Humans logo

List of Words/Phrases to Express Emotions

My Colorful Ways to Describe Emotions

By Brin J.Published about a year ago 12 min read
2
josh-felise *unsplash*

Have you ever felt frustrated because you couldn't think of a creative emotional reaction for your character? Or maybe you noticed you need to add more feeling to your scene in order to really connect with your readers. It's not just you. We've all been there. I, too, have suffered and thus become discouraged when a scene lacks the evocative ingredients that I'm trying to enunciate.

To rectify this challenge, I've been compiling notes of better ways to improve the emotional elements in my stories. I thought I'd share my many colorful strings of expressions with my Vocal community, hoping that it reaches those who are in need of them.

Firstly, there are two ways to describe a targeted emotion in writing; internally, and externally. I usually try to balance my usage of the two evenly, so I'm not constantly favoring one over the other. This makes the story more varied, interesting, and avoids repetition. It also makes the text sound a little more compelling than just saying "she felt angry". My examples can work for any character's POV if it's worded right ;).

Here's my extensive Masterlist of ways to describe emotions:

  • Happy/Excitement: Internal

-elation bloomed in my chest

-my heart skipped with glee

-euphoria thrums throughout my bloodstream

-a sense satisfaction filled me

-I fell into the sweetest oblivion I've ever known

-a wave of comfort embraced me

-remeniscing the memories of how things used to be

-I felt lighter knowing

-it gave me a sense of peace

-exhilaration prompting me

-swept up in his nirvana

-filling me with optimism

-she wore an afterglow

-soaking up the bliss as though it were the sun

-floating on cloud nine

-she flaunts her high spirits

-kindling with delight

-a tingling sensation ignites in my gut

-my heart lept

-I was consumed with bliss

-I took joy in

-the taste of success sweetens my mood

-basking in my hard-earned accomplishments/conquest

-a pleasant reminder

-I welcomed the challenge

-relishing/savoring/cherishing the moment

-using my flawless charisma

-smug satisfaction radiates through me

-my blood was ablaze with ecstasy

  • Happy/Excitement: External

-her eyes widened in wonder

-her eyes lit up at the sight

-her eyes sparkled

-she had a dreamy look in her eyes

-his eyes brightened significantly

-his eyes held mine lovingly

-his eyes beheld mirth

-his eyes gleam with entertainment

-her eyes flash with triumph

-he winked playfully/teasingly

-my gaze slid to his like we were sharing a secret

-the fondness in her eyes denoted her true feelings

-amusement danced in her eyes

-the corner of his eyes crinkled as he laughed

-she smiled with her eyes

-the delighted gleam in his eyes

-the eager look he gave

-he arched an inquisitive brow

-she wagged her brows

-regarding me affectionately

-his admiration for him showed

-her appreciation was evident

-a victorious smile spread across my lips

-his lips twitched in amusement

-a blush filled my cheeks

-the corner of his mouth hooked into a smirk

-a mischievous/wide grin

-a smug/cocky/cheeky grin

-a boyish smirk

-his grin exposed both dimples

-his lips quirked

-bit down on a smile

-she beams proudly

-he grinned fiercely

-an inviting/warm smile

-a laugh bubbled up my throat

-a laugh burst free

-a chuckle ran through me

-giggling uncontrollably

-breaking out in a snickering fit

-he barked a laugh

-his laughter boomed

-a soft laugh escaped me

-a laugh burst free

-I snort in amusement

-she snorts derisively

-huffs a laugh

-she masks her laugh with a cough

-he clutched his middle as he laughed

-recovering from his laughter

-a breathy laugh

-she was breathless from her laughter

-his shoulder shook with silent laughter

-she covered her mouth to stifle a giggle

-he released a satisfied sigh

-she expelled a content sigh

-she groaned dramatically in relief

-she yelled her triumph

-she thrust her arm in the air in silent victory

-he roared in triumph

