Humans logo

Love at First Sight

Hearts awaken

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2

The sun rays from the morning sun woke me as the lacy curtains on the window dance in the warm breeze.

I stretched and got up and went to the open window in my bedroom. I watched the sun rise over the ocean into pale yellow clouds and a beautiful blue sky.

I can’t believe I am here! Away from the busy city moved to this wonderful beach town.

I dressed in my prettiest sun dress that had yellow flower print on it. I rush though my breakfast and the hot steaming coffee and walked down the hill to my shop.

The moment I first saw him walk into my Crystal Vase shop my heart skipped a beat. He had on a grey t-shirt and jeans. He looked to be in his mid thirties and solid built.

His straight black hair fell to one side over dark and mysterious eyes. There was something about him that felt familiar. Now I know it was love at first sight.

I’m Doug Henson he said and I own the Art Gallery across the street.

It a pleasure to meet you I said as I reached out to shake his hand .

He took my hand and to me it felt so perfect resting in his.

Yes - come over anytime and I will give you a tour. ,

Thank you I replied. I may just do

On leaving he gave me a friendly wave and I waved back in return .

After work, I walked slowly pass his Art Gallery and took a glacé inside at his paintings. He was very talented. I was turning around to leave when he saw and.

Your art is fascinating, I told him

Thank you. He replied.

Let me show you around.

As we stroll by each of his painting he gave me a short story about each of them often cracking s joke which somehow seemed very funny as I laughed more than I had ever laughed in a long time.

I must admit it is rather nice having a beautiful lady in the shop across from mine.

We were standing at the back of the shop and I saw some stairs . It made me wonder if he lived over the shop.

He noticed me looking at the stairs.

Yes, to answer the question I feel you want to ask -I live here also.

If okay with you

Follow me and I will show you the rest of my place.

Okay, I said.

He let me go first up the stairs and on entering I felt the warmth of the cozy apartment.

One side of the living room was a wall of lovely paintings while a large overstuffed mustard yellow sofa dominated in the middle of the room facing as it faced the large Stone fireplace on the wall.

Coffee ? He asked

Yes I replied

I settled on the other end of the sofa and sipped the coffee as he went into details about all of his paintings

A sun beams covered the floor and I looked up to find I was sitting under a skylight in the ceiling.

The sky was turning a pinkish tone and I remembered

I wanted to see the sunset.

Oh I have to go.

I have a date with the sunset. I said as I put down the coffee mug and stood up to leave.

He laughed and asked if I would mind if he joined me.

Not at alI, I replied.

He felt like someone that I had known for a long time.

We walked down to the beach and

took off our shoes. Carrying them in our hands we let the waves lap at our feet while we strolled on the shores gazing at the magnificent colorful sunset.

There were so many couples walking hand and hand, taking in the salty air. I quickly looked over at him and thought to myself how it could be nice to have someone to hold hands with on a balmy summer evening like tonight.

I tried to not think of those sort of things but it was hard because of the nearness of him. I told myself to just enjoy the moment.

We walked together in silence.

I thanked him for showing me his lovely paintings and we walked back to his shop and we said good by.

That night as I lay in bed I couldn’t get him off my mind- to love him-to feel how he loved me. The cool wind seeped though the window sending a slight chill over her. I looked out the window - the rain would continue until early morning-so the weather man had said on the tv before I push the button on the remote.

I pulled the warm blankets up over her shoulders and waited for sleep to overtake her-but only thoughts of him flashed though his mine.

I took a hike the next day along the hiking trail where coastal sage bushes and native valley grassland are in the vast open fields .

The hawks were swirling above the dry creek beds as I climbed the rocky cliffs. I stop to look at the stunning view of the coast line and rolling hills. It was still a little chilly and the ground was muddy from the overnight rain .

Hello, someone said from behind me.

When I looked around I looked into Doug smiling face.

Amazing seeing you here he said .

I like the out doors so hiking is one of my favorite activities .

Now isn’t that strange- it one of mine also.

Really ? I looked at him and we both laughed began to walk together.

We had a lovely time laughing and telling each other about our childhood and families.

I could feel he didn’t want to end the day and neither did I, so we went to get coffee at the local cafe.

