Humans logo

Love Awaken

Real paths of destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3

Donna and I were finally arriving in Dunwick England to attend her uncle 85th birthday. When she first asked me I hesitated but now as we unpacked in the hotel I was glad I came.

The party was tomorrow so we had a day to see the area. It was still late afternoon.so we decided to walk to the cafe down the road for dinner.

The dirt road was next to open field of purple wild heather and the beautiful ocean.it was sunny but cool. We had our jeans an sweats on with tall leader boots. The cafe was cozy with a boat theme.

The pastry and steaming hot coffee was just what I needed.

There was a guy sitting with his back to us on his cell phone..

He had broad shoulder and brown hair.

I got up to go to get a napkin when I drop my phone and he reached down picked it up and was thanking him when I looked into hazel eyes and for one second I stood there. He reacted the same.

Finally I said. Thank you and I know he felt something also.

Donna and I was walking back to the hotel then I heard footsteps behind us and when I turned around it was the good looking guy that was in the cafe,

Hi! May I join you guys.

I notice you are not from around here when you didn’t hAve a accent.

Let me introduce myself. I’m Frank Hardy. I’m over here working on my sebatica and teach at Stanford University.

Oh what a coincidence we are from the Bay Area and here visiting Martha uncle for his birthday.

By the way I’m Shirley and this is Martha.

We all smiled at each other.

Then Martha said let’s go walk on the beach.

It’s getting dark maybe we should wait until tomorrow.

He suggested.

Come on said Martha who was already walking across the field.

So we followed.

The waves were not friendly. They seem to claw at the seashore and the wind had picked up to the point that of making my hair fly manically in my eyes.

The. We all heard it at the same time there were bells ringing.

What is that I asked .

You mean you guys haven’t heard a bout the town beneath the sea.

We both stopped in our tracks.

The sun had gone down and now it was dark.

Then Martha said in a frightening voice. We turned to see what she was talking about and saw a woman in white flowing gown coming down the beach toward .

Us.

I grabbed his arm and he put them around me. I suddenly felt safe and like the way he held me.

Then the lady in white disappeared.

We all ran across the field a k to the dirt road into the hotel

.Donna went to the room so Frank and I decided to sat by the stone fire place in the lounge

The flame danced brightly emitting warmth to us as we sipped on glasses of wine.

That was unreal! I said.

The waiter heard us talking about it and came over.

I see you have met our lady in white .

The legend goes that she waits for her love at sea to come home,

Actually it is a trick and the bells too. It a great tourist attraction.

You mean it wasn’t real ?

That up to you to decide.

Frank and I stayed up most of the night taking. We had so much in common. It turned out that he was staying there also

There was no one around snd he kissed me. It was not like any other Miss I had ever had .

I don’t believe in coincidence so I knew this was the beginning of something big in my life.

We exchanged phone numbers and when we got back to the states he called me snd months later we eloped and got married in A chapel in Carmel by the sea.

I still wonder to this day if what we saw was real but I just know I found something real there that changed my life forever.

dating
3

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.