Humans logo

Love at Independence

A Tragic Irony...

By Eno AkpanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Love at Independence
Photo by Philipp Deus on Unsplash

Lagos, Nigeria

Oct. 1, 1960

Isasere is my name, and today is Nigeria's Independence Day. The excitement in the atmosphere is palpable. Today is the day! Earlier, we all parched in front of the TV to watch in humble witness as Nigeria finally becomes a free and sovereign country. To celebrate this milestone with us, Princess Alexandra of Kent served as a representative of Her Majesty, the Queen. That's how a country that has fought wars, slaved, and literally died because the crown is honored. It wasn't unexpected, yet still disappointing. The British "visited" Nigeria over 100 years ago and have refused to leave! Incompetent lots. The relinquishing of Nigeria's Constitution signifies the exchange of sovereignty between Her Royal Highness and Balewa from Great Britain... the moment when that piece of paper was exchanged, the desperate exhalation of relief shared by every Nigerian was a feat I never witnessed. A moment so intimate yet public. I only wish mother could have seen it. I have sat here for hours replaying this day, afraid that things may return to normal by daybreak. Yes, I have consumed an unhealthy amount of Tv, sue me! "Are you ready yet?" My husband called out from the bedroom. He is the most remarkable man I have ever known. We have been married fifteen years and he's still as erratic. You'd think he'd learn.

"Why are you not ready yet? Please don't tell me you have just been sitting here since."

"You said Zik invited you, does he know I'm tugging on your coattail?"

"Of course."

"Would the Princess be there?"

"Yes, and tomorrow she is to open Parliament."

"Will I get to meet her? Is she as cheery as they say?"

"Yes, and yes. We are all excited. Everyone is excited, please for the last time, get dressed so we could go see the damn Princess." You see, since this week started, he has been trying to disguise his apprehension. I don't blame him, like others, he is a bit jittery at how this transfer of power will set the course for Nigeria. This evening, he is taking me to the State banquet at Federal Palace Hotel, and I'd be darned if I missed it. My meticulously chosen costume; a white and purple striped iro proudly enveloping my waist paired with a lacy buba, and gele, higher than the heavens. "Could you inform the driver to bring the car around, darling?” "He’s already out. We must leave now if we intend to get through Lagos traffic at this hour." If you lived here, you would understand what he's talking about. A few days ago, the road to the market was so jam-packed, I had to trek the rest of the way. Why? Everyone wants to make Independence Day food!

"Ahh!! Mami! Take am easy o! Daddy! You're representing!"

"Thank you, sweetheart. Are you still going out?"

"Yes, Ma. I'm waiting for Tayo."

"Ok. Oya, fetch me a glass of Merlot. It’s not as intoxicating but it’ll do, and get my recorder from the dining table."

We made our way out in the open, an unknown but soon-to-be permanent scent flooded me, pleasantly mingling with the general atmosphere tonight. The driver, a middle-aged man opened the door and urged us inside, and quickly ran to the driver’s door.

Inside the car, he tangled his fingers with mine. "Years ago, your mother told you not to marry me, and she was right to. But yet you chose me." He turned my palm and gently kissed it. "Iyawo mi, when we got married, I couldn't give you all you deserved, and to this day I still hate that tacky court-"

"You were saying."

"Ah, yes. Your love has illuminated the dreariness in my life I didn't even know was there, and I thank God each day for the extraordinary gift that is you. Your love makes the world less chaotic, and I wish to continue to make you as happy as you have made me. Will you continue to be my wife?" He asked slipping an enormous yellow diamond on my finger.

"Owo mmi! You shouldn't-" His gaze piercing through mine, laced with an intensity that made my knees wobble, and pulled me into his embrace. In the darkness of the car, I could feel the shadow of his face and deep rasp breaths as his lips closed mine. The taste of him...his tongue sweeping around mine in a delicious dance. I instinctively angled my body towards him, in an attempt to mirror his caresses but he pinned my hands together, and nudged me against the upholstery, deliberately settling his fingers between the apex of my sex "Is this all for me?" He asked with a smug look on his face. "Amare, please not here. I-"

"Oga, Madam, we don arrive, Sir!"

That sudden announcement sure brought us back to reality. Thank you, Ismail.

Amare withdrew his hands from my wrapper and whispered, "later." The thumping in my chest increased by at least a decibel.

The walls plastered in murals while Green and White decor decked the halls of the hotel. He offered his arm in assistance, I think he knew my legs were still shaky from our rendevous. The room was filled up. I have never witnessed any of such gatherings and I host parties like it's the rainy season; lights, music, and a cascade of colorful costumes, a sight for sore eyes. Now, this is a party.

At the stroke of midnight, the floodlights were dimmed, shortly after, the lights came back up again, ushering a new Green White Green banner that replaced the Union Jack on the flagpole. "Taiwo made that."

"Who?"

"Taiwo. Last years' winner of the flag design competition."

As we sang the National Anthem, a flood of emotion formed in my throat making it difficult to get the words out. After the anthem, Amare introduced me to the dignitaries present, as well as the Princess. She was cheery alright. "It's a shame Her Majesty missed the celebration, but so great you could come."

"Thank you, I am thrilled to be here. Her Majesty had pressing matters to attend."

"One would think the Independence of a country once enslaved by the Crown will persuade her Majesty's appearance."

"Apologies your Highness. Pardon me." Amare dragged me to the dance floor.

"I knew you were itching to say that."

"I'm sorry, but I find it incomprehensible that after all they have done to us, they'd show up for today. It just hurts my pride that's all."

"I know. Let's get some air, do you want to go to the garden?" I nodded.

Amare grabbed a bottle of Merlot and two glasses from the nearby table, motioning me to walk into the garden adjacent to the hall. The garden brimming with people but we easily find an idle bench under the eben tree. He placed both glasses on the bench before he popped the cork. He poured the savory liquid into my glass and asked me to further retrieve under the tree, taking advantage of the night. He looked into my eyes and I could see a tear at the corner of his eyes. "Are you alright?"

"Yeah. It's just you. You inspire my heart. What you said in there, is what each and every one of us was thinking but too dastardly to assert."

"I didn't want to inspire. Because of her and her people, my mother is dead. There's nothing inspiring about that." He stretched to wipe away the stream of moisture dripping down my face.

"Do not let them get you this way on this glorious day. They cannot taint your joy any longer. I won't allow it. Everything will be alright now. They will never come back and Nigeria will be the prosperous nation it once was."

He was right of course. Nigeria is not weak!

"Is that why you gave me the ring? Because of Independence?"

"God, no! I told you I was going to replace that filthy rubber band with a befitting ring worthy of you."

"Oh my! Darling! Can we even afford this?"

He chuckled, "yes, ten times."

"All I have wanted is you and have that, but this is a welcome bonus."

He lifted my palm to his lips, "speaking of bonus, can we finish the conversation we had in the car?"

dating
Like

About the Creator

Eno Akpan

Hi,

My name is Eno, welocome. I am the host and producer of the Socialmindset Podcast. Socialmindset is a podcast that addresses topics in politics, social issues, general education, entertainment, and more through storytelling. Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.