Humans logo

Living in Sweden is a delight and torture at the same time.

Swedes value work and are humble. Here people don't treat you differently if you work in cleaning for example. They will treat you differently if they think you are lazy and enjoy living on government aid.

By Georgenes MedeirosPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Strengths:

Social inequality here is much lower compared to Brazil, for example. Even working at the supermarket you manage to have a decent life, probably a nice house and a popular car.

Swedes value work and are humble. Here people don't treat you differently if you work in cleaning for example. They will treat you differently if they think you are lazy and enjoy living on government aid.

Still talking about humility, people here don't like ostentation. My girlfriend has a friend who is extremely wealthy, with a fortune of around 20–30 million dollars. He doesn't have a maid in his house, he doesn't wear expensive brand clothes and he paints his house himself.

In Sweden you pay very high taxes but nobody complains. Do you know why? Because here taxes are really used to help society. For example, now with the crisis caused by the corona virus, many people are at home working only two or three times a week. But they continue to receive full salary, because the government is paying.

In Sweden people are punctual and have their say. In Brazil, I'm tired of scheduling something with friends and at the last minute they cancel the appointment or are late for an hour, for example. Here people value each other's time.

In Sweden if you get sick you just have to call your boss and let them know. You only need to bring a medical certificate if you stay at home for more than 7 days. Do you know why this works here? Because here you don't have the famous Brazilian way. Here people are not going to call the boss and say they are sick and then go to the beach, for example.

In Sweden maternity/paternity leave lasts for more than one year and can be split between the father and mother as they see fit. In Sweden people are discreet and are unlikely to comment on someone's appearance. In Brazil people are clueless and the first thing they say when they meet you is "wow, you gained weight/lost weight". I'm also short and I always heard something related to my height in Brazil, and most Brazilian women are short too. Here most of the women are super tall but even so I never heard anything related to my height because people are educated here.

Here I don't hear people talking loudly in the street, making shacks or listening to super loud music. Here in Sweden I'm not afraid to walk down the street using my cell phone because I know someone won't come and take it from my hand. Oh and here I'm not afraid of two guys on a motorcycle either. In Sweden the streets are clean.

Negative points:

People are closed off so it's very difficult to make new friends.

The Swedish language is very difficult to learn and if you don't know it, your life is not going anywhere. To get even basic jobs you need some kind of technical course, a driver's license and probably fluent English, in addition to Swedish, of course.

The Swedish government even levies tax if you have a television or computer at home.

Taking care of teeth here is very expensive and dentists are not as good as those in Brazil.

The doctors here are very naturalistic and always say that everything is solved by drinking water and walking in the forest.

The food here is good but the Brazilian food is much better. I really miss the rice, beans and steak.

The weather here most of the year is terrible. Between October and February I almost went into depression with the dark, cold and gray days.

The beaches here are pretty dull and don't come close to the northeastern beaches, for example.

My friends and family don't live here. In my opinion this is the most negative point of living in Sweden. I'm far from everyone I love and I miss the welcome I had in Brazil.

Finally, I want to say that I love Brazil and Sweden very much so I hope no one feels offended. Both countries have good and bad things. Brazil is wonderful, what kills is corruption, criminality and social inequality.

I hope you enjoyed.

Does anyone live in Sweden? I await the comments

Until the next story.

travel
1

About the Creator

Georgenes Medeiros

53 years old, divorced, graduated in Business Administration, writer, translator, available for new challenges.

Despite everything still in search of a soul mate.

If it's you call me....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.