We were having our coffee when out knees accidently bump each other and his eyes changed and I had to look away. I knew what he was feeling for I was feeling the same.

As we talked I explain to him that I was not looking at this time for anything more than friendship. I don’t know how I managed to keep my voice from faltering. His eyes displayed a disappointed glare.

Then a woman came in the cafe and when she saw him she rushed over and stood by our table. He looked and jumped up and gave her a hug.

They both were happy to see each other. Then he turned to me and said this is my sister Grace.

Yes,, I thought I would surprise him and come down for the weekend, the sister explain.

My hubby and I rented a place on the beach. He is waiting in the car. Why don’t you and your friend come over and have dinner with us.

Tonight? He asked.

What do you say? She asked both of us.

Sure I said that sounds great !

He walked her out to her car and when he came back I could see how happy he was.

You don’t have to come if you don’t want.

Why I would like to come with you! I replied.

He drove us in his white jeep.

Their place was on the beach. They grilled fish and topped it off with a delicious salad.

His sister and I hit it off. We had so much fun just talking.

When we got a chance to talk alone she asked how long we have been a couple for he had not told her about me.

Couple- we are just friends and we just met I told her.

Oh then you must be soul mates - just taking up where you left off in your last life together.

I’ve never seen my brother happier.

We just smiled at each other.

When Doug and I left his sister’s It was thundering.

Looks like we are in for more rain,

Doug said as we climbed into his jeep.

When we drove up to my house I took a few moments before going inside to take in the beauty of it . It was a tall white modern house situated on the hillside over looking the ocean.

Then I watched inside the splashing rain fall on the glass walls as Doug came inside with me.

Then my cell phone ringed. It was my grand father in Arizona.

Your grad mother and I was wondering what you been up to today? He asked.

Everything is fine. I replied .

Actually I had a date with the artist Doug who owns the art gallery down the hill.

Who is here now.

I smiled at him and he smiled back at me.

Oh Doug. He is a nice young man. I asked him to keep a eye on you.

Glad to hear!

Well I won’t keep you, my grand father said with a laugh.

Great house! Doug said standing in the middle of the living room looking around.

It is yes.

It was hers, mine-a dream come true.

I thought to herself.

Family home and long story. She replied to him.

I would love to hear about it over a glass of wine. He exclaimed

We sat down on my long white sofa facing the glass wall with a dramatic panoramic view of the ocean.

Well my grand parents wanted to retire and gave this house and shop to me. So it’s family and duty !

I understand , he said snd I could see in his eyes that be really did.

The wine was making me relax or was it the nearness of him. Whatever it was a feeling of utter pleasure. I found myself imagining how would it be to spend a night in his arms.

The sound of the rain go faster and harder on the roof.

He moved closer to me and suddenly

He reached out to me and held my face with both hands.

O

I am so intrigued by you!

I haven’t been the same since I met you. You— he said as he looked in my eyes-you are happening to me.

Happening to me in a big way.

I held my breath and closed my eyes. Then his lips found mine.

His lips were warm and sweet.

Putting his arms around me

he whispered in my ear in a husky voice.

You- suddenly are as important to me as eating, sleeping —breathing.

You are necessary to me!

The force of those words hit me like a sudden blast from a strong gale .He meant it and it thrilled me to know it.

He pulled me closer and

kissed me again longer and more passionate. I found myself responding without any hesitation.

I love you, he whispered. From the moment I saw you I fell in love with you.

You are the one for me- the only one!

I smiled up at him. I know—I love you too, I answered.

I laid my head on his shoulder and I felt safe and happy and an inner peace that I had never felt before.

After that night we spent every day and often many late night together. Spending time with him just felt right.

We often hiked into the canyon on week- ends. This particular day on top of s hillside he asked me to marry him

Tears fell ceaselessly from my eyes as I said yes.

Our wedding was a summer beach side affair shared with a few close friends and family.

The reception was held in my back yard overlooking the vast and beautiful ocean, watching the sun slowly sinked beneath the horizon into the shimmering blue waters. Holding hands we smiled at each other and toasted with our family and friends to a new life .

I knew from deep in my heart that true love can happen on first sight!

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.