Humans logo

Love finds a way

Pure love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1

I looked out of my apartment window and saw it was pouring down raining. My dog had to go for his afternoon walk.

I loved walking in the rain so after I put on my yellow rain coat and matching boots and red umbrella, we went across the street to the park.

The orange leaves on the trees were falling gracefully to the ground.

My dog TinTin was walking happily a few feet ahead of me when a cat came from behind a bush.

Tintin got really excited and began to barking and tried to go chase it.

I stepped on a fallen tree branch and lost my balance and fell down on the wet ground.

A man and his dog came over and he helped me get up. When I put my hand in his it felt oddly familiar.

I turned to look up at him to finding myself looking into amazing hazel eyes that seem to see right though you.

His chestnut curly hair and olive tone skin made him look exotic. He was extremely handsome.

He wore a beige trench coat over a pair of blue jeans and a black turtle neck sweater

She had no time for romance in her life ever since she opened her company of Home Decorating.

Yet there was something about him that she found intriguing.

They automatically started to walk together slowly. She in a casual tone how lovely it was looking at the trees and bushes swaying in the wind and heavy rain.

It was magical even the dogs felt it as they played together.

When we had to go separate ways he turned and gave me his card. He was a Real Estate Broker. I gave him my card which I kept with me at all times.

A Interior Decorator? He asked after he read my card.

I’m in need of your help. He replied.

Really? I asked.

He gave me a smile with the rain splashing on his face.

I will be giving you a call.

Okay I managed to utter.

Well he said, have a great day!

I walked away and when I looked back he had turned his attention to his dog but he looked up and smiled at me as though he could feel me looking at him and gave me a friendly wave.

As soon as I got into my apartment

my cell phone ringed.

It was him.

His voice was calm and he spoke in a quiet tone.

I have a place that need decorating.

Can you meet meet me there tomorrow.?

Of course, I found to my surprise replying.

It was a charming white cottage nested in a yard of green grass beneath a grove of trees with a long porch in front next to a bubbling rocky stream.

As I came closer a pleasant sweet aromatic smell filled the air.

There was a bench near the blooming red roses by the door and honeysuckles clustered over the the window.

There were stunning, bay windows, French doors leading to the patio.

It was everything I had ever dreamed about having as my home. Only it wasn’t mine and it was for some other woman to enjoy.

Our conversation overflowed with me telling about ideas for decorating. He seem to be enjoying himself as he watched me. He agree to my every subjection.

What do you say if I take you to lunch and you ell me more about your plans.? He boldly asked.

I looked at

him and I saw something in his eyes. They seem to be searching mine.

What was he asking, I thought to myself.

Okay I said.

The cottage was located not far from a small town in upstate Connecticut. I followed him in my car.

He parked and helped me out of my car and when he took my hand I liked the way it felt. It was tender demanding and gentle at the same time.

He put his arm around my waist to lead me in the right direction. It was enough to make me stop and look at him. He stared back at me for a second. Then he without smiling opened the door for us to go inside.

It was small and cozy with candles on each table. We had the same to eat, meat pies and wine.

The conversation was light and fun.

It was only when his knees accidentally touch mine under the table that made a sweet sensation go though my whole body.

He felt something also for he became silent and had a certain longing look in his eyes.

I smiled and excused myself and went to power my nose in the lady’s room. It was really to compose myself. His presence was becoming overwhelming for he excited me more than any man I have ever known.

He walked me to my car.

I was about to get in the car then he grabbed my arm and I turned to look at him and his eyes were on my lip and I thought he was going to kiss me but he stopped just before—.

Thank you for lunch, I said.

Yes- he said. Yes I’m looking forward to our next encounters.

I closed the car door and drove away.

I couldn’t stop thinking about him. His face kept flashing in my mind.

I wondered who was she who he had brought the cottage for-I could see them waking up together with the sun shine spilling though the lacy bedroom curtains.

