Humans logo

Love differently

Learning

By informerh hPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Greetings, one day while scrolling through my Instagram feed I came across an ad for this website. I figured that I would give it a try. I was uncertain about what my first post, should be about. Then it hit me .. the realization that everyone loves. to be loved. Furthermore, we love to be entertained by stories about love. Why? Because through these stories it renews our hope and gives us strength to; allow us to open up and to be loved.

Love .. for years which slowly turned into decades, like you I have embarked on a; journey to find true love. I thought that I had found true love when I was fifteen. However, the relationship didn't work out because it was long distance. As a result for the next decade and a half, I didn't pursued finding love. The saying is true that you will get tired of being alone. Therefore, I started to search for love on online dating sites. Not just any online dating site but on a Christian dating website.

Most people that I meant were frauds or just on that site, for the wrong reasons. After a while the fear and worry of not finding someone to, embrace and love me; started to weigh on me. Despite this I persevered and continue to search. Finally, my quest for love had ended I had found my soulmate. Immediately We connected as friends Now during the course of our friendship we learned all about each other’s, likes, dislikes, favorite movies, etc. The main thing that attracted me to her was, her love for God. With each passing day I could not wait to log onto the dating site, and read her messages.

Throughout our many text message conversations that we had, she let me know that something different about her. We all have our insecurities that we fear when she with a potential soul mate, we fear once shared will pushed the other mate away. Once I learned of her insecurities, I reassured her that it didn’t matter to me. The only thing that matter to me was that if my newfound friendship, would develop into something else; I would have to learn how to love differently. It wasn’t long before we both exchanged numbers and facebook usernames.

Then after about seven months of friendship, I asked her to be my girlfriend. It was about ten at night when I held down the, record button on facebook messenger. With a shaky voice I said that I wanted to sow a relational seed with her, then I asked her for the honor of having her as my girlfriend. Once I was done, I sent the voice note and went to bed.

The next day I received my answer. She said yes, I was so happy. This is a different type of love, in action that I have been learning. I remember the first time that she video chatted with me. It was by accident her little cousin had made a mistake and video called me. She was shocked that now I was able see, her on camera. For hours we would video chat or text it was like my girlfriend, was created just for me. I Thank God for bringing her into my life. We planned to meet in March which was a few months away.

Of course, the night before we both, were nervous. She stayed up the whole night. I was surprised when I saw her in person. This is a different type of love. For I am learning to love differently. My girlfriend has cerebral palsy.

dating
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.