Humans logo

Lock Down Lovers

Reality Show Script -

By Stacey ParviainenPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
Like

Lock Down Lovers -

Stacey Parviainen

Act 1 –

Scene 1-Intro

FADE IN -Audience are greeted with an OTT Reality Show Intro (MUSIC ETC)-

HOST

FULL FRONTAL SCREEN

HELLO, Alyssa Roberts here but you already knew that right! Welcome to Lock Down Lovers – Where we watched Desperate people date in desperate times. WOW! What a time that was – Being Locked Down for 2 months straight and only being allowed to leave to go to the grocery stores. How did we all not go crazy, right? Although I am pretty sure some did...Did you see the sight of some going to the Grocery stores? In their Ugg boots and PJ’s. I don’t think some people showered for the whole two months..Ew!

Anyways, you get the point. I mean two months with nothing to do...Well not exactly nothing (Smirks)...You know a whooping 19,124,913 of viewers tuned in to us daily! That is right! That is a crazy amount – That is 75% of the nation tuning in every night to watch me – I mean us. We honestly are so Thankful to you folks at home – I hope you are all surviving without us and not having too many withdrawals. But if you are missing your fix then don’t worry because we are here to give you a fix one last time and of course announce our Winner who you voted most Loveable! That’s right we are back for our seasons REUNION SPECIAL!

So where did it all begin?

Oh, that is right...

You see we worked hard and searched the nation to bring you the biggest desperados so let's see them...

-Audition Tapes-

Clara Johnson- Full Frontal Screen

Hi, I am Clara Johnson, 23...About me...Hmm Well I am a hopeless romantic I guess, I believe that there is my soul mate out there – You know, My Prince Charming... My friends always say I am too sweet for my own good but that’s just the way I am. I always put others first and sometimes people take that for granted. Just like well. My Ex and best friend. You see I have only had one boyfriend my whole life. We were childhood sweethearts together since we were 15...Life was perfect –I thought I was living a fairytale with my prince charming until I found my boyfriend and best friend in bed together...But you know I do not want that to be the focus on my story because now I am out there finding myself and now I have the opportunity to find some real love out there! The love I deserve! I am ready!

Hannah Perkins - Full Frontal Screen

Hi, I am Hannah – Just Hannah for all you need to know. I do not feel comfortable disclosing certain information on Television. I work at a book café and hate people who are noisy, smelly, have bad manners, talk too much, breathe heavily and who just annoy me. Hmm... My friends say I am picky, and I am going to be one big loner for the rest of my life. But like I would rather be alone then be annoyed and 99.9% of the human population annoy

me. So here is hoping you can find that .01% out there somewhere... I am never going to find someone am I?

Alex Ryan - Full Frontal Screen

Sup, I am Alex Ryan, but you can just call me Smooth! Ha! I am just kidding!I am 22, I work in Hardware Sales. My friends call me a major flirt! But I don’t know I just call it being friendly..People also say I have a commitment problem. So here I am committing to this to stick it to them! SEE JOSH THIS IS FOR YOU! I hope to meet some hot chick, but she can’t be jealous. My ex was so jealous. I mean I did cheat on her yeah but like still. If she wasn’t suffocating me all the time, I wouldn’t have felt the need to cheat... (Gets serious) Look, this probably makes me sound like a Jerk. I swear I am not I genuinely do want to find someone who won't freak me out or nag me and who I can share my life with..Is that too much to ask?

Sophia Hill - Full Frontal Screen

Hey, I am Sophia Hill and I am CRAZY – HA! Just Kidding. Well Maybe I am a lil...but the best ones are always a little crazy right! I have been single for like 7 months and 3 days now..Not that I am counting. My ex is a total DOUCHEBAG – You see It was legit like Legally Blonde – You know the movie! He asked me for a weekend away , So I thought this is it he is going to ask me to marry him – I get my hair done , My nails and eyelashes done and what does he do...BREAK UP WITH ME..WHEN WE HAVE TO SHARE A HOTEL TOGETHER AWAY! What an IDIOT! I am totally over him now...Sort of..I mean yeah, I still stalk him at work and his social media but that’s normal right? anyways that is not the point! The point is I am here to move on from him and start a new life with someone else and all whilst looking fabulous! Just Please Keep me away from the womanizing bad boys- I seem to have a thing for them!

