Humans logo

Lost Letters. 3.

Driz.

By BPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

I’m not sure how exactly to start this, but anyone that knows me knows you bring out the absolute best in me. When we’re together, we’re on a different level and EVERYBODY notices. You are an amazing friend, my truest, and for that I’ll cherish you forever. Other friends may come and go, but you and I, we’re connected. It’s probably because we have the same crackhead energy. I know I have a lot of growing to do, but you’re always there to help me through all the growth and change. You take me for who I am and push me to be a better person. I think the main reason we’re best friends is because you just get it. I don’t have to explain anything to you or worry if you’ll get the joke. You already got it and are on your way to making the next one. We’re best friends because you love me even when I’m terrible. It’s easy to love someone when they’re doing well, which I never have been well for the entirety of our friendship, but you’ve stuck by my side through it all. You’re always there for me, even when I don’t deserve it. We’re best friends because whenever we’ve gone long stretches of time without talking and it hasn’t damaged the relationship. We always pick up where we left off. You’re always happy for me, you’re always supportive. You’re my best friend because you’re not afraid to call me out on my shit or disagree with me. I can’t get away with anything when I’m with you. You’ll tell me the things that I need to hear, but everyone else is too afraid to tell me. I am so lucky to have your honesty. We’re best friends because you make me feel less alone in this messy and confusing world. It’s crazy how often you can feel disconnected from people. So many people can betray you, or fail to understand the words that are coming out of your mouth. When I see you, it’s a burst of reassurance that I’m not the only one who looks at the world the same way. There’s someone else and that someone is you.

You make time in your busy schedule just to listen to me. You’ve given me hope in some of the darkest of times and you’ve understood me when I wasn’t myself. You’ve shown me that humanity still does exist. You’ve shared your shoulder when I needed one to cry on and has never changed that position since the beginning. Despite the breakups. You have taught me that the real art resides within people & their hearts, how they love, how they feel, how they’re human. I am so lucky to have you in my life. You accept me at my worst and make feel amazing at my best. When I fall, you laugh, but you’re always there to pick me up. You get my uGlIeSt snaps and have pictures/videos that could socially destroy me, but I know you’ll never use them against me. I wouldn’t want to communicate through half finished sentences and tik tok references with anyone else. Despite how smart we are, we are stupid together and that’s okay.

I love you more daily. I wish you could see yourself the way I see you and I wish you could love yourself the way I love you. And above all, I wish your life is everything you deserve because, in my opinion, you deserve the world. I will stand by your side forever. Thank you for sticking up for me even when I’m wrong (even though I’m never wrong). Thank you for putting up with me especially when I get a LiTtLe annoying. Thank you for being my unpaid therapist, you’re somehow rationally irrational which I appreciate. Thank you for the truckloads of good times. Which I know at my wedding you will try to bring up some of those good times along with most stupid shit that I’ve done and I will grab that microphone out of your hand faster than the speed of light.

This letter is for my best friend who has smiled through so many fucked up situations because she’s stronger than she knows. Here’s to my best friend who has her lil ray of sunshine shine through every dark cloud. This is for my best friend who doesn’t judge and that’s rare as fuck these days. This is for my best friend who spreads love and kindness and can spread it faster than COVID. You’ve taught me how to love selflessly. I’m proud of you and I love you more than you know. You are the definition of what a best friend is all about. You’re the hope I’ve always needed. So for that, I thank you, I love you, and I can’t wait to see what’s next.

friendship
2

About the Creator

B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.