I couldn’t sleep and when I did I dreamed about him running and chasing a lady and then falling on the grass in front of the cottage, only I couldn’t see her face and then when I did — it was me

I went out each day to the cottage working on the colors and measurements for the furniture and where to place it.

He called me everyday and we met for lunch often.

The more I spent time with him the more attractive he became to me.

It was even comforting just watching him eat, and then I found myself not wanting to say good in my heart and hoping the time with him would never end.

It felt so wonderful just being near him and he always said such funny things that kept me laughing.

One day at lunch, I was going on and on about how I thought on how to decorate their bedroom.

when I looked up at him he was just looking at me with a smile on his face.

What is it? I asked.

He said, I was just enjoying the view. We both laughed.

Funny I often thought he never talks about her.

when I asked when was she coming out to see it, he said he wanted it to be a surprise for her.

When he saw the finished results I could see he was truly pleased.

He asked if I could add Xmas decoration for him. He was having a party Christmas Eve,

I really looked forward to Xmas every year and I had a wonderful time buying items to deck the whole cottage with Xmas cheer.

The afternoon before the party we were decorating the tree together. I got on the ladder to put the star on the top of the glistening Xmas tree and I missed a step and I fell with him catching me in his arms.

Before I knew what was happening his lips were crushing down on mine.

Maybe it was the wine we were having with the snacks that made me go limp and eagerly returned it forgetting everything except how badly I needed him and wanted him.

When we both realized what we were doing., he put me down.

I’m sorry he said. You just look so lovely—-.

I looked at him, turned ran iout the front door and got into my car and drove away.

When I got home I fell on my bed crying.

I loved him- what gave him the right to play with my emotions - kissing me knowing he was going to wed someone else.

Then my phone ring. His number showed up on the screen.

I started not to answer it then I did!

I didn’t say anything.

Listen- he said in a pleading voice, I’m really sorry-please forgive me.

Please come to the party tomorrow.

I so appreciate all you have done.

I didn’t say anything and then

I hung up the phone .

I cried myself to sleep .

In spite of a part of me not wanting to go to the party, I went anyway.

There were many cars parked out side the cottage when I got there. The music was loud and laughter filled the air.

Don opened the door and when he saw it was me a look of relief came over his face.

I knew you would come, he whispered.

I wore my red chiffon long dress and matching rubies earrings.

You look lively tonight he said in my ear as he help me take off my fake long fur coat.

Where was she I thought and braced myself and put on a smile.

Then Don took my hand snd led me to the Xmas tree.

The music suddenly stopped and everyone tuned and was watching us.

Then he got down on his knees took out a large diamond ring and asked me to marry him.

I was shocked as I put my hand I’ve my mouth.

Tears began to fall down my cheeks.

Is that a yes? he asked.

. Yes I said.

He put the ring on my finger stood up and took me in his arms whirling me around and then he kissed long and passionately.

Everyone was clapping.

The music came again and everyone danced to it’s slow and romantic beat.

Then he confessed , that he had broke up with his girlfriend around the time he first met me. They both had felt something was missing in their relationship and decided to go their separate ways.

He said he knew I was the one for him from the very first time he saw me.

By the third date he knew he had fallen in love with me.

He said as he nibbled my ear

I knew I had to have your sweet love and I knew I never wanted to be without you.

Our wedding ceremony 6 months later took place by the stream in front of our cottage.

We both wore a wreath of rosemary on our heads which is symbolic of faithfulness. In a pale green dress and fresh spring flowers we held hand vowing to forever be one.

Afterwards the whole crowd walked around our cottage to the back yard where a lavish buffet was laid on a long table and music blasting .

True love always finds it way to two hearts that are destined to be together.

As we toasted our eternal love i wondered how I ever lived without him and I knew he felt the same way.

I knew in my heart from this day forward we would always be together.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sherry jackson (Author)about a year ago

    💕🥰

  • Sherry jackson (Author)about a year ago

    So glad you enjoyed !!💕

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely!!! Left a heart & insight!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.