Humans logo

Karli Knows Things - Part 2

Hates Algebra - Loves the Apple Gangers

By Robert TaylorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Hates Algebra - loves the Apple Gangers

Karli Knows Things – Part 2

©March 2021 Robert W. F. Taylor

“What’s going on, Brandy?” Karli was walking her dog when she suddenly tugged gently on the dog’s lead and told him to stay. She looked around. Brandy was a big, happy, golden retriever and everyone in the neighborhood loved him. Her brother Billy also took turns taking the dog for his daily walks around the block, or to the dog park, and on the weekend through the woods behind their house.

There was no one else around but the teenager sensed that something was amiss. Except on math problems, her mind seldom made mistakes. “C’mon, Brandy, let’s go back. I don’t like this trail.” She turned him around and started to jog back the way they had come. Nothing happened on the way home but later on the news, there was a report that a couple of people had spotted what appeared to be a coyote in the vicinity.

“So that’s what it was. I’m glad we turned around. I wouldn’t want to have met up with one of those.”

Her cell phone rang. Her screen showed that it was Glenda, her neighbour and classmate. “Hi. What’s happening?”

“Not much. Did you hear about the coyote somebody saw today?”

“Did I? I was walking Brandy in the woods when I felt it! You know me. We took off like a couple of jack rabbits and I’m glad we did. Hey, did you figure out those problems that Mr. Luden gave us Friday?”

“Hmm. Not yet. Want to come over later and we can tackle them together?”

“Sure. Around seven?”

“Yeah, sounds good. Got a new cut from the Apple Gangers to play for you, too.”

“Can’t wait to hear it. See you around seven!”

She rang the bell and Glenda’s mum answered the door. “Hi Karli! Are you and Glenda going to hit the books?”

“Uh-huh. I need some help with Algebra.”

“’I’m afraid I can’t help you with that. I was lucky to scrape by with a C+.”

Glenda appeared at the foot of the stairs. “C’mon up!” She scampered back up the stairs with Karli right behind her. Once inside Glenda’s bedroom, she closed the door. Then she faced her friend with her arms on both hips. “What’s this I hear about you scoring 4 tickets to the Apple Gangers?”

Karli smiled. “Guess I was just lucky enough to get the last ones.”

“Yeah right! So who are you going to take with you? I love the Gangers...especially Gavin. He’s a dream with his long wavy hair and sweet smile. Don’t you think so?”

“I suppose but he’s not my fav. I like Peter better. I like them tall, dark and handsome. And as for who I am going to take to the concert, I haven’t quite made up my mind yet. Do you want to go?

“Me? I’d give up my cell phone and computer just to see them from a distance. Getting to go to their concert would be totally, like, rad, you know. I wouldn’t sleep for a week before the concert date and probably never again afterwards.”

“Well you don’t have to do that because, of course, I have a ticket for you.

Really? You’re serious? You’re not kidding me, right because I’d have to strangle you right now if you were.”

“I wouldn’t joke about something like this. You are the first person I asked. When I got the tickets, I thought of you right away.”

Glenda grabbed Karli and hugged her. “You are such a wonderful friend! I love you! I love you! I love you!”

“All right, already! You’re bear-hugging me to death. C’mon. We’re here to get our algebra assignments done.”

The two girls got out their books, checked the assignments they had been given and started into it. About 10 minutes later, Glenda whispered, “I can’t concentrate. All I can think about is the Apple Gangers and how I can get to meet them.”

“Focus, Glenda! Algebra! Think Algebra!”

“I know...but I hate it.”

“Me, too but we have to pass it and to do that we have to at least try to understand the stupid stuff.”

It took the pair more than two hours before they had answers to the algebraic equations they had been asked to solve. “Remember, we have to show our work, too. Mr. Luden wants us to show how we arrived at the answers so he knows we solved the problems ourselves and didn’t just get the answers off the Net.”

“Yeah, I know. I did that...show how we got to the answers, I mean.”

“Good. Let’s call it a night, okay? My brain is dead!”

“Mine, too. Thanks for coming over Karli...and thanks for thinking of me to see the Apple Gangers. You’re the best!”

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.