James McDonald- Full Frontal Screen

J A M E S... JAMES (As if pronouncing something hard) ...I grew up an only child so am used to being alone. I didn’t really have many friends at school either, so It was just me and my parents growing up but now It is just me... I lost my parents 2 years ago. Yeah it was a tragic accident. I was walking down the

street and tripped over a bush...I do that a lot...and well I lost the piece of paper with their phone number and new address and that is it...GONE. I am always losing stuff... (Shakes Head then gets serious) But I do know this. If I was to find someone to love me, I would not lose her! I would never let her go!

(Pulls out a saltshaker) My peers at work think I am weird because I am very superstitious...(Throws salt over shoulder) That is for good luck...So Wish me luck!

HOST –

-Full Frontal Screen-

Wow I forgot how desperate and pathetic they all seemed. Who was your favorite? Mine is – Not telling! (Blushes) HA!

So, as I was saying...We searched high and low. Found the desperados and we set up a matchmaking software with full scientific algorithms to find the best matches.

We then let them virtually date from their own lounge rooms with the whole of Australia tuning in before they made the massive decision. WHO WOULD THEY LOCK DOWN WITH and the chance at winning a lifetime supply of toilet paper? (Excited)You heard me! That is right! No more fighting in Coles or being restricted...Toilet Paper delivered right to your door!

Let's see how they took that news...

-Brady Brunch Screen-

-Voice Over -

Hello Lovers, Welcome to Lock Down Lovers – You have all succeeded your auditions and are the final 5 – Congrats your chances of winning a lifetime supply of toilet paper are getting closer.

Firstly, Thank-You for all for volunteering to tryout our latest matchmaking software. We will commence by entering you into a virtual dating room with your dating candidates –

Remember you have only Two weeks to find somebody who you will be spending 2 months with…That is 87,600 minutes, 1460 hours and 60 days–

Tick Tock…

(Full frontal of each character to see their reactions)

Dialogue from Actors

Alex Ryan

Candidates hey? Meaning I get to date more than one woman... Nice - Bring it on Ladies

Sophia Hill

Virtual dating...What? Is that it? I thought I signed up for a reality show. How am I supposed to build my following and retail business by dating virtually? Oh, wait you aren’t going to show this are you?

James McDonald

87,600 minutes...I could make (thinking/Calculating in head) 3 model planes in that time. Do you think they would mind if I was making them whilst on the date?

Clara Johnson

Oh My, I have read about moments like this where the princess awaits her prince charming. And now I am awaiting mine. I am ready for you dark knight.

Hannah Perkins

I doubt they are going to find someone for me...Although I wouldn’t mind the toilet paper. Would mean I wouldn’t have to leave the house as much.... I am already regretting this just as I regretted stealing that lip smacker when I was 12.

Host

Wow and they are single? I wonder why. I wish them luck they are going to need it. But lucky for us we get it easy all we get to do is eavesdrop and then I get to report the tea straight to you! For you boomers out there – Tea is another word for Goss but like so 2020.

Scene 2 – Australia is watching

Let's go over and see some of the juicy interactions that took place between our candidates like when we told them Australia will be watching these dates...

(Pretends to take a sip of tea)

-Voice Over -

Hello Lovers, we forgot to tell you a teeny tiny detail. Australia will be tuning in during Lock Down to watch all your dates, Your Successes, Your failures and your decisions. Hope you don’t mind And If you have a problem. Too Late Now ... You should have read your contract properly! Good Luck...

Hannah Perkins

This is not happening. It just is not. I am so private I refused to share my last name and now I must share my dating experiences on live television...I will not let them win and trust me I am stubborn...Where's my lawyer...

Clara Johnson

Oh My, this is a little exciting. I hope I get to go on a date with that Alex guy he is SOOO hot! OMG did everyone in Australia just hear me call a guy hot? (Giggles to self)

Alex Ryan

Well at least if I don’t find a chick here, I will find one outside...Hey Australia (winks to camera) Totally Kidding...

Sophia Hill

Oh, my Alex is so funny! I feel myself just being so drawn to him. Sorry, you asked me how I feel about Australia watching me? Well I am thrilled...Duh! My Instagram is S O P... - (Cuts to James)

James McDonald

All of Australia? Hopefully now my mother and father will find me! Hey Mum Hey Dad (Right up to camera/As close as possible) – Can you hear me?

