Humans logo

Letter

To My Best Friend

By Lindsey CooperPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

To my dearest best friend in the whole world:

This letter is to remind you of your worth and how very much you are loved. From when we were nothing but silly teenage goofballs, you were my person to hold me up. My person to laugh with. My person to cry with. You were and still are a very important person in my life.

You have gone through many things, a few with me by your side, and quite a few without me by your side. I'm sorry for those instances. I should have been by your side for those. I should have held your hand when you experienced horrible things. I should have laughed and cheered when you triumphed to become the amazing person you are.

As we've gotten older, life has gotten in our way. It doesn't help that you are an entire country-length away. But today...we have Skype, FaceTime, and texting. I promise to you that I will always be there for you when you need it. But like the distance between us, there's a lot keeping me from knowing what's going on, so I need you to tell me when you need me. As much as I'd like to say that I can feel when you're in trouble, that only works half the time and the other half, I'm driving myself insane.

I want to make sure you understand just how much you are valued by those you surround yourself with. I think it's because of you that I have been able to make such an amazing support group for myself here. You always made it clear that if someone didn't want to be friends with who you were, that you didn't need them. You gave me the strength to stop folding to other peoples' wills and be myself. I keep thinking about how crazy our worlds are, especially yours. You happen to be the only person who I have to play the "where in the world is my best friend" game with. There's always a possibility you've wandered off into a different country for an exciting adventure and I'll just have to wait until you come back into cell phone service for me to reach you. This aspect of your life is enchanting to me. You are so good at just flowing with the current of life. I think that might be while you're so at home at the ocean.

There will always be other friends, boyfriends, maybe husbands one day, maybe kids one day, but you will forever be my soulmate. You are the person fate chose for me to be able to rely on no matter what. You are the person with the pink starbursts who understand my rudeness and valued the fact that I am a legit crazy person.

Besides being crazy yourself, you are a spectacular human. You take on the world and value that everyone has a little crazy in them and that makes the world go around. You feel compassion and understand when someone is hurting. You genuinely strive to make those around you feel better and more at ease. I honestly think you were made to do what you're doing. Whenever I get to see you, I immediately feel a sense of calm come over me. You are my zen in the world of nonstop insanity. There is no one in this whole world who has been with me like you have. From multiple countries, many summer vacations, surfing sessions, concerts, stupid decisions, fountain swimming, beer drinking, sunbathing, and many many more moments that make up our beautiful life, you will always have a piece of my heart.

Thank you for always being you. And thank you for showing me how to be my best self, even when I feel like I've lost my mind.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Lindsey Cooper

I am a southern California native who just loves writing. I find that the more I write, the better I feel. One day, I would love to write for a living... one day... :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.