Humans logo

Leading From The Heart

A story on the power in a name.

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

Aldrich, Amir, and Ericka wait impatiently in the restaurant for their brother Hadi.

Ericka glances at her watch, then said, “If he doesn’t get here in the next five minutes, I am leaving.”

“Give him more time, you are always in a hurry,” Aldrich scolds his little sister.

She smiles looking ahead. He follows her eyes, as Hadi walks towards their table.

“Sorry I am late,” he apologizes, pulling out a chair from around the table, sitting down beside his sister.

The waiter came and hands them several menus. They order, eat, joke around, and take their regular trips down memory lane. In the middle of their trip, Aldrich asks, “why did you want to see us?”

Silence touches everyone. Hadi pauses, then announces, “I am inviting all of you to the inauguration of President Wilson,” putting his napkin on the white table cloth.

Aldrich remarks, “You could have asked us over the phone.”

“I know, but it’s been a while since we get to see each other,” Hadi replies.

“I can’t speak for the rest, but my answer is no,” Aldrich refuses his brother’s request.

Turning to Ericka and Amir, he asks, “What about you two?”

Ericka nodded, while Amir was stuck in deep thought until his sister, reached out and pinched him on his right side.

“Ouch!” he cried out, massaging his side. “I was just teasing him. Sorry bro, but the answer is no.”

“I don’t understand,” Hadi complains. “I am the top advisor for the Prime Minister of our country. I am doing better than all of you.”

“You think so?” Aldrich asks, staring at his brother in annoyance.

“This invitation is an honor,” Hadi explains.

“For whom?” Aldrich demands.

“Come on guys, you are the only family I have. I need your support,” Hadi pleads. “Our country is on the verge of starting a new era. It’’s the first time in history we have a Prime Minister who has won three terms.”

“We don’t like your game,” Aldrich spoke for his sister and brother. “You have forgotten everything father taught us.”

“He said life is a game. And the one we must play is ‘follow the leader,’” Hadi quotes his late father’s words.

Nodding Aldrich said, “You did forget. He said we must play the game, not as a follower, but as a leader. That’s why he chose our names carefully. Aldrich, Amir, Hadi, and Ericka. He gave all of his children names that meant leader. Father believes that there is power in a name. He knew the cruelty and injustice of our world, so he gave us names we can be proud of, that will motivate us to do better and be better. Leaders don’t allow others to think for them. He wants us to think for ourselves.”

“So whom am I following?” Hadi demands. “I am the top advisor for a very powerful man. Plus father says sometimes we must lead from behind.”

“He also says the direction of our leadership is as important as how the people we are leading benefits from our actions.” Aldrich threw at his brother. “Our country is in chaos. You helped him to cheat and win a third term.”

“That cannot be proven,” Hadi defends himself. “What about all of you? What are you leading?”

“As a Drug Counselor, I help to save lives. I encourage and motivate. I help to keep families together. I help addicts to stay drug-free and give them hope,” Aldrich declares.

“I am a Registered Nurse, I heal, comfort, take care of the sick and help to save lives,” Ericka adds.

Amir said, “As a Police officer I help to fight crime and keep communities and families safe. I volunteer as a firefighter and a coach at the Community Center in my community. I am a basketball coach, thus helping at-risk children to stay out of trouble. I too, help to save lives.”

Aldrich refreshes his brother’s memory, “Father says we don’t have to be the leader of a country, but we must be the one leading our lives, not someone else. All three of us are leading our lives, and we chose to lead from our hearts.”

Hadi expresses in defiance, “Father often say, we can’t please everyone.”

“He also said that the satisfaction of one’s life is power. Are you satisfied with your life and the things you are doing?” Aldrich questions his brother.

“I am satisfied with my life!” Hadi protests.

“What about your conscience. Father often says our conscience must be satisfied with our actions, choices, and decisions too. With the chaos, our country is in and your advice that aids in the pain the people are going through. Is your conscience pleased with the current crisis our country is in?” Aldrich asks staring into his brother’s eyes.

Hadi rose, threw his napkin on the table, and storms out of the restaurant.

Life is a game. If you are playing ‘Follow The Leader,’ be the one leading. Don’t be the one following.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hoped you enjoyed it.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.