Humans logo

LOVE in Indiana(1)

My friends and Richard's friends

By Ivan A JaramilloPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

(1)

I don't know why. That afternoon.

I wouldn't have left the house if Richard and the others hadn't come over.

Richard texted that they were arriving at noon, and their first thought was to go out again? Can you stay inside? Why don't you just stay inside? I really don't want to go out!

But haven't I been with them in a long time? He ran his finger across the screen for a while, and a message came up asking him what his afternoon was like.

"It's two o 'clock. Why don't you come out for lunch?" Before I could answer, Richard sent another message, "I'll see the dam later, you too."

The activity he's talking about is looking at the dam. That's what they came for, to split up and paint a bunch of pictures about the dam.

When my colleague said last month that Richard was coming, I didn't believe it. Richard hates business, official operations. Everyone who knows him knows that. Why would Richard want to paint a dam?

But Richard did come.

Along with Geraldine and James.

They've been planning a lot of events together for a while, and they've been getting a lot of buzz. Otherwise, Geraldine's studio wouldn't be viable. I saw a picture of the studio on my message, and even though I only had a picture of half the porch and half the woods, I could guess how big the house was. It's western New York. How much is it? Richard said, "Everyone who paints wants a place like this."

"Come on! Another message from Richard.

To go, or not to go?

It's not all because I had surgery six months ago to remove a nodule from my lung. It's benign. It's not spreading. After the operation is a cough, a cough is very painful, and bloodshot. It's only been about two months, and then there's been no bad feelings.

I didn't want to go out because of it.

I don't look so good. That's one reason. But a little powder and lipstick will do. Richard doesn't care if I look good or what I wear. His mind was full of the words "school", "doctrine", "performance".

When I went to the mirror, I saw a flabby face, yellow and bright with watertight eyelids.

You know what? Don't go, okay? I put my hand to my face and pushed it up, but I couldn't find it six months ago in the mirror.

Impossible to find, even if the place that takes off NOdule grew good, thorough ground, need not review again, need not take medicine again, this face also changed not to come back. It's a frustrating feeling. Tell him I won't go, I decided, but as I turned around, something -- a branch or a stick -- with all its momentum came across and tripped me.

Luckily, I was quick enough to hold myself together. You fall down at home? Is this bad luck, or a sign from the gods?

There was nothing to cross, where the branches, sticks, beds, bookshelves, tables and chairs were in their respective positions, well placed.

I picked myself up like a new man and texted Richard that I was on my way to meet them.

(2)

As soon as I entered the revolving door, I saw Richard. He was the same, gangly, with a big backpack full of books. Her hair's a mess, but she looks good.

I rushed over to him, stopped about half a meter away, and asked him, "Where are Geraldine and them?"

"Not yet. We'll wait here."

"Ok." I stood back, let two people push boxes, and asked him, "All over the world these days?"

"No, I just went to Mexico."

"And Canada?" I pulled out my phone to click pictures of one of his art directors from Canada and New Jersey.

"How about you? Why do you always look so quiet and silent? What are you doing hiding?"

"What is it? Still hiding!"

Seeing Richard laugh, I laughed too, and almost told them about the nodules I found in my lungs and had them removed in the hospital.

Removing the nodule is no big deal. It's a minimally invasive procedure. The previous year, the owners of the painting academy said that I was not good at painting. Anyway, they liked to treat the third rate as the second rate and the second rate as the first rate, which was nothing. Five years earlier, my boyfriend Lao Mo and I never said goodbye from now on is nothing. He went to school with Richard, but Geraldine didn't know about us. No one ever said anything about us. These old things have been long time has faded, also did not expect years to form a lung may develop into cancer tissue. I can't talk to Richard about any of this. I haven't sat alone with him for more than five minutes since I've known him.

"I look like a wreck." I said. In case he didn't understand, he added, "Idle all day." Say that finish regret again, WHY, SAY A WORD ALL COVER UP, this, want to let him understand me more difficult.

"I can't be idle now if I want to." He hissed. "It's good to be idle." And he lifted his knapsack to his shoulder.

"What's so heavy with you?"

"Books. What else could there be?"

"A day out of the door with such a large pile? How many books do you read a day?"

"One of them is yours. I'll give it to you later."

"You have a new book? An autograph book!" I felt a burst of joy. Richard hasn't sent me a book yet. He's produced five or six books, one of which is on the good books list. I did a double take when I thought of what I had heard before about Richard's ambition.

"Come on, go and eat." Geraldine comes down and James follows her.

It's rare to see Geraldine in this bright ginger, with matching turmeric Converse High Top shoes. She is always blue, white and gray, like a simple college teacher.

"Does this dress age?" "Said James, stepping forward. He's obviously put on weight, his hair has gone bald in circles. He has a big face, like an innocent baby. Not really. He's the best of the bunch. He's bought houses in New York and Canada.

Listen to me. Look, Geraldine opened her already big eyes.

"She's a maiden now." Richard turned to her and said.

Everyone grinned and laughed. I laughed too, but I felt the distance between myself and Geraldine in the light fragrance of her hand. Geraldine is only a few years younger than me, and the ginger clothes and shoes don't smell like that on me. I'm not married to a Harvard-educated civil engineering husband, and I can't get the most cutting-edge and powerful people in the business into my studio.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.