Humans logo

Kindness in Action.

Charlotte becomes a donor. By Kathleen J Merry

By Kathleen MerryPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Kindness in Action.
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Is this a joke?. Are you serious?. $20,000. You are giving me $20,000. Why?.

You Were There for Me when no one else was.

Yes, but that was different. You were in dire need.

And now, you are in need, I am in a position to help. Please do this for me. You are like my family.

I don't know what to say.

Say yes.

How did you even find out about this? I haven't mentioned it to anyone.

Please forgive me, I have to confess I found your little black book, and I read it. I am sorry it was laying on the floor. I wondered what it was. I opened it.

$20,000 is a lot of money.

Simon looked at Charlotte shaking his head, and smiled.

Charlotte, Charlotte, Charlotte. My dear girl. It is only money. Money that I am happy to give away. Especially for you. Did you count the cost when you gave me part of your body.

As I said, that is different.

Charlotte Jenkins was always happy to help people. She was a good soul. Charlotte was an only child; she had always wanted siblings, a family. She had grown up with her aunt after she had lost her parents in A sailing accident. Things were a bit tight at the moment financially. She ran a charming Guest House with her aunt. Generally, at this time of the year, the Inn would Be fully booked. But everywhere was in lockdown because Of a virus.

Simon Henderson and Charlotte Jenkins came from Two different worlds. Charlotte first met Simon through her friend Isabelle. Simon and Isabelle were cousins. Charlotte and Isabelle became friends when Isabelle, who had the local florist shop, started to supply the Inn with flowers.

The two young women quickly became friends taking their friendship from Business to socially. A few weeks before meeting Simon, Charlotte and Isabelle were having lunch together. Charlotte could see her friend was disturbed. Want to share?

Is It that obvious?

I think you are trying to put a bright face on things, but I sense something, Disturbing you.

Yes, I am upset. My favourite cousin is ill. He needs a new liver. He is a super guy. I offered, but I am not a match. I have always looked up to him. It breaks my heart to see him like this. He is the one People rely on.

What is he Like? As I said, people rely on him. He is always there for others. He is the CEO of. Henderson international. Have you Heard of them?

Who hasn't? I have seen Him on The cover Of magazines And the News. I must say for someone who needs a transplant; he looks fit and healthy.

It is not something he wants to be made public knowledge; it could affect his Business. He has got it down to an art when giving interviews. He rests up before them, so people will see him strong. It is all an act.

I see. How long has he needed a new liver?

Six months. And he's getting worse. You can have all the money in the world, but your health Is more important . He has given so much to charity and organisations, helping So many people, and now when he needs it, there is nothing.
It would not go away; what was wrong with her? Why could she not stop thinking about him? No matter how hard she tried, Simon Henderson was filling Her every thought. She could see the point if he was her own family, But he wasn't. Her thoughts Were scaring her. Over the years, she had helped many people with kindness here or there. But this was different; this was talking about giving part of her body. Could She do this? She telephoned her friend.

Isabelle, I want to be tested to see if I am a match for your cousin.

Oh my goodness, why would you do that? You don't even know him.

I am not sure myself, but I have not been able to stop thinking about it since You told me.

This is the number of his doctor. If you give him a call, he can tell you What is involved? His name is doctor Walters. And Charlotte, bless you.

I haven't done anything yet.

You are wrong there. The fact that you thought about it means a lot to me.

Charlotte made the phone call before she changed her mind.

Hello, Could I speak to Doctor Walters, please?

Who is calling, please?

My name is Charlotte Jenkins.

Can you tell me what it is In connection with?

I want to be tested to see if I am a match for someone who needs A liver transplant.

Just one moment. I will see if he is available.

It wasn't long before the doctor came on the phone.

Hello, this is doctor Walters. I believe you want to be tested as a donor for a liver transplant. Who is the recipient?

Simon Henderson.

Hmmm, I see. When could you come in and see me?