HOST

Wow...They certainly were not expecting that! Just like the many twists and turns that will come after the ad break. Do not go anywhere – Lock Down Lovers, Desperate People Desperate times will return soon. SPLIT INTO NEXT SHOW (ENABLED OR JIC)

LDL – SHOWING 2

Scene 3 – Elimination Round

HOST

Welcome Back to Lock Down Lovers where Love is delivered live! For those who just joined us - We are here at the reunion show and the contestants had just found out that Australia was watching...Let's see how they handled the elimination round...

-Voice Over-

Hello Lovers, as you are aware 5 is an odd number and as such you will need to nominate and evict a potential lover. Keep in mind that you will be ruining someone's chance here at love and their chance of winning a lifetime supply of toilet paper. Choose wisely and mostly follow your heart.

Sophia Hill

Everyone can go except Alex & Me – Mrs. Sophia Ryan...Has a ring to it don’t you think...Ha! What? I have to vote...Hmm That Hannah chick can go she is always complaining...

Clara Johnson

Oh, I really do not want to evict anyone. Do I have to? I mean I just couldn’t hurt anyone's feelings. Can I vote for myself? No? Hmm...Well I won't vote for one of the boys – Especially not Alex (Blushes)...SOPHIA - Sorry!

Alex Ryan

Simple - Hannah – Bye Bye

Hannah Perkins

You know what – I don’t like any of these people – I vote me set me free please! What? I must vote for someone other than myself...Hmm Sophia – She is not here for the right reasons you can see right through it.

-Voice Over-

So that is 2 points for Hannah & 2 Points for Sophia. James the fate is in your hands.

James McDonald

This is so hard...Usually I am in the last two about to get benched...Please don’t hate me...But I must follow my heart and that means Sophia you will stay – I nominate Hannah.

Hannah

I can’t believe I even wasted my time to come on a reality show...You know I hate dating in 2020 – I would rather be alone then try fall in love over a computer – Bye – Doubt anyone will even notice I am gone anyway.

(As if responding to a producer)

What? Who do I want to win most Loveable? Well Clara – She is the most kindhearted and deserving!

HOST

So sad to see Hannah go...But WAIT...is that a LOVE TRIANGLE I see...Did both the Ladies say they want Alex Ryan? ...I personally don’t know why.I feel a heart break coming on. I shotgun James if nobody else takes him. He is just so loveable and has so much love to give if someone would give him a chance – I understand you James. (Getting carried away) Why won't someone just love me (realizes what she said) ...I mean you! - Can we cut to a break? (Frazzled)

SPLIT INTO NEXT SHOW (ENABLED OR JIC)

Scene 4 – Decision Time (Brady Bunch Like Screen)

Welcome Back! Here we are Pre-Lock Down Decision time...What a time I was so nervous I almost couldn’t watch but I had too. You know hosting and all. (Laughs at own joke)

-Voice Over-

Hello Lovers, Now is the time to choose your candidate to spend Lock Down with. If you are successful you will not only go home with a full heart but also the chance of winning a lifetime supply of toilet paper.

Through the Lock Down Period the Australian Public will be tuning in to watch your pre-Lock Down Dating experiences and

placing votes for the most Loveable candidate. At the reunion show we will welcome you back to hear about your time in Lockdown and reveal our winner.

Happy Deciding...

Alex please place your vote for your Lock Down Lover... A candidate with multiple votes can choose their chosen suitor.

Alex

(Looks at both girls...Both girls looking so happy as if they both know they are going to be chosen - This can be done with 3 screens being seen)

I hate commitment man...This is so much pressure. But it has got to be Clara.

Clara

Oh my, me? This must be what Cinderella felt like when she was chosen to dance at the ball. Thank You Alex! I will cherish your choice forever.

Alex

Forever? (Looking scared)...Oh boy

Clara

(Ignoring Alex) I choose you too Snookums!

Sophia

(Sudden Jealous outburst)

Oh yeah, Well I choose James McDonald...

-Voice Over-

Sophia, it was not your time to vote. However, I can see we have two couples. If you agree James and Clara? then we can announce our two Lock Down Lovers Couples...

