Humans logo

When Satan Falls Asleep Souls Are Release

A story on the power of love

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Kingston Harbor in Jamaica. Image by Annelise Lords

Carol Ennis woke up on her 50th birthday, feeling a lot older than she wanted to be. So, she decided to change her lifestyle. A life of drugs, alcoholism, prostitution, and crime was all she knew. She didn’t like it anymore. A visit to her doctor was the first step. Many tests later, Dr. Samuels told her that her kidneys were failing, and she will need a transplant quickly.

The waiting list for donors was longer than the line to hell, so she prayed to God for a miracle. Three months later, and with no answer from God, she went into renal failure. As she lay dying, a voice cried out to her: “This way dear,

Remember me, have no fear

Staring ahead a cloudy path, she saw a tall man with two horns in his head holding a fork.

“Hell, no!” she cried, turning to run.

Satan was quicker, he grabbed her by the neck and said:

Thought I was asleep’

This is no dream; your soul is mine to keep.

She turned facing him. Being a loyal disciple to him for more than thirty years, and knowing his likes, dislikes, and greed, determined not to go to hell, she started to fight for her life.

Carol said:

Look into my eyes, can you see my soul

Is it made of silver, or is it made of gold?

Satan stared into her eyes and was blinded by the light reflecting from the gold. His hold on her slacken and she runs saying:

You will lose this fight tonight

My god has won the gold

Because he is strong and in control

Satan chased her saying: Your soul belongs to me

I cannot let you flee

You are my evilest and best

And I love you more than the rest

I helped you cheat and steal

We are partners in crime

And I know I made you smile

Carol runs saying: Yea, we had good times

Destroying human lives

Spreading hatred and cruelty

Because it was our duty

But my God is real

And he gave me a better deal

Satan throws a ball of fire at her:

I gave you power and money

You bathe in milk and honey

Which you enjoyed every hour

Now you want to leave all that power

Carol ducks, speeding away as a flash of light appears ahead of her: God gave me a solution

And I made restitution

I mend all my destruction

Because I need resurrection

From this life of pain and affliction

I am tired of spreading hate

It’s time to close that gate

Our world needs lots of love

And that’s what my God gives from above

Satan racing after her throwing balls of fire at her, as she zigs and zags to get away:

You forget that hate is great,

That’s where you got your start

You know hatred has no heart

It spread faster than love,

You didn’t forget, did you my dove?

Carol ran dodging balls of fire racing towards the light:

I made a bad start

God knows I had a good heart

He has forgiven all my sins

And with him, I will begin

Love is now my duty

And I will share it with all its beauty

Because it’s a beautiful gift

To give to humanity

Go back to sleep

So, more souls can be released

Satan speeds up as Carol raced towards a brighter light:

I shouldn’t have fallen asleep

Your soul was mine to keep

Temptation is my game

You’ll pass my way again

Carol made a dash towards the light saying:

My God never sleeps

That’s why my soul he keeps

He’ll never leave my side

That’s why he is my guide

God has won the gold

The silver is yours to hold

You are the second best

You lost this race to the greatest

Satan stops as Carol escapes into the light and vows: “I’ll never sleep again.”

Carol awoke in the hospital, wires running in and out of her body. She felt sore and in pain, but alive, saying a silent prayer.

Glancing left and right as the machines screamed, someone said, “She’s awake.”

Dr. Samuels walked over to her bedside and said, “You got a miracle, someone walked into this hospital looking for you, to give you one of her kidneys. Forty years as a doctor and I have never seen anything like this,” nodding. “Would you like to meet her?”

Carol nodded.

The doctor pushed aside the partition to her left and a young lady laying on a hospital bed smiled at her. Carol's eyes widen, looking at the diamond-shaped birthmark on her forehead, memories buried deep within her surfaced along with tears, “Angel,” she said.

“You know her?” Doctor Samuels asked.

“Yes,” the young lady said. “She is my mother, she gave me up for adoption twenty-five years ago. I have been searching for her to thank her for giving me a better life than she had. I couldn’t let her die. Her life is her own and she fought Satan to keep it!”

Water was running out of every eye in the room.

“God did answer me,” Carol said in tears as someone pushed the beds closer and she touched her baby girl for the second time in twenty-five years.

Sometimes, miracles will find you.

When Satan falls asleep, souls are released from hell giving them a second chance. Thanks to Carol Ennis, Satan vows never to fall asleep again. Think he can stay awake forever?

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.