-she shouted as she celebrated

-she squealed in excitement

-she pranced around

-bouncing on the balls on his feet

-walked with a swagger

-she skipped

-there was a pep in her step

  • Anger/Dark Expressions: Internal

-fury built up my throat

-my blood steamed/boiled

-ire poured through me

-my hackles rose

-blinded by my fury

-fury burned in my core

-he seethes

-fury strikes me

-annoyance flares

-my anger is so visceral it squeezes my throat

-stewing in my acrimony

-fury making my pulse spike

-resentment flows through my veins

-I force back a wave of fury

-infuriated by her audacity

-animosity germinates like an infection

-a slice of irritation

-fury climbed its way up my throat like bile

-the taste of enmity settles on my tongue like ash

-rage clawed at my throat

-the sharp claws of betrayal sank into my stomach

-my thirst for violence

-my temper spiked

-fury slashes through me

-my blood crackled as I fumed

-kindling my outrage

-provoking my fury

-ire welled up inside my chest

-thirsting for revenge

-the overwhemling desire for vengance/violence

-I felt sick with bloodlust/madness

-tipping on the edge of bloodlust/violence

-swallowing back the rancor like it was poison

-the taste of enmity settles on my tongue like vomit

-my pent up resentment was boiling over

-anger pulsed through me

-the air thickened with tension

-my stomach twists with bitter resentment

-even my resentment bleeds

-his treachery brought on a violent urge

  • Anger/Dark Expression: External

-deranged/demented/crazed/manic look in his eyes

-shadows cast over his eyes

-his eyes/expression darkened unsettlingly

-an inhuman look in his eyes

-his eyes impossibly dark

-my gaze bored into his

-his eyes gleam with maliciousness

-I shot her a dirty look

-his disconcerting/murderous gaze

-his stare was sharp

-my steadfast gaze told her this was final

-shooting her a scathing glare

-his gaze sharpens

-giving him a venomous look

-wearing an intimidating glower

-leveling him with a withering leer

-his dark eyes brightened with hunger that had nothing to do with food

-I speared him with a dark look

-his lips pull into a cruel smile

-his face twists into a snarl

-his brows creased

-he scowled/glowered/glared/leered

-a scowl fixed in his face

-baring his teeth/fangs

-his upper lip peels back into a snarl

-his lips curl back

-his jaw ticks

-clenching his jaw/teeth/hands

-a sinners/devious smile

-sinister/cruel/villainous grin

-a cruel/dark/malicious laugh

-his laugh is vindictive

-his manic laughter

-her diabolical cackles echo

-she gave a bitter laugh

-a dark/disturbing chuckle

-his hardened expression grew more intense

-he wore a look of deranged amusement

-his expression was sullen

-his nostrils flared

-my face burns with rage

-his face reddens

-his breathing was hard

-her breaths came out harsh

-huffing with exasperation

-my nails bite into my palms

-she slams her first down

-his knucles whitened from his tight grip

-his hands balled into tight fists

-tears spill from my eyes as I fume

-he releases an indignant roar

-with a war/battle cry

-going into a frenzy

-he went off on a rampage

-he unleashed his wrath

-he made an upraor

-stalking back and forth

-she storms away

  • Pain: Internal

-crippled by an overwhelming amount of grief

-the blinding pain

-sheer agony rips through me

-frying my nerves

-a clawing ache of desperation

-her words slice right through the bone

-drowning in my misery

-searing agony erupts across my

-the pain gradually shifts into a numbing cold

-she braced for the pain

-a dull ache began to take form

-there was a flash of pain

-bringing a new dose of pain

-felt like pure agony

-the ache in my chest sharpens

-licking my wounds

-a twisting cramp in my heart

-bringing a searing pain to my

-my (body part) throbbed unbearably

-the unbearable ache in my

-ignoring the stabbing in my chest

-there was a twinge of pain

-I felt a sharp sting/cramp/prick

-a sudden discomfort

  • Pain: External
  • -screamed in agony

    -her face pinches in agony

    -she sucked in a sharp breath

