Humans logo

Living with My Best Friend

It Sucked Sometimes, but It Was Cool Overall

By Kaelyn DibblePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let’s see. Living with your best friend may seem enticing, but it is not all that it is cracked up to be. Just as a quick note: Overall, living with my “bestie” was not bad, and I quite enjoyed it. The family that I lived with was quite generous letting me live there and all. Luckily for me, they also liked me before I lived with them, and somehow did not hate me during or after my time staying there. I was really worried that they would kick me out, because my family all liked to tell me how much of a mess I am and how I pretty well leave path of destruction and trash everywhere I go. However, I think that these comments, maybe true but also slightly hurtful, helped me become a good tenant. I constantly watched myself, and picks up the messes I left. Occasionally I am sure I forgot some things, but I tried my best.

The problem that arises is that you are simply too close to one another. She and I lived in the basement and shared the same walls, obviously meaning that her room and my room were right next door. This was good for some things, like if either one of us was not feeling too great, or we were lonely, we could just knock on each other's door and hang out, or talk through hard things. But if I wanted to leave early in the morning or come home late, she woke up, or vice versa. That part was pretty annoying, because I was always out late, and she always left early in the morning on the weekends for work.

Since I did not live in my own house or with my family, I could not have any friends over without it being discussed in advanced. This was annoying, just because 90 percent of the time, I have people over on a whim and do not really preplan when people come over. Now that I live in my own place, I bring people whenever without any notice to any one else, and it is great. That freedom is wonderful. I despise being alone, and, living with my best friend, I was only ever alone and then was with her for a bit, and then I was alone again. I hated that I could not really have people over in those timeframes.

The other thing was that we were kind of forced to hang out when we were both bored, so we ran out of ideas for things to do that did not cost much money, really fast. Living together also meant we saw the times when we were not doing too hot, like when we were way too tired to really even think about talking to other people, or other glorious moments, like when I needed to put my contacts in or I was going to be late to work but I could not, because she was having her daily "morning poop." I was just thankful I had my mirror in my bedroom, so that I could get my makeup done without being plowed down, so that SOMEONE could poo.

In the end, I only lived there for about three weeks—But that was enough for both of us. Trust me when I say that we were both glad to have a little space back to ourselves. If you want to live with your best friend, I think you should go for it. I only have one tip: MAKE SURE YOU ARE GIVING EACH OTHER PLENTY OF SPACE. I am the kind of person that thrives with social interaction, but being with only one person for too long can become a challenge. I am sure plenty of you with siblings can relate to this. Each person's situation is different, and if you would rather live with your best friend than a random stranger, then GO FOR IT. Just make sure you respect boundaries, and give yourself and the other person enough room to breathe.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Kaelyn Dibble

I have a lot of opinions. If you would like additional information on anything please feel free to DM me on instagram: https.dibbs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.