(Clara nods)

James

Do I agree? The pretty girl chose me...The pretty girl chose me..,I agree times a million. This is going to be so great Sophia; we can make model planes together and we can camp in our lounge room. I am so excited this is going to be so much fun.

Sophia

(Badly Faking & obviously disappointed)

Oh, I can't wait...

Scene 5 – Reunion – Winner & Reveal

-Back to Full Screen on Host-

Host

So there we have it , the last time we saw the couples was in this moment. Are you ready for me to bring them back so we can see how they went together through Lock Down and announce our Most Loveable Candidate?

Without further ado – I bring to you the cast of Lock Down Lovers

(Brady Brunch Screen – Live interviewing)

Welcome Back Lovers!

Wow where to start? Let's Start with the one who got away.Hannah, how was your lockdown experience alone?

Hannah

It was amazing Actually, I got to do some virtual museum tours, didn’t have to work so got some time to myself to finally finish those novels with nobody bothering me and when loneliness hit I was lucky to have Clara there to zoom me. – We have become such good friends. The show wasn’t a complete waste of time Afterall.

(Clara blows a kiss and smiles)

Host

Well I am glad you enjoyed yourself and found the show worthwhile. What about you James & Sophia! How was Lock Down?

James

It was great we had the best time! I would work on my model planes and Sophia would use my credit card and buy lots of clothes online and although I now have to sell my favorite Model Plane Collection to pay it back – Seeing her face light up when her parcel arrives makes it all worth it.

(Sophia looks embarrassed)

Sophia

(Defensive)

Yeah, well what’s a girl to do? I like shopping

Host

I get it, I Love shopping too! Now let's check in on our cute love birds...Clara & Alex – How was your lock down experience together for 2 whole months?

(Sophia rolls her eyes)

Silence until finally Clara speaks

Clara

Well, we had some ups and downs...Um...I did imagine we would do more together by living in the same house, but he just seemed a bit distracted a lot and well... (Starts to cry - Leaves camera)

(Sophia smirks)

Host

Oh No, Alex did you wish to weigh in?

Alex

Well, look it is simple – The girl is nice and all, but she is needy. I need my space and she just wanted my attention all the time. I mean living in a house for 2 months you start to feel claustrophobic but living 2 minutes with HER and CLAUSTROPHOBIC...

(Clara comes back)

Sophia

Do you want to tell them the real reason or should I Alex?

Alex

Sophia!...

Host

What is this? Tell Tell – Folks I feel some tea coming (Pretends to sip some tea)

Sophia

Alex. Tell them..

Silence

Fine I will tell them then (Reading text messages) I made the worst mistake choosing Clara. I should have chosen you Sophia! When this show is over – Want to hook up?

(James is shocked and speechless)

Clara

What!

(Clara leaves again Upset)

Alex

Clara – I am sorry – I...

Sophia

Alex! Hello! Why are you even worried about her – You chose me remember.

Alex

Did you have to do that now on live television?..You hurt her

Sophia

She will be fine. Just as we are right...FINE..

*Both Alex & Sophia fake a smile*

Host

(Sarcastic)

Woah, Well I am sure you will be very happy together Alex & Sophia...

Well. Although some of our lovers have not had the Happily Ever After they have hoped for, we still must name the Most Loveable.

(Grabs an Envelope)

Australia You have voted and Lock Down Lovers Most Loveable IS...

JAMES MCDONALD!

But we already knew that! You Loveable Lover you!

James

What? (Still Speechless & begins to ramble)

This is just all so much. One Minute, I had Sophia. Now I don’t. Now I am most loveable. And Wait. The Toilet Paper...I won!

Thank You! I am so excited to receive my lifetime supply of toilet paper. (Turns sad) I just wish I would have someone to share it with.

Host

Well James, I will always be happy to come over and steal some for a wipe!

James

(Giggles and snorts)Are you asking me on a date?

Host

(Blushes) Maybe...

(Realizes she is still on camera)

(Recovers) Well there you have its Australia! Lock Down Lovers is finished for the year – But we will be back next year and are taking applications now! So, if you are desperate for love or just for toilet paper then jump onto Iamdesperate.com and apply for the show where desperate people date in desperate times! The one and only LOCK DOWN LOVERS! Outro -

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Stacey Parviainen

Owner of Dramatize Me - Playwright , Actor , Copywriter , Dramaturg , Director & Educator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.