    -a gasp of pain

-his gutteral cries

-clutching at her chest

-struggling to breathe

-every inhale was laborious

-the area on my skin is now angry and red

-whimpering from my sores

-my feet weep with each step I take

-straining my legs

-writhing/stumbling from the pain

-the overexertion made me weak

-disoriented by my head trauma

  • Surprise: Internal

-leaving me completely baffled

-made me pause

-a snap of clarity

-numbed into a daze

-my breath seized in my lungs

-stunned into silence

-my heart stutters to a halt

  • Surprise: External

-my mouth falls open

-my eyes widened

-his eyes bug out

-my eyes went round

-my brows rise

-brows shoot up

-his brows climbed

-his face goes stricken

-I stiffened

-a sharp inhale

-a startled gasp

-with a gasp of disbelief

-a breath of disbelief punches out of me

-she recoiled

-flinched like my words had struck her

-she jumped with alarm

-she swivled towards the sound

  • Fear/Anxiousness: Internal

-fear daggered into my heart

-my heart jolted inside my chest/in alarm

-my heart vaulted into my throat

-my heart racing a mile a minute

-my heart raced inside my chest like an olympian sprinter

-my heart seized

-sinking feeling in my gut

-panic coiled in my gut

-my insides twisted

-my stomach pitches/tosses

-my gut churned with nausua

-a sinking feeling in my gut

-a gnarl in my stomach

-worry/nerves ate away at my stomach

-my gut pitches and I nearly vomit

-fighting the turbulent nausea ensuing

-my stomach spasms sickeningly

-my stomach churns with unease/suspicion/wariness

-anxiety gnawing at my insides

-my insides wither

-unease wormed its way

-she felt a spurt of alarm

-icy touches of warning stroked my spine

-a chilling sensation skittered down my spine

-spine chilling dread overruns me

-dread struck me

-a cold sense of dread

-the air in my lungs got stuck there

-my chest tightens

-ice injects into my veins

-the burning in my blood instantly reverses to ice

-the warm blood in my veins turns cold

-my blood ran cold

-a cold chill unfurls inside me

-the breath in my lungs stole

-panic grips my throat/spine

-my heart reaching for my throat

-a scream climbs the back of my throat

-my throat gnarls into a tight knot

-I swallow my rising panic

-I begin to hyperventilate

-numbing me to the bone

-terror shreds my gut like razor wire

-a new level of horror was unlocked

-full-on panic-stricken

  • Fear/Anxiousness: External

-my spine stiffened

-frozen by my panic

-suppressing a shiver

-my legs trembled

-chewing my bottom lip

-pacing back and forth

-my vocal cords pinch from my screams

-I take a shaky inhale to force air into my lungs

-I feel my bladder threaten to loosen

-tremors rock through my body

-a convulsing shudder ruptures through me

-blood drains from my face

-I gape in horror

-searching the room with frantic eyes

  • Sad/Disappointed: Internal

-my insides withered and died

-crippled with an overwhelming amount of grief

-disappointment slices through me

-I sulk from the disconcerting

-feeling disspirited

-with a heavy heart

-a sense of loneliness

-grief taking a toll on my soul

-I'm sick with despair

-grief dragging me into its depths

-my heart cracks

-my chest squeezes

-an endless pit of hopelessness

-the abrasions on my soul steadily expand each day

-gradually eroding my soul

-a pang of remorse riochets around my heart

-afflictions on my soul leaving me torn

-feeling dispirited/broken

-crushed by a weight of remorse

-overcome by a wave of despare

  • Sad/Disappointed: External

-a tears slips free

-eyes brimming with tears

-my eyes stung with unshed tears

-tears prick in the back of my eyes

-she keened so loudly

-her catastrophic cries of devastation rang through the rain

-sobs wracked her body

-a sob escapes me

-I choke on a sob

-her shoulders shook as she sobbed

-he pulled at his hair as he wailed

-he dropped/sank to his knees

-I shook my head

-I nod somberly

-my shoulders sag in defeat

-with a resigned sigh

-expelling a heavy breath

-her solemn expression

-his face goes slack

