgical tests, and other words mixed into a sticky mess, how can not spit out.

"Oh, I can't tell you on the phone. Come here the day after tomorrow."

"We'll see. I just want to be home alone for a few days now."

"Well, the day after tomorrow. I'll come if you don't mind." His voice became lazy again, and I could tell he wanted to die.

"Actually," I said hesitantly, "don't come the day after tomorrow." I did, but he smiled as if it was funny. "Okay, I get it. Not today. I'll call you the day after tomorrow. I'm going to a meeting now."

I thought he would say that hang up have a good rest don't think it's not so serious what, listen to no sound, take the phone from the ear side, turn over the screen a look, has ended the call.

Do you want to call back? I went to the phone records and found that the call lasted 41 minutes. I thought I'd only been talking for a few minutes.

Do you want to call back? I looked out of the window and suddenly found a wreath hanging on the lattice.

My first thought was that someone had put it up, horrified by the thought. But I took another look at it and knew it was just snow blown together by the wind. To prove that they were not paper, and that the same ink dots were not words, I opened the window and touched them.

These are, of course, frozen grains of snow. As soon as my fingers touched them, they fell loose.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.