I am available anytime, when would you like me to come?

The sooner, the better, Can you come in tomorrow, say at ten.

Yes, that will be fine. See you then.

This is good of you, and you say you have never met Mr Henderson.,

No. He is The cousin Of my friend.

Well, that is us for now. We will inform you when we get the results.

Charlotte was standing at reception going through the correspondence when Two things happened at the same time. She Saw the envelope with the test results, and walking through the front door was Simon Henderson.

It was hard to believe he was so ill. He had a very commanding presence. He was also incredibly good looking. He looked at the letter in her hand and said,

I got one of those this morning also. It seems we are a match.

I take it, that is why You are here.

Yes. I am not here to pressure you; I only wanted to see the total stranger who offered to do such a thing for me. I get it; it's scary.

Please come through we can talk in my office. Charlotte said. Would you like something to drink? I can get you green tea suitable for antitoxins.

Thank You. Tea would be lovely.

As Charlotte went to the kitchen to make The tea. Simon looked about him. It was a charming little place. He, of course, had his hotels in several locations. But His hotels were large and well known. This place suited Charlotte Jenkins; she was as charming as her guest house. His thoughts went to the lovely young woman; his world would be a better place with Her in it. Charlotte came back into the office carrying a tray with tea and scones. Putting the tray on the desk, she said.

Do you take sugar?

No Thanks, As it is.

Please have a seat.

Thank You. No matter what you decide, I wanted to say thank you for even considering to help me.

You should know I have decided to go ahead.

For once, I am speechless. I cannot thank you enough.

You just did.

So what now? We go to the hospital and.

No hospital.

What do you mean?

Everything will be done at my home. Don't worry; I have everything that is needed. I want to keep it private. I know it can take a year. For me to recover, and I will have to take medication for the rest of my life. But We will both have to rest for some weeks. I want you to be as comfortable as possible.

I cannot leave this place for long. It is not busy now, but it is still too much for my aunt on her own.

That can be resolved. If you allow me, I can put some of my staff in to help while you are Out of action. Is that agreeable to you?

That was several weeks ago. The operation was a success, and now she was recovering at his home. She remembered having the black book out last night; she hadn't realised she had dropped it.
Now Simon offered her the money she needed to cover her bills and pay the small staff in her employment.

Simon, you don't owe me anything.

On that, we will always disagree, money could never repay you For your sacrifice. You are closer to me than family now, Charlotte. I have a part of you in my body. Not many people Can say that. You gave yourself to me asking for nothing. I am a very wealthy man; some people would have taken advantaged of that, but not you. I could buy you a $20,000 diamond bracelet to show you my appreciation. But I think you would much rather have The money. For your needs right now.

Putting it that way, how can I refuse. Thank you.

How are you feeling today? Is there anything you need? Just ask. Are my Staff looking After you Well enough?. I want you to be comfortable here.

Everything is beautiful here; you have a lovely home. The staff could not be more attentive. I am well taken care of. I just Need the Nausea to Stop. How Are you Coping with it?
Yes, it is unpleasant, but I take comfort in the alternative.

Makes sense. You are getting some of your colouring back, you are not So washed out.

I am sorry I have not been able to spend much time with you. I would have liked to have kept you company.

I completely understand, it has been worse for you.

Yes to be honest I am shocked at how much it has taken out of me, I have always looked after myself.and considered myself to be a strong person This kind of liver failure is called acute. It can develop in 48 Hours.

Do they know how you got it?

I have built an empire Charlotte.Some of my businesses are industrial working with chemicals. I had to go to one of the plants nearly seven months ago now. They believe I picked something up During my visit.
The fact that I have looked after myself with a healthy diet and excercise has helped me. At least there is one good thing that has come out of it.

Oh what's that?

Meeting you. When we are feeling better, would you let me take you out to dinner? I would like to take time getting to know you.

She smiled. Yes, I would like that.

The End.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.