Humans logo

Limited Screen Time For Adults

It works for kids. Why not try it.

By Julia AlfredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Screen time limitation has been a major discipline parents have been incorporating into their children's daily schedules and routines. It is major assist in balancing their virtual time with real time. Back in our days, it would be the TV and our parents would either yell at us to shut the TV off or not TV after certain hours. But back then, if you didn't own a DVD player or cable then you were left to watch the local channels which if they didn't have anything good on we would simply shut the TV off voluntarily.

Now with everything becoming smart, we can all agree that the image of bent heads with eyes glued to screens has become our reality. We're using these devices for everything, from shopping to communicating. Playing games, watching movies and videos. Writing on Vocal. We end up getting so caught up, sometimes when we do decide to look up, hours have passed and the movie on the actual TV has ended. Or God forbid, our attention is ripped away by the screaming fire alarm or shouting partner, friend or parent complaining about how long they've been calling your name.

I try my best to limit my screen time during the day and to be quite fair it is manageable since during the day is my busiest and that's practically everyone but I really do have control which I am proud of. However, for years dating back to my University days I have been a night owl. I could be exhausted from a long day but as soon as the house goes quiet, my brain decides to throw a party for all the thoughts I probably shut out during the day.

I read and write but I find these are the times I crave my phone. I end up following up with people and end up in lengthy conversations that should have happened earlier but I am now deciding to dedicate my time to my phone. I'm on Youtube and Spotify. Scrolling through Amazon and fashion websites. The worst is being stuck on Tik Tok viral video compilations because before I know it, it's 3AM and I'm panicking because my alarm goes off in five hours and I have had zero rest. I deleted the pesky App but now people have found ways to make money on Youtube by compiling these videos into half an hour videos for convenience.

This is noted to be my biggest problem when it comes to sleep and the only plan I could come up with was limiting my screen time. I don't believe I have zero control to the point that I need to download an App to shut my phone off after a certain time. I've decided to set an alarm which will work kind of the same way. Just like dogs are trained to expect a treat for completing commands, I think I can train myself to treat myself to a good night's rest when I hear the beautiful wind chimes alarm that I have set to go off at specific hours in the evenings, particularly during the week. I have even set one prior which gives me a heads up that I need to wrap up whatever I am working on because the official command will be shortly along.

I believe that once I have set this rhythm in motion, just as I wake before my alarm most mornings, I would generally be ready for bed by the hours I have been setting throughout the week.

I would like to take credit for this idea but I owe it to the fur babies in my life.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Julia Alfred

I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

Visit Cathartic Whispers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.