Humans logo

Legendary Short Stories

By Legend Gilchrist

By Legend GilchristPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Legendary Short Stories
Photo by Fabrizio Verrecchia on Unsplash

Try a little tenderness...

She may be weary. He may be weary. Many people feel that way; especially, the forlorn and desolate at heart. I am that kind of person and maybe you are too. We mope around and hope for a little tenderness. And those of us who have nobody but ourselves look into our lonely mirrors and wonder when that special person is going to come into their lives and make everything better, when that person will hold our precious hands, when that person will hold us close, when they will gently kiss us and tell us that they love us, when that person will uplift our restless souls and try a little tenderness.

So I sit on the deserted dock of my abandoned bay, all alone thinking that things will never, ever, ever change and things will always remain the same. All I can see is that I am unaccompanied in a world of pairs, couples, and happiness that eludes us. I say to that woman that I pray for, "Hello? Are you out there? Will you be with me forevermore?"

Those of us who feel the way I do comfort ourselves as best as we can. We wander from place to place searching for the elusive love we so desperately desire. We cope in manners either good or bad, wise or foolish, impatiently or calmly. The better of us search out positive venues and paths to comfort us. The weaker of us choose options that drag us into all manner of evilness and addiction. We share the same goal, however: to find love and acceptance. To find a little tenderness.

Oh family member, oh good friend of old whom I haven't heard from in ages, oh soul singer of classic fame, oh counselor, oh holy man or holy woman, oh shaman, oh wise stranger: Where are you to advise me at this difficult time? I seek your wisdom and approval. Please come to my aid and rescue and show me a little tenderness.

Some call what I am experiencing, and others, as well, "the blues": a desire for a better life, for more contentment, joy, and happiness. Yes, this is what I want but I want to be with you and heal our blues together, whomever you are. I know you are out there somewhere waiting to meet me too. I know you desire to hold my hand, be close to me, to love me, to kiss me, to make love with me, to show me a little tenderness and have me return the favor. After all has been said and done, we both want to share a little tenderness.

Surely, I am missing something? Truly, I AM missing something. I look up and see how the Sun shines brightly and how the day is fair and pleasant. Why haven't I noticed that before? Where did I go wrong? I think about this question for several moments. And think. And think. And think.

Yes, that special woman is out there, I just haven't met her yet. She is waiting for me, also. Waiting to smile at me and say, "I finally found you!" And I will say that to her at the very same time. What a wonderful moment that will be! We will have found each other, and, as a result, for once in our lives, we will find a little tenderness.

I know exactly what that will feel like as I have felt this way before. Food will taste better, music will sound better, colors will be more vibrant, scents will smell sweeter, beautiful words will flow from my mouth not only to my beloved but to all those around me. I will finally be transformed into a better man. My life will no longer be lonely. I will be happy and joyful, content and fulfilled, and all my longings will be satisfied. I will have found a little tenderness both to give and receive.

I know that my life will not magically be transformed at this time. I am not that foolish though at time I was. I have learned my lessons, lessons both cruel and happy, that have taken this broken soul and heart of min and have mended the broken pieces with solder of gold, pure, and untainted. I must put the lessons that I have learned over the course of my years into practice. I must learn how to try a little tenderness.

It will be at this time that I will truly appreciate the tenderness that will be offered to me by the woman who was meant for me. When this woman shows it to me I will truly be satisfied with and by it. And I will have the happy occasions to try a little true tenderness with the woman that will make me merry and delighted. Yes, I will try a little tenderness and I will not fail in doing so.

And so I consider these things thoughtfully and carefully making the most of this opportunity before me to prepare me to be the man who bestows tenderness to the lover of my soul, my heart, and my mind, the woman who will be my friend, my lover, and the love of my life.

I must prepare myself to be ready for her because she will need me to be the man of her dreams, the man who is always there for her, the man who cherishes and adores her, the man who loves her like no other man has or who could ever try, her friend, her over, the love of her life. And she will know without a doubt that when I try a little tenderness with her, the feeling will be true and real.

single
Like

About the Creator

Legend Gilchrist

I am a retired English teacher. I have been writing for 27 years. I live in the Palm Springs area of Southern California. I am a poet, writer, and novelist. I enjoy writing about rock music culture. I hope to write for Rolling Stone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.