Humans logo

LOVE

What does it mean?

By S JPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
LOVE
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Ever since I was a little girl I always wondered what true love was. I was never sure if it was something everyone acquired or just a select few. For many years I thought maybe it was just something for the lucky folk. Never anything that was guaranteed by any means. For sure it was just the lucky people that seemed to drip with confidence at every turn. They must know what they want and exactly what they were looking for. Unfortunately, it took me a very long time to realize that had nothing to do with it at all.

Maybe love originates from chemistry or sexual attraction. Surely it had to be something that builds from a deep friendship. There had to be some form of trust, loyalty, and honesty. I had a major issue that still remained even after I came up with what I felt was a basic list of requirements for love. The hardest part of it all was finding someone where you can get a five for five that didn't originate at a fast food place.

Now the final search begin for the beginning of the end. The next person that possessed all these qualities for sure had to be the one. I was so wrong in assuming that for sure. There had to be some kind of playbook to help me or guide me to making the right choices when dating. The best I could get to that was a Steve Harvey book and some online social media relationship experts. Although they were entertaining they still lacked the detailed help I needed as to why things never worked out for me.

Trust me when I say I've searched high and low. There wasn't a stone that didn't go unturnt in my pursuit of happiness. Only to realize that in this maze called life every turn was hit with a dead end. As I back tracked and tried to memorize the last directions that left me broken I just couldn't get my moral compass on track.

At some point you start to doubt yourself and the idea of giving up becomes a reality. You make the conscious choice to just let go. That point of life altering decisions is devastating and can't be undone. I could've never guessed that exact moment in my life was what I was missing all along. The thought that all I had to do was just relieve myself of society's expectations. Only accepting the reality of the worse case of my life could open me up to the best love of my life. From there blossomed a beautiful love story called life.

love
Like

About the Creator

S J

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.