-her face crumples in defeat

-with a crestfallen look

-a frown etched into his face

-my lower lip trembles

  • Flirtatious/Desire: Internal

-his tone dragged up a wave of lust

-sent tingles to my core

-his hot temper was arousing

-the air between us filled with static

-the deep timbre of his voice had my insides melting

-a heat wave rode throughout my body

-heat simmered down my spine

-my stomach dips from his vulgar implication

-needing to soothe the ache in my core

-stroking my spine like a lover's caress

-lust infuses in my blood

-small sparks dance beneath my flesh

-desire for him settled under my skin

-a white-hot sensation flowed through me

-setting my blood aflame

-heating my blood on a low simmer

-an insatiable desire took hold

  • Flirtatious/Desire: External

-the heated look/expression he gave

-he wore a feverish expression

-his eyes drank me in

-beckoning him with a single look

-hungry gaze raked up my body

-his pupils dilated/flared

-my mouth parched

-my mouth watered

-I bit my lip suggestively

-a breathy moan

-panting heavily

-my breathing stutters

-my muscles squeezed with need

-his groan of need undid me

-he wore a feverish expression

-his throat bobs

-sporting a roguish grin

-swallowing around a thick tongue

  • Other Negative Emotions: Internal

-guilt/regret soured in my mouth

-his condescending remark reduced me to ash

-shame sank its claws in my stomach

-sickness churns in my gut

-a seed of doubt took root and began to sprout

-a flash of annoyance speared through me

-regret knotted in my stomach

-my temple throbs with signs of a headache

-acid clung to the back of my throat with the lie

-my swallow was rough

-bombarded with a rush of survivor's guilt

-guilt clogs the back of my throat

-regret clings to my throat

-my spirit deflates

  • Other Negative Emotions: External

-I claw at my hair

-I roll my jaw

-dragging my hand down my face

-her face pulls into a grimace

-shoulders stiff with tension

-with a surly expression

-I stare bleakly

-the haunted look in her eyes

-I shrank into myself

-I frown to myself

-exasperation overwhelms me

  • Other Positive Emotions: Internal

-my interest piqued

-her success inspired me

-curiosity won out all my other emotions

-the inquisitive side of me demanded more

  • Other Positive Emotions: External

-his gaze portrayed awe

-her inviting smile

-a knowing glint in his eye

-she nods in approval/affirmation/agreement

-he dips his head out of respect

  • Neutral Emotions: Internal

-my ambivalence about returning

-overcome with a wave of exhaustion

-I had mixed emotions about whether

-I was conflicted about the results

-adrenaline gradually surges in my veins

-using a thread of indifference

-the impact of his jab was blunted from years of conditioning

-her pleas broke past my defenses and nagged at my conscience

  • Neutral Emotions: External

-with an exaggerated sigh

-he gave a lazy blink

-her stony gaze slid to mine

-with glazed eyes

-his vacant stare

-her smile doesn't reach her eyes

-I pry open my eyes

-he rubs his exhausted eyes

-her expression was bland/passive/indifferent

-I drag my feet

-relaxing/schooling my features

-her reaction was jaded

-each step comes with a sense of desperation

-she shrugged nonchalantly

-my skin crawls

-my footsteps falter

-I blow out a weary sigh

-he shifts uncomfortably

I hope this list helps you with fresh ideas for your content, and if anyone wants to add their own creative insights, feel free to drop them in the comments below. :)

Thank you!

literaturelistadvice
2

About the Creator

Brin J.

I never believed the sky is the limit, therefore my passions are expansive. My interest in writing stemmed from poetry but my heart lead me to Sci-Fi Fantasy. Consequently, my stories are plot-driven with splashes of evocative elements.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was a wonderfully put together list of so many helpful ideas!! I loved this so much and hope to put some of these to use in my next stories. Great